We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great base for your Vanuatu travels”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Traveller's Budget Motel
Ranked #11 of 47 Hotels in Port Vila
Certificate of Excellence
Bern, Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great base for your Vanuatu travels”
Reviewed January 1, 2014

This place is a real blessing with its chilled vibe and the wealth of information that comes in form of advice from Janelle. The service is good, rooms are clean, not too big and face the small garden courtyard with pool (hence the motel, I suppose). Come here to repose from your latest adventure, and plan your next one, with the excellent assistance of Janelle, who seems to have built solid ties to all the rest of the tourist industry. Town is a 10-15min walk away, but you can flag down the very frequent buses (look for the red B on the number plate) for 150vt, and there is a decent thai restaurant as well as a chinese convenience store pretty close by.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    308
    60
    9
    3
    2
See reviews for
38
133
104
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Maroochydore Qld Australia
Level 6 Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2013

We were a group of 8 including our kids 12, 12 and 14 and stayed for only one night before heading to Tanna. Travellers motel was a great place to stay, owners Jack and Janelle were the best hosts, they are so knowledgeable about all things Vanuatu. The central pool was a meeting place for travellers from all over the world, chatting, swimming and drinking a Tusker or 2.
I would definitely stay here again when in Vila.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank steely67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Picton, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2013

Jack and Janelle are excellent hosts, they create a friendly, welcoming environment. The poolside area is a meeting place where Jack and Janelle mingle with all the guests and make it easy for you to interact with others, should you choose to do so. The compact area of motel, pool, dining, kitchen makes it so easy to meet others. We liked it also because all rooms are close to the pool. It is within walking distance of downtown Vila and also close to supermarkets and food outlets. We liked that you have the option of purchasing very reasonably priced meals on site, or great facilities to make your own meals. And there is always cold beer in the fridge to buy! We can't emphasise enough Jack and Janelle's knowledge of the area and their enthusiasm to make your stay the best ever! We will be returning.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pauline G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2013

John Muir said,"When we try to pick out anything by itself, we find it hitched to everything else in the Universe."

Although the name Traveller's Budget Motel implies a certain market niche, don't be fooled. This motel is much more than that name implies. This motel is a community hub of relationships between a most interesting group of travellers, the locals of Vanuatu, and other expatriates - with owners Jack & Janelle unobtrusively orchestrating the space and events to make your stay enjoyable.

Janelle was recommending the Lelepe Island tour, but not in a pushy way. I was in town to find out about the local hospital. I was on a tight budget, and my initial notion was just to hit up a local beach (which Janelle was going to tell me how to reach). But as things evolved I decided I had a free day, but maybe not enough currency to go to Lelepe Island. Janelle patiently tapped out on her calculator the various options of whether to convert remaining $AUS to vatu, what my spending on dinner that night would be, and finally, whether I could afford to have a beer (and in $AUS or vatu?). Here's my regret - I had a cider the night Jack came home and shouted (on the house) everyone a beer - I didn't want to drink any more that night. SO... I went to Lelepe Island, but was a bit of a social clod for not a) having kava with a potential social connection and b) not having a Tusker beer on the night Jack was handing them out! (I can't promise free beer and kava every night; nor is it a "party" place - it's a social space).

But Lelepe Island was wonderful (a shore and boat snorkeling experience) and an integral part of helping me understand the relationships between Port Vila and the many villages. If you're looking for a "tourist experience" you might be disappointed. If you just want to see the countryside, with transit, lunch, boat ride, and snorkeling locations planned out for you - you'll be delighted, along with the locals sense of humor about their role in filming "Survivor".

Since I had only been in and out of the motel gates during daylight hours, I didn't realize the second key on my ring was for the gate (duh) - and ended up waking up Jack at 5 am so I could catch my flight home. But on this occasion and another - Jack is there to make sure things work the way they should. The meals their local low-key chef offers are wonderful - should you choose that option - everything is a choice and fair - no hidden fees or efforts to upgrade your expenditure (in fact, I didn't use the air conditioner and thus wasn't charged for being in a room that had one - without haggling about it). btw - you might want to spring for the air conditioner if you're going during rainy season. But if you want to immerse yourself in the experience, the ceiling fan is great.

Regarding some other's comments in bad reviews... backpackers? Yes, there are some, but most of the crowd was beyond that age group, quite a gathering of respectful people. I'm not a smoker, and there were a fair number of smokers in the public area but they weren't obnoxious about it, and it was worth hanging out to interact with some fascinating people/professionals. Bed & breakfast? Meals aren't included - they're a reasonably-priced convenience if you want to go that route. Things are options, not obligations or pushed - you could easily retire to your room and spend your evening on the internet (slow connection, but fiber coming to the island soon!). You could easily shut your windows and turn on the air con, missing the lull of evening conversation or the morning roosters - but why are you here? A note on evening conversations - because many weren't paying for air conditioning and have open windows, people kept the conversations at a nice level. I was in room 9, which is as far as you can get from the social space but not be adjacent to the road (traffic on the road dies out at night - and it's only a small neighborhood road anyway, not traffic whizzing by like in the developed world, and no noisy motorbikes thank heavens).

Bottom line: If you're the type that wants to be a little more interactive and immersed in the local, this is your place.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lambjams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2013

Hey Jack and Janelle!
Wanted to say thanks so much for the great couple of nights in Port Vila. Wish I had found your place sooner! You give great hospitality in world where it is needed...hope your plans for the floating B&B become reality soon! Best of luck on that...sounds like an incredibly great idea! I loved traveling by ship and I would be excited to make a passage with you!
Best to you both and happy holidays!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NealioSpace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evans Head
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2013

Its all been said before......great hosts, freindly staff, great affordable food, close to town etc
What I dont think can be said enough is how much more you get while staying with Jack (see Bob, I can get it Right! ) and Janelle. The atmosphere created at this motel, from being able to enjoy the communal area with other travelers, to sharing their experience, made what was a beautiful destination (Vanuatu) even more special. The advise and recomendations made by j&j are spot on, they actually want you to get the best value for your dollar and wont steer you wrong. Im not very poetic in my attempt to give this the best possible reveiw, but I know we wont be staying anywhere else when in Vanuatu!
Thanks for the holiday of a lifetime!

Room Tip: All rooms face the pool so you really cant go wrong!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bali_newby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 8, 2013

I cant speak to highly of this acommodation. it is spotless. jack & janelle go out of their way to make your stay every thing you hoped for, giving as much of their time and assistance to book your adventure in Vanuatu as you require. the food is very good & reasonably priced, the staff are very friendly. the room has every thing you could wish for if you want to self cater. the accommadiaion is a short walk from the town centre. & the swimming pool is a lovely extra when it gets too hot.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Malcolm U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Vila hotels
0.2 mi away
Moorings Hotel
Moorings Hotel
#29 of 47 in Port Vila
139 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Melanesian Port Vila
The Melanesian Port Vila
#25 of 47 in Port Vila
297 reviews
2.5 mi away
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
#13 of 47 in Port Vila
1,463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
#15 of 47 in Port Vila
661 reviews
0.9 mi away
Iririki Island Resort & Spa
3.2 mi away
Nasama Resort
Nasama Resort
#7 of 47 in Port Vila
477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Traveller's Budget Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Traveller's Budget Motel

Property: Traveller's Budget Motel
Address: Avenue Du Stade, PO Box 3164, Port Vila, Efate +678, Vanuatu
Location: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Port Vila
#3 Business Hotel in Port Vila
#5 Family Hotel in Port Vila
#5 Romantic Hotel in Port Vila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Traveller's Budget Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traveller's Budget Motel is Port Vila's best value for money accommodation. Despite our budget category, the owner-managers have meticulously attended to every detail inside and out, to ensure your stay is relaxing and comfortable. The difference is apparent as soon as you step foot onto the property. The gardens are beautifully landscaped, rooms are tastefully decorated and well lit, showers are clean, sheets are crisp and rooms serviced daily. We believe everyone who visits Vanuatu is entitled to five-star hospitality. All our double rooms have cold remote controlled air-conditioning as well as ceiling fans, en-suite with shower, kitchenette, bar fridge, microwave and free +45 channel Sat TV. Each room has free data and wireless internet connection. An outside nakamal with full cooking facilities overlooks a sparkling blue 8.5 Metre pool. This is a relaxing place to sit and read. Located just 10 minutes walk from the shopping and restaurant precinct of Port Vila, the beautiful lagoons, beaches and attractions are either a short walk or drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Traveller's Budget Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Traveller's Budget Motel Vanuatu/Port Vila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing