We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Grand Hotel And Casino
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Fatumaru Lodge(Port Vila)(Great Value!)
$113
$108
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu(Port Vila)(Great Value!)
$154
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Erakor Island Resort & Spa(Port Vila)(Great Value!)
$136
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
$247
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Nasama Resort(Port Vila)(Great Value!)
$159
$150
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$62
$60
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Melanesian Port Vila(Port Vila)(Great Value!)
$87
$85
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Mangoes Resort(Port Vila)(Great Value!)
$133
$127
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Sunset Bungalows Resort(Port Vila)(Great Value!)
$154
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
CoCo Beach Resort(Port Vila)(Great Value!)
$206
$100
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (561)
Filter reviews
561 results
Traveler rating
204
233
95
21
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
204
233
95
21
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsiririki islandpanorama suitecentral locationoverlooking the harbourpool areathird floorbuffet breakfastclose to townbalconyvilapokiesportvanuatufoyersylvieferrytours
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
328 - 333 of 561 reviews
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Best option in Port Vila for hotels,but…
Hotel is beautiful, with amazing view from room, with sea and port.
Confortable and big room.Free internet.
Staff friendly and helpful, but busy.Sometimes just one working as recepcionist and concierge.
Hotel organize tours.
Rooms windows are sound proof.
Some small bugs in room, specially when conditioned air is off.
Breakfast included, but limited.Assorted fruits,juice ,fresh omelets as you want.But limited about bread, no cheese,no cold cuts,no local food.
Location-Central, close to food market, restaurants,shops,travel agencies,market
Conclusion- If you want to stay in Vanuatu,Port Vila, in a good city hotel,this the place, despite some problems.
Or you stay in a resort, far from city.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FRANCISCO7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carey N, General Manager at Grand Hotel And Casino, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2013

Dear FRANCISCO7

Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay, I am glad to hear that overall you enjoyed your stay. Our location is certainly one of our strong points along with our wonderful staff.

We will certainly take all feedback onboard and continue to work on improving all aspects of our guests stay.

Once again, thanks for the feedback, we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards

Carey Norton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

We recently stayed at the grand casino for 4 nights. We have stayed there half a dozen times before, always had a great experience.
This time we stayed in a harbour view suit and the view was amazing. There's a separate bedroom which is great as my husband gets up early( yes even on holidays). It allows me to sleep in with out him annoying me.
The staff are great and really look after you. We had a great reception from some of the staff we have got to know from staying previously.
We both commented on how much clean the hotel was this time.
It's in a great location in town, walking distance to lots of local pubs and great resturants.
If you want to venture out there are always taxis and buses right at the front door.
Room service is nice and quick
The pool is always sparkling and a pleasure to cool of in after a day of exploring.
The day spa has specials on every day with some fantastic prices on treatments
The only negative for us is the noise of the boat that takes passages to irriki. At night it can sit and idle for quiet some time and the noise did wake both of us a couple of time every night.
Over all had a great time and we will see u at Xmas for 9 days carnt wait.

Room Tip: We did love the harbour view suit the view is amazing We have stay in the penthouse suit with my husbands parents it really great if you want your own space but stay together. It has two ensuit bedrooms and a large central lounge room with a bar and the view is to die for
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Darlene181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carey N, General Manager at Grand Hotel And Casino, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2013

Dear Darlene 181

Thanks for your great feedback, it is great to hear that you keep on returning to Vanuatu, there is so much to see and do!

We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Kind regards

Carey Norton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2013

I have just come back from a 12 night stay at the Grand Hotel with a friend. The Hotel staff were friendly, and nothing was to much trouble. All you had to do was ask, and they would go out of there way to help you out. The rooms were small, but that was all we wanted, as you were only in there to sleep and get cleaned up and changed. All rooms had a balcony, which looked out over the harbour and was a nice place to sit back and have a coffee in the morning. The food was great and we also had the buffet breakfast every morning, which was excellent. The location of the hotel was great, as you can walk around town, catch the ferry to Iririki, or just wave down a bus and make your own little trip up around the island. The hotel has there own area in the lobby, so you can book any other excursions through them, and they will organise everything. Will be back again

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alistar R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carey N, General Manager at Grand Hotel And Casino, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2013

Dear Alistar R

Thank you for your great feedback, it is pleasing to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards

Carey Norton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2013

Just returned from a Holiday in Port Villa staying at The Grand with friends. Overall a great experience. The Hotel is smack bang in the middle of the town within walking distance to the fresh fruit market, the supermarket and restaurants and small shops. The service there for us was excellent. The staff are very helpful in every way with regards to any issues and helping us with booking tours and advising. Mary was a breath of fresh air every morning at breakfast and always remembered what we liked to eat and drink. Would have to say was hoping to see a lot more fruit offered at breakfast, but what we did eat was fresh and tasty. The pool was clean and on one of our wet days there we spent the whole day by the pool and soaking up the beautiful view. We were on the 4th floor and every morning i sat on my balcony looking out to the harbor and watching the small boat go back and forth to Irrikki Island. Air conditioning was excellent in our room. We did have an issue with the shower as many other people have also mentioned about it fluctuating from hot to cold without warning, but we didn't let that pose a problem to us. The Casino is small and we popped our heads in for a look, only down side with the Casino is the heavy smell of smoke which also seems to linger out to the foyer. Over all we would choose The Grand again due to its location and good service.

Room Tip: We were on the forth floor, from that floor upwards the views are wonderful. Would have liked the very top floor where the rooms appeared to be double the size of ours but we are easy going and easy to please.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carey N, General Manager at Grand Hotel And Casino, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2013

Dear Christine C

Thanks for taking the time to provide your feedback, it is great to hear you enjoyed your stay and Port Vila in general.

Our staff are certainly our biggest asset followed by our location.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards

Carey Norton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2013

There is a heavy stench of smoke in the dowstairs lobby. I smoke but it was very noticeable to me. Our Harbour view room was nice enough, small, but did the job. We saw other reviews about the water in the shower going hot and cold very quickly, so we approached with caution and believe me it does. The water pressure increases as it gets hotter as well so escape is a bit difficult. Trick was to have the temp a bit lower than normal to allow for those moments, but you still have to watch it and be ready to get out. At night we noticed a couple of cockroaches running around the room and then we noticed a lot more swarming my daughters soft drink can in the bin. Got rid of them all and hoped there were no more through the night..We ate at the restaurant several times and food was always good. Staff were pretty good at reception and restaurant staff were efficient and friendly. Overall it doesn't jump out and grab you but for somewhere handy to eat, sleep etc it was nice enough.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tezza1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carey N, General Manager at Grand Hotel And Casino, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2013

Dear Tezza 1965

Thanks for taking the time to give your feedback following your recent stay.

I am glad to hear that overall you enjoyed your stay, please be assured your feedback is taken seriously and we will look to address any areas of concern that you have raised.

Kind regards

Carey Norton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews