We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Friendly Place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Traveller's Budget Motel
Ranked #11 of 47 Hotels in Port Vila
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Friendly Place”
Reviewed May 22, 2013

Close to town, great atmosphere, good food available & value for money, clean rooms, internet access available. If your looking for things to do and see just ask Jack & Janelle for some friendly unbiased information.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Damien C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    303
    60
    9
    3
    2
See reviews for
36
133
101
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2013

Great, fun place to stay. The set up (centralized meeting table, pool, and kitchen facilities) encouraged interactions among the guests. Jack (owner) was extremely accommodating and took the time to answer all our questions. He also helped us to have the best sailing/SCUBA and horseback riding experiences of all our travels. Regina’s (staff member) calm demeanor and sunny personality made breakfast time enjoyable. Owners are on premises and ensure a respectful environment.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lisa_and_Larry_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2013

This is the perfect base for all your Vanuatu travels. Janelle and Jack are warm and helpful, with great ideas, enthusiasm, and thoughtfulness. They've created an inviting space where you will feel welcomed but not smothered, cared about but not doted on. There's a great atmosphere of adventure and comity, where travelers swap stories and ideas over coffee in the morning or a glass of wine at night. The rooms are super clean, with hot walk-in showers and comfortable beds (I can use the plural because I stayed in two different rooms). I really can't say enough good things about Traveller's Budget Motel!

Room Tip: Rooms 9 and 10 are furthest away from the common areas, so are the quietest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelholicSanDiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anglet, France
Level Contributor
60 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Small (9 rooms + dorm), unpretentious B&B made "special" by the warmth and character of the owners, Jack and Janelle. I spent almost 4 weeks here on a business trip and would love to return for a vacation. 10 minutes walk from the town center, each room has a kitchenette and the main kitchen is available for use by all who wish. Small but welcoming pool to cool down after a day of business, or back from a trip to the dive centres, 18 holes at the golf club or just wandering around town. Excellent breakfasts tailored to your wishes, with a newly-introduced ready-meal option (selection of frozen dishes prepared by the cook or Jack ... with a beef strogonoff to die for). The place is usually close to fully occupied so book in advance if you want to be part of the family, albeit briefly.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RMCCJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2013 via mobile

We did plenty of research before booking our stopover in Vila, and this place was a great option. It's not flash, but its clean, tidy and the guys are really friendly and helpful. They also do a mean home cooked breakfast, so do that!

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Qabu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Janelle and Jack helped out with some tricky tourist information that I was finding difficult to source. They were very efficient and polite. I approached these people because of their positive reviews and was not disappointed. It is comforting and reassuring to know that there are people who will go out of their way to help.
Yvonne and family

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Coxtimes5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level Contributor
223 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2013 via mobile

You can just turn up at Travellers without having done any research into Port Vila and it won't matter- Jack or Janelle will sort out your needs. They seems to know most people and places in Vanuatu (not just Vila) and can recommend things to do, see and where to eat, how to get around like no where else. The rooms are basic but this seems to be the theme for Vanuatu in general, the breakfasts are decent, internet access is patchy and on the slowish side (couldnt work out if that was a travellers problem or a Vanuatu problem), you do get the feeling these guys know what they are doing and if you don't mind the basic rooms then the hospitality and atmosphere you get here are second to none and make sure you find either jack or Janelle twice a day to discuss what you want to do over the ensuring days, you'll have a great time in Vila

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bamboozla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Vila hotels
2.5 mi away
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
#13 of 47 in Port Vila
1,425 reviews
0.2 mi away
Moorings Hotel
Moorings Hotel
#24 of 47 in Port Vila
128 reviews
0.9 mi away
Iririki Island Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Hideaway Island Resort
Hideaway Island Resort
#12 of 47 in Port Vila
612 reviews
3.1 mi away
Nasama Resort
Nasama Resort
#7 of 47 in Port Vila
451 reviews
3.4 mi away
Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Traveller's Budget Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Traveller's Budget Motel

Property: Traveller's Budget Motel
Address: Avenue Du Stade, PO Box 3164, Port Vila, Efate +678, Vanuatu
Location: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Port Vila
#3 Business Hotel in Port Vila
#5 Romantic Hotel in Port Vila
#5 Family Hotel in Port Vila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Traveller's Budget Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traveller's Budget Motel is Port Vila's best value for money accommodation. Despite our budget category, the owner-managers have meticulously attended to every detail inside and out, to ensure your stay is relaxing and comfortable. The difference is apparent as soon as you step foot onto the property. The gardens are beautifully landscaped, rooms are tastefully decorated and well lit, showers are clean, sheets are crisp and rooms serviced daily. We believe everyone who visits Vanuatu is entitled to five-star hospitality. All our double rooms have cold remote controlled air-conditioning as well as ceiling fans, en-suite with shower, kitchenette, bar fridge, microwave and free +45 channel Sat TV. Each room has free data and wireless internet connection. An outside nakamal with full cooking facilities overlooks a sparkling blue 8.5 Metre pool. This is a relaxing place to sit and read. Located just 10 minutes walk from the shopping and restaurant precinct of Port Vila, the beautiful lagoons, beaches and attractions are either a short walk or drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Traveller's Budget Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Traveller's Budget Motel Vanuatu/Port Vila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing