We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful but !!”
Review of Mele Cascades

Mele Cascades
Experience for Yourself
More Info
$75.00*
and up
Half-Day Shore Excursion: North Efate Snorkeling Adventure
Ranked #1 of 57 things to do in Port Vila
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Mele Cascades Waterfalls is one of Efate's most popular natural attractions. Only 20 minutes drive out of town, a visit can be completed in just over two hours. There are bathroom facilities available , sitting area, a small cafe and bar on site for purchase of food and drinks. The area is local owned and run by locals. Revenue generated help pay wages for local employees, maintenance and upkeep of the area,community development for surrounding villages and sponsorship of social activities, most especially soccer development programs for youth. Note: Efate is currently experiencing severe El Nino and the once picturesque attraction has very low water levels. This is also causing drastic water supply shortage to villages and its people. To close the business would mean loss of income for many.
Useful Information: Food available for purchase, Bathroom facilities
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful but !!”
Reviewed November 30, 2013

Thought it was nice , but too expensive like many things we visited on our stay after a full day of visiting the sites did not have energy to make the last walk to the top

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jenny A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,369 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,499
    646
    169
    33
    22
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kadina, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Expensive”
Reviewed November 28, 2013

I can't believe this is rated so highly, it was pretty un extraordinary. $25 each to get in was pretty over the top I definitely regret spending the money to get in. If you must go we paid 200 vatu each and caught a bus there and 300 vatu for the bus back. If you're staying in a nice place with a great view don't give up your day to go see this.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Melissa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alstonville, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Too expensive”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

$A25 per head is just crazy. ( Locals still pay 1500V, about $18).
Nice walk through some rainforest to a series of cascades which you access by pulling yourself along some ropes anchored in the rocks. In and out takes about an hour. Very beautiful and some nice photo opportunities but Australians are used to having natures beauty available to them for free.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rob L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“BEAUTIFUL NATURAL WORLD”
Reviewed November 24, 2013

We have been here so many times, but we never tire of seeing this place. The first part of the climb has steep steps but after that you are in heaven! Wear reef shoes if you have them and enjoy a swim in the most gorgeous waterfalls around.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank sharOnshaz2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gladstone, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Long way to the Top”
Reviewed November 23, 2013

we had our bus driver take us there for 500v each Bus trip was great after entering the falls...2000v each to enter around $25A long walk up to the top with steps that are alittle step at time...very beautiful but.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Graeme4680
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mele Cascades also viewed

 

Been to Mele Cascades? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing