We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great accommodation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Traveller's Budget Motel
Ranked #11 of 47 Hotels in Port Vila
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great accommodation”
Reviewed October 6, 2012

A very friendly helpful couple who run the place, very in tune with what free independent travellers want.
Quite, comfortable and awesome breakfast.
Only 10 mins to town, so very convenient.
Jack and Janelle were really helpful from the moment I contacted them by email.
The staff were also great.
There is a good kitchen available- which given the cost of eating out in Port Villa is definitely a must if you were staying for any length of time.
Definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Jill F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    307
    60
    9
    3
    2
See reviews for
38
133
103
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Thanks Jack and Janelle, for your accommodation while in Port Vila. We were comfortable, relaxed, and so glad we had a reliable place to stay while doing our island hoping around Vanuatu.
We would be happy to return to your lodge when we next visit Vanuatu!!

Haydn and Carolyn

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Haydn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012

Travelling from Australia on Air Vanuatu I was told there were no connecting flights on the day of travel to Tanna Island so I made a reservation with Jack & Janelle. The arrangements they made for me were detailed and I arrived at their motel after midnight July 12th. Lights were ablaze but no one to be found. Finally Regina one of the staff woke and went to find Jack who was terribly apologetic! We sat and talked in their open kitchen/dining room until I retired.

Jack and Janelle are a perfect couple to run this type of accommodation. They seem to know everyone in Vanuatu! Stay still long enough and Jack will sell you property while Janelle will have you booked on multiple tours!

I've stayed in places with open kitchens and they are a bit of a gamble - everything is on display! Regina has every surface spotless and every implement gleaming!

I only stayed about 12 hours at T.B.Motel but it was enough to know this place is a kind of hidden oasis.

Now one thing about being old and travelling by myself is that my memory is a little dodgy. I get to the airport and discover I have the room key in my pocket! I'm not carrying a mobile but a young lady contacts Janelle for me and I take key to a tour desk for eventual return. The next day I discover that I've left my insulin injecting pen in the fridge at T.B.Motel. The people I'm staying with at Rocky Ridge Bungalows on Tanna Island contact Janelle and as Jack was supposedly going to the airport he put the insulin in an envelope and it was delivered a couple of hours later. I felt like a real goose!

I'm not a fan of Port Vila but once you're inside T.B.Motel you are insulated and could easily make this your base.

Room was simple and spotless. Food was great. Staff were super friendly and efficient and the wonderful owners couldn't do enough. Highly recommended

Room Tip: Try to avoid arriving from Sydney after midnight!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank PetenKay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012

Nice hostel, clean rooms, good price (by Vila standards), good central location, Jack and Janelle were friendly and helpful, lovely local staff, nice breakfasts and friendly atmosphere.

I would definitely recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Craig M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights. Rooms were clean and compact. The whole motel is pretty compact in fact. 

The owners are indeed very nice and helpful. Might be a little too helpful for the independent travellers, but for most people, they would be seen as genuinely helpful.

Location was fine. 10 min walk to town and there were restaurant options nearby.

While we were there there were several interesting expats that popped in. It appears to be have a very open door policy, but all nice people. The owners love a drink.

Overall, I think it does what it says it does, and is a good option for the budget conscious. 

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Juan4545
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

The Travellers Budget Motel is perfect for the budget traveller. As a single traveller I thought Jack and Janelle did a brilliant job of looking after me and making me feel at home. The rooms are clean and comfortable, close to town and the communal area is great. I will back often to visit my family and this is the perfect place to stay. Highly recommended to all travellers looking for a safe, clean and friendly hotel. Travellers Budget Motel really sums up the Vanuatu experience.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Susy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2012

Jack and Janelle are the perfect people to run a tourist resort. The accommodation and service is far better than recorded on the brochure while their staff are well trained and happy to make your holiday a treasured experience. They arrange any tours or activities - nothing is too difficult. For the traveller on a budget who wants to have a great time without the pocket suffering, then this is the place to go. Thoroughly recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: The rooms are all of similar quality. Ask Jack or Janelle to find a fit with your requirements and t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Vila hotels
0.2 mi away
Moorings Hotel
Moorings Hotel
#29 of 47 in Port Vila
136 reviews
2.5 mi away
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
#12 of 47 in Port Vila
1,448 reviews
0.9 mi away
Iririki Island Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Hideaway Island Resort
Hideaway Island Resort
#13 of 47 in Port Vila
614 reviews
3.4 mi away
Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu
3.2 mi away
Nasama Resort
Nasama Resort
#7 of 47 in Port Vila
469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Traveller's Budget Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Traveller's Budget Motel

Property: Traveller's Budget Motel
Address: Avenue Du Stade, PO Box 3164, Port Vila, Efate +678, Vanuatu
Location: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Port Vila
#3 Business Hotel in Port Vila
#5 Family Hotel in Port Vila
#5 Romantic Hotel in Port Vila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Traveller's Budget Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traveller's Budget Motel is Port Vila's best value for money accommodation. Despite our budget category, the owner-managers have meticulously attended to every detail inside and out, to ensure your stay is relaxing and comfortable. The difference is apparent as soon as you step foot onto the property. The gardens are beautifully landscaped, rooms are tastefully decorated and well lit, showers are clean, sheets are crisp and rooms serviced daily. We believe everyone who visits Vanuatu is entitled to five-star hospitality. All our double rooms have cold remote controlled air-conditioning as well as ceiling fans, en-suite with shower, kitchenette, bar fridge, microwave and free +45 channel Sat TV. Each room has free data and wireless internet connection. An outside nakamal with full cooking facilities overlooks a sparkling blue 8.5 Metre pool. This is a relaxing place to sit and read. Located just 10 minutes walk from the shopping and restaurant precinct of Port Vila, the beautiful lagoons, beaches and attractions are either a short walk or drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Traveller's Budget Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Traveller's Budget Motel Vanuatu/Port Vila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing