We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything in on convenient location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Hotel And Casino
Ranked #20 of 47 Hotels in Port Vila
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 18, 2012

WOW - what a little gem in the centre of town. A last minute long weekend trip to paradise. Nice rooms; small but adequate restaurant which offers enough variety and quality food at cheap prices all with happy smiling staff. Good to see management helping and you could see the staff were proNF and happy (un like another resort on Erakor Lagoon we visited for lunch on Saturday). Great pub across the road as well that has crisp cold cider (most of the time) good food and sports galore. Apparently they will have kebabs available next week, we will have to come back to try them. Anyone looking for a HOTEL to stay at in Port Vila can't go past the Grand.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fred B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (548)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

379 - 385 of 548 reviews

Reviewed September 1, 2012

Stayed 6 nights. Service was excellent, restaurant had small but well done menu at great prices...very good value food. Rooms spotless and airy, all with views of the harbour although we had a panorama suite with 180 degree views which was fantastic.

We've stayed all over the Pacfic and this was one of the most consistently good hotels we've been to.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank arty37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Stayed here for 6 nights, and very much enjoyed my stay. The location is hard to beat - close to all the action. Stunning views of the harbour although, because my room was on the first floor, the view from the private balcony wasn't as good as those higher up. Mind you, I got such a reasonable rate for the room (a special deal) that it's hard to complain about that! Watching the sunset from the cocktail bar on the top (6th) floor each evening was a delight. The pool area is also a great place to while away the hours.
My room was very clean. Great king size bed, separate bath and shower. The hotel offers 8 hours of free WiFi access, which was a huge plus during my visit.
The staff were very professional and friendly, and always able to answer questions and help out. While I tried eating at other restaurants in town, I found myself increasingly eating dinner at the hotel because it was good value and of a high quality.
The downsides were very minor: there was a bit of confusion surrounding my transfers to/from the airport to the hotel (but everything worked out in the end), and the folder in the rooms describing all the features of the hotel is in need of an update.
Nevertheless, I will not hesitate to stay at the Grand again during my next visit.

Room Tip: The views from the first floor rooms are slightly obscured - but still good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SteveM_67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

We booked for 4 nights and got a room on the 5th floor.

Overall the experience was great. The service we received was consistent across all areas and great value for money. All the staff we encounter had a friendly smile and nothing was to much trouble. If something wasn't up to our normal standard it was quickly fixed.

The only small issue we had was the privacy screen in the bathroom had been removed, so you had to close the curtains to use the bath.

Would definitely recommend this place.

Room Tip: Suggest you try and get a room up high
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tunnster_73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

We spent our last four days of 3 weeks in Vanuatu. The well serviced room was perfect to see the harbour activity, great for dining at the local restaurants. Having stayed here before when this hotel was the Sebel, we were pleasantly surprised at the changes made. A decent breakfast, well priced and realistic treatment of travelling guests, who were in Vanuatu to enjoy the experience. The rain had reduced the streets to mud and puddles, everyone was getting a bit grubby, but I felt we were welcomed as "guests", not an intrusion . We enjoyed a beautifully cooked steak in the dining room one night - well flavoured and as good as any meal I have eaten in Port Vila. Well done to who ever is running this hotel, we enjoyed our stay and recommend to visitors as a great finish to your holiday.

Room Tip: You get what you pay for , but all rooms have great views. The larger suites are great for space, bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank northernkiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2012

We stayed at The Grand for 3 days after we'd visited Espiritu Santo. We choose this hotel because the reduced room rate (special deal) the views over the harbour, and as we'd visited Efate a number of times in the past we wanted accommodation within walking distance of the Museum/Cultural Centre, shops and restaurants we wanted to visit.

Stayed in a Panorama suite which had amazing views over all of Port Vila harbour, room was spacious, clean, good service, small balcony, but suite had floor to ceiling windows giving good views in every direction.

Surprisingly for a big hotel the staff were really friendly and helpful. Ate there for dinner one night and the food is ordinary, however the breakfast buffet included in the room rate was quite good with a varied selection of food choices.

Would stay again if I had a short stay, but not for a holiday.

Room Tip: choose a suite if you can afford it, the hotel rooms are small
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lifetravellerbrissy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2012

My partner and I stayed for 7 nights in a harbour suite at the hotel just recently and it was perfect. From the time we checked in to the time we checked out everything was great. The suite has a view to die for and we really enjoyed having the spacious bathroom including the spa, double sink and the walk in shower. We also had another powder room near the entry door which was great. The balcony included two outdoor settings. The poolarea overlooking the harbour and Irikiki Island was spectacular. We really enjoyed the big daybeds. The food overall in the Crystal restaurant was great and the roomservice was very quick. The breakfast inlcuded everything from freshly cooked eggs any way you like it to pancakes and croissants, bacon, baked beans, 5 different types of cereal, bread, jams, honey, a selection of different fresh fruit everyday and great coffee. The location of the hotel cant be matched by any other resort in Port Vila. Supermarket, fruit market, restaurants and duty free shopping is all just around the corner. We also recommend the restaurant called the brewery which is just across the road from the restaurant and shows Australian footy and is serving very Aussie inspired food and has great beer. The staff at the hotel helped us a lot with deciding which company to book tours through. If you are interested in game or sports fishing we would recommend Ocean Blue Fishing in Port Havannah wich is on the north side of the island. It was the best experience. Also the Cascade Waterfalls, a tour to the cultural village, feeding of sharks and massive turtels and the blue lagoon near Eton beach are a must. We will certainly go back to Port Vila and stay again in the hotel!!

Room Tip: It is worth it to pay extra for the harbour suite as you are ensured that you are staying on the top...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank SilkefromAustria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Vila hotels
1.7 mi away
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
#12 of 47 in Port Vila
1,544 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
#14 of 47 in Port Vila
704 reviews
0.8 mi away
Moorings Hotel
Moorings Hotel
#29 of 47 in Port Vila
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Melanesian Port Vila
The Melanesian Port Vila
#27 of 47 in Port Vila
313 reviews
0.8 mi away
Chantilly's on the Bay
Chantilly's on the Bay
#25 of 47 in Port Vila
199 reviews
0.3 mi away
Iririki Island Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel And Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel And Casino

Address: Lini Highway, Port Vila, Efate 0001, Vanuatu (Formerly Sebel Vanuatu)
Location: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Port Vila
#12 Luxury Hotel in Port Vila
#20 Romantic Hotel in Port Vila
Price Range: $109 - $198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel And Casino 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hotel And Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel And Port Vila
Sebel Vanuatu Port Vila
Grand Hotel And Casino Vanuatu/Port Vila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing