We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely, central hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Hotel And Casino

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grand Hotel And Casino
Ranked #22 of 48 Hotels in Port Vila
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely, central hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

The grand hotel was an excellent choice for us. We stayed end of march 2013. the decor is getting a little bit tired but the rooms are clean. Our toilet played up twice during our 5 days and would'nt flush but maitenence arrived promptly to fix it. shower is very erratic, about every 25 seconds it would go very hot and then cold. we were on the 4th floor and had a wonderful view. casino great fun, resturant is very nice, enjoyed all our meals, they were all a very good price, also the casino vouchers you got from eating in the resturant. Staff all very nice, always quick to help, checkin and out very quick and efficiant. Pool looked very good to us, always nice and blue, never saw it green as previous reviews had said. overall a great central to everything hotel, would stay again if ever in vanuatu again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pindalodge1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carey N, General Manager at Grand Hotel And Casino, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Dear Ladybug121

Thank you for your lovely feedback, it is great to read that overall you enjoyed the hotel and your stay in Port Vila.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the not too distant future.

Kind regards

Carey Norton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

502 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    209
    85
    18
    8
See reviews for
55
267
36
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
BRISBANE
Level Contributor
130 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

We booked for a weeks relaxation in March 2013 we arrived at the airport late afternoon and found or transfer and was left waiting for approx 1/2hr very hot in airport arrived at the hotel and was booked in given a key and left to find our own way to the room (must admit not hard to find) we where give a 1st floor room overlooking the roof with a balcony door that didn't close all the way due to its rollers being worn and the curtain over the door ready to fall off and the room safe not bolted down.(would have been easy for someone to climb onto roof and into our room as the door had a gap and walk away with the safe)
Rung reception and after a couple of calls the maintenance man was sent up but couldn't do anything about the damage so after a couple more calls back and forth we where moved to 5th floor view was great until you look down and saw how green the pool was.
The only time the pool was cleaned twice in the week we where there was before the cruise ships docked as people from these ships where spending the day at the hotel.
The shower was interesting you had to time yourself while under the water as every 45 second there would be a surge of really hot water come thru but decided to live with that as some hotel guests where telling us they had no hot water.
On the positive side the safe where very pleasant and helpful and friendly and the breakfast was edible.
on arriving home we noticed we where to get 500vt to spend in the casino but this was never offered to us but no great loss as only worth $5.
The hotel is very tried and a bit smelly, you needed to go and find your own sun lounger cushions which were located beside the spa these where never put out unless the cruise ship was in port.
I went to have my hair washed at the spa (to hard to try and was in the dodgie shower) very good service.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TIFFYBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carey N, General Manager at Grand Hotel And Casino, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Dear TIFFYBrisbane

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback following your recent stay. Such feedback is most appreciated as it allows us the opportunity to continually improve our services and products. Please be assured that I have discussed your feedback with the hotels department heads, as a result we are in the process of reviewing and addressing each point.

Thank you again for feedback.

Kind regards

Carey Norton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

Stayed 7 nights and found the Grand Hotel to be a great choice. Friendly staff and great food on offer. Rooms are more than acceptable and cleaned everyday. Casino is a bonus of you want to kill some time and have a flutter.
We tried several places for dinner / lunch but kept coming back to the Grand because of the quality and price. Thanks for such an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Doughyfromvic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carey N, General Manager at Grand Hotel And Casino, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear Doughyfromvic

Thank you for your fantastic feedback, we have been working hard on our food & beverage services and am glad to hear that you were able to enjoy them to the fullest.

Kind regards

Carey Norton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hervey Bay Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

We stayed here for five nights in late December. We booked adjoining rooms well in advance and clearly specified our requirement. One room was for Grandma and our ten year old daughter. The first night we were given two rooms on two different floors. We bitterly complained knowing that the separation would cause our daughter enormous stress.I (Dad) stayed in the room with our daughter that night. The next day we finally managed to get two rooms on the same floor but still not adjoining. We waited around the hotel till 2pm to move our belongings.
For the inconvenience we were told we would be upgraded and spend the last night in Panoramic rooms. Off course that never happened and neither did we see adjoining rooms.
The hotel is extremely tired and as a builder I could see some very easy fixes at little cost.It just appears that no money is to be spent on the place. The carpets were
disgusting, chairs everywhere were either broken or needed screwing back together, most taps and showers leaked, tiles cracked and broken, and the smell of smoke from the casino ran through the lobby.
I might add we also organised airport transfers as we were arriving late at night but no one turned up.
On a positive note the breakfast/dining area is a very nice area with its panoramic windows. The majority of staff were absolutely terrific and exactly what you would expect from the locals. We have stayed on other Vanuatu islands and they are all very friendly and helpful wherever you go.
Apparently this hotel is owned by Zagames in Australia and was surprised given they have a few hotels including Paradise resort on the Gold Coast where I guess they would be familiar with accommodating families with children. Maybe Just a management problem in Port Vila.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hervey2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carey N, General Manager at Grand Hotel And Casino, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear Hervey 2

I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay and that our services were not up to expecation. Please accept my sincerest apologies. Please be assured that I will be discussing these in detail with our heads of department.

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback, it is most appreciated as it allows us an opportunity to review and improve our services.

Kind regards

Carey Norton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Macquarie, Australia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

My husband and I have returned from a week in Port Vila. Having never been there before, we researched on the internet and chose a package that allowed us to stay at the Grand.
The hotel is so central, with superb views of the busy Lini highway and the glorious calm waters, yachts and Iriki island. Our room was spacious and well appointed. The bed was massive and so comfortable. The large bath was a surprise, whilst the shower was powerful and erratic! We found all the staff were polite, helpful and nothing was too much trouble for them. Buffet breakfast was super and the fresh fruit, french pastries and juices were lovely.
The swimming pool area is glorious, and an all day menu caters for all tastes. With a charge of $12 Vatu this is such good value and we could not fault any of the meals taken here. An added bonus is the vouchers given to redeem in the casino when a meal is purchased. I recommend this hotel for couples or families. Although it may appear a little jaded to some, it must be remembered that the humidity is a big problem, and must make maintenance an issue.
Despite the staff being paid a minimum wage, their gentle and welcoming demeanor could put others to shame.

Room Tip: 3rd or 4th floor or up has the best views. We stayed in room 403, 4th floor and view was fabulous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 789maria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carey N, General Manager at Grand Hotel And Casino, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear 789Maria

Thank you for your fantastic feedback. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and the magnificent views from your room.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards

Carey Norton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
183 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013 via mobile

The Grand was a great choice for our time in Port Vila.Situated minutes walk from great restaurants,the local market and shopping.The rooms are great with beautiful views of the harbour.The dining room located on harbour edge for breakfast is just great and breakfast was enjoyable.Thank you to the wonderful staff,would definitely stay here again.Marg and Garry Australia

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank otanghunters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carey N, General Manager at Grand Hotel And Casino, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear Marg and Garry

Thank you for your wonderful feedback, it is great to hear you enjoyed the hotel and Port Vila.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Kind regards

Carey Norton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
133 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

We stayed in the Panorama room. wonderful views but noisy on a weekend when the locals frequent the bar down the road.

Buffet breakfast every morning was delicious!

There is a free ferry to Irikiki Island right next door, and Grand guests can use their snorkeling gear for free.

The highlight was the amazing staff, who were so friendly and so helpful.

Room service food was a little hit and miss. You are better off trying the restaurant or the local bar across the road.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EmilieJayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carey N, General Manager at Grand Hotel And Casino, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear Emilie Jayne

Thank you for your great feedback, our staff are certainly our most valuable asset.

With regards to the room service, I do apologise if this was not up to standard, please be aware that I have discussed your concerns with our Food & Beverage Manager and Executive Chef. As a result we are reviewing our room service procedures and menus.

Kind regards

Carey Norton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Vila hotels
1.8 mi away
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
#12 of 48 in Port Vila
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,414 reviews
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
#14 of 48 in Port Vila
4.5 of 5 bubbles 634 reviews
0.7 mi away
Poppy's on the Lagoon
Poppy's on the Lagoon
#23 of 48 in Port Vila
4.5 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Iririki Island Resort & Spa
2.7 mi away
Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu
2.3 mi away
Nasama Resort
Nasama Resort
#7 of 48 in Port Vila
4.5 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel And Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel And Casino

Property: Grand Hotel And Casino
Address: Lini Highway, Port Vila, Efate 0001, Vanuatu (Formerly Sebel Vanuatu)
Location: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Port Vila
#12 Luxury Hotel in Port Vila
#17 Family Hotel in Port Vila
#20 Romantic Hotel in Port Vila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel And Casino 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Grand Hotel And Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel And Port Vila
Sebel Vanuatu Port Vila
Grand Hotel And Casino Vanuatu/Port Vila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing