We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Biggest rip off” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bluewater Island Resort Aquarium

Bluewater Island Resort Aquarium
Ranked #50 of 57 things to do in Port Vila
Attraction details
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Biggest rip off”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

Was ripped off on the taxi fare out there after being told it would be cheaper the turtles are half dead we were shown pigs WT
I would never ever return nor would I ever recommend this place to anyone I would more likely tell people to never go the cost is horrific for a paw paw that falls from the tree 18000 vt is day light robbery to feed a turtle the girl was giving our food to other people to feed an Epic No Go

Helpful?
5 Thank Lindyleavy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    6
    10
    7
    18
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Worth a look”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

We arrived by cab - outlook is beautiful, water very cold and they have a swing rope that you can jump from (if it isn't really busy)

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Lianne27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havelock North, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Yeah, nah bro”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

A bit pricy and animal welfare not high on the agenda here. Kids enjoyed interacting with turtles etc, and the beach was fantastic for a swim, but I would check out other turtle experiences before this one.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Gavin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Please dont go”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

We were recommended this 'conservation resort' by some fellow holidayers however I was absolutely disgusted by the conditions these animals were living in. The baby turtles were in concrete tubs that were filthy and were roughly handled. The big turtles live in a enlarged rock pool with some reef sharks and other fish. It is really sad to see them in here. When we arrived we were told that we had to decide whether to swim or not before we saw the area so we paid a huge amount (more than $50NZ) all of us that swum became sick that night while the ones in our group who did not swim were fine.I could not see any maintenance to the area everything was half finished toilets were filthy. If you want your token holiday snap with a dozey malnourished turtle in disgusting water support this by all means but please think twice so that places like this can be shut down.
(PS as u can see from other reviews I have travelled around asia to other animal conservation projects and can say that this one really is not up to scratch.)

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
8 Thank Kiwi_gurl212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Is this the right place??”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

We visited this so called resort as we thought it would be great for our three small children to learn about and experience the turtles and sharks! Initially we drove straight past the resort as there was limited signage and the whole place looked very run down....Upon entrance we were greeted by a local "guide" who led us to a series of concrete containers filled with baby turtles of varying ages. The kids were super excited to be able to hold the baby turtles and this was definitely a highlight for them though Im not convinced about the quality of the environment for all the turtles??? We then walked through a deserted resort (made me think of Stephen King book!!) past a cage filled with flying foxes and another with large pigs... there were several half built bungalows which looked like they will never be completed and what looked to be a local village. Finally you come to the large rock pool which has several giant turtles which you can hand feed paw paw or you can choose to pay extra and have a snorkel/swim with them and some fish and reef sharks. We opted to save our money. Overall the kids were satisfied with seeing and feeding the turtles but quite an odd day out and a good half hour down a bumpy track to get there, There is no educational experience involved besides seeing the turtles, so be prepared to do you own research, info for the kids.... If the kids really want to see the turtles worth a look but otherwise head for the beach instead.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank Rebstar101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bluewater Island Resort Aquarium also viewed

 

Been to Bluewater Island Resort Aquarium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing