We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Home Away from Home”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Traveller's Budget Motel
Ranked #10 of 47 Hotels in Port Vila
Certificate of Excellence
Kingston, Jamaica
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Home Away from Home”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2011

Janet B (Patti)

My recent stay in Vanuatu was made even more awesome by Jack and Janelle's hospitality, clean rooms with squeaky clean bathrooms (a must!!!). My needs were facilitated as fast as they were articulated. During my two week stay in Vanuatu I had to travel to other islands and stayed in three other really nice hotels but nothing could beat the feeling of "going home' when I was returning to Traveller's. (the feeling surprised even me!!).
Thanks again Jack and Janelle. Best wishes. Happy Christmas.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Janet B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    304
    60
    9
    3
    2
See reviews for
36
133
102
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Nelson
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2011

My 21 yo daughter and I recently travelled to Vanuatu. We were keen to avoid the ‘Resort scene’ as we hoped to connect with the ‘real Vanuatu’ as best we could in our one short week (which proved too short by far!).
Our best decision, following Trip Advisor advice, was to spend our first three nights at the Travellers Budget Motel. As already indicated by others this motel is such good value for money; it is well appointed & spotless (thanks Lily), well located (central Vila minutes on foot or 150 vatu by minivan), relaxing & comfortable (shady rooms around central courtyard with planting, nakamal, pool and communal kitchen) and so totally safe & friendly (thanks Jack and Janelle and fellow travellers).
Travellers best asset however are Jack and Janelle who went out of their way to get to know us, understand our aspirations for the week and help us plan our stay. Their local knowledge and willingness to impart it was invaluable and made negotiating transport, shopping and planning little excursions (eg. to the Cascades, Tanna Coffee Factory, Hideway Island or even just down to the local bakery or supermarket etc.) fun and inexpensive. Nothing was a too much of a problem to them.
Janelle worked tirelessly to make arrangements for our flights and accommodation on Tanna while we spent the day swanning around Efate. We are eternally grateful for this as our time on Tanna proved to be one of the highlights of our visit.
We totally recommend the hospitality of Jack and Janelle to fellow independent travellers.
And there is nothing like Janelle’s legendary fruit salad & yoghurt to get you started for the day…….
Julie and Sunniva

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Julie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Moresby, Papua New Guinea
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2011

I recently traveled to Vanuatu for business and the Travellers motel was somehow my home away form home for one week thanks to the kindest dedication of Jack and Janelle !
Would recommend without any doubts !!!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sandra A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Macquarie, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2011

My friend and I stayed at Travellers for three nights at the end of our trip. We absolutely loved it! Jack and Janelle have truly made it feel like home. The rooms are great, clean and comfy. And the communal kitchen, pool and outside dining area are perfect for cooking your own meals and meeting other travellers. We felt so at ease and they were both so willing to offer us tips and advice on things to do. I would highly recommend Travellers to anyone looking for a place to stay with that touch of home and local knowledge. And terrific value! Thanks again Jack and Janelle for a great end to our trip.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Emily J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonesboro, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2011

Two colleagues and I recently were in Vanuatu on a work assignment and made this wonderful place our base. Although we had made reservations before coming, once we arrived we took the opportunity to view a few other small to medium size hotels for comparison. We found that none could compare to the warmth and feeling of welcome which met us at Travellers. All the details were addressed, from the fresh milk and carafe of drinking water in the fridge to the fluffy towels neatly folded out on the tidy bed, and the absolutely spotless bathroom. Our hosts, Jack and Janelle spared nothing in seeing to our needs, including additional reading lamps in the rooms, electrical extensions and extra long cables to ensure that we could work from any corner of the bedroom in case the wifi signal was not strong enough for our purposes. For the 2 weeks that I was there, I felt as if I was staying with friends: the cosy atmosphere of the open kitchen in the evenings and chatting with the interesting guests who are always on the go was an experience in itself, and so far removed from the aloofness so often a part of the big hotel experience. My early morning walks to the bakery for just- baked bread, the market for fresh fruits, and the Chinese grocery on the corner for snacks (while not necessary since Janelle's trusty pantry was always full) afforded me the sense of being one of the locals. Take it from a hardened traveller - you can't get better value for your bucks whether for business or vacation..

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Valerie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2011

My best mate and I checked into the Travellers in October 2011 and we were so happy we had chosen to stay there. Nothing was too much trouble for Jack and Janelle and they went over and beyond any expectations. Their local knowledge is 2nd to none and they can help you plan everything you want to experience. I felt instantly relaxed and pampered as soon as I walked in and met them both. Truely an amazing place to stay and I can't wait to go back and visit.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank RamonDow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toowoomba, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2011

My wife and I visited 'Travellers' in August 2011 and were absolutely thrilled with our choice! We were looking for a nice home base to use while we explored the town and surrounds. It was clean, comfortable, super friendly and really a great place to stay in Port Vila. Jack and Janelle are ex-pat Aussies and are great hosts, overflowing with local knowledge and info on all the great things to do in town. It's only 7 minutes walk to the Port Vila waterfront,shops and restaurants so it is well situated to explore these places on foot or if you feel lazy you just step out the front gate and hail a bus or taxi. Travellers Budget Motel is really great value for money, it exceeded our expectations and we will definitely be staying there next time.
Scott & Kathy
Queensland
Australia

Room Tip: In August a fan cooled room was sufficient for us but Oct to Mar you may need aircon....
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Scott S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Vila hotels
2.5 mi away
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
#13 of 47 in Port Vila
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,430 reviews
0.2 mi away
Moorings Hotel
Moorings Hotel
#25 of 47 in Port Vila
4.0 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hideaway Island Resort
Hideaway Island Resort
#12 of 47 in Port Vila
4.5 of 5 bubbles 612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Iririki Island Resort & Spa
3.4 mi away
Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu
3.1 mi away
Nasama Resort
Nasama Resort
#7 of 47 in Port Vila
4.5 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Traveller's Budget Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Traveller's Budget Motel

Property: Traveller's Budget Motel
Address: Avenue Du Stade, PO Box 3164, Port Vila, Efate +678, Vanuatu
Location: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Port Vila
#3 Business Hotel in Port Vila
#5 Romantic Hotel in Port Vila
#5 Family Hotel in Port Vila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Traveller's Budget Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traveller's Budget Motel is Port Vila's best value for money accommodation. Despite our budget category, the owner-managers have meticulously attended to every detail inside and out, to ensure your stay is relaxing and comfortable. The difference is apparent as soon as you step foot onto the property. The gardens are beautifully landscaped, rooms are tastefully decorated and well lit, showers are clean, sheets are crisp and rooms serviced daily. We believe everyone who visits Vanuatu is entitled to five-star hospitality. All our double rooms have cold remote controlled air-conditioning as well as ceiling fans, en-suite with shower, kitchenette, bar fridge, microwave and free +45 channel Sat TV. Each room has free data and wireless internet connection. An outside nakamal with full cooking facilities overlooks a sparkling blue 8.5 Metre pool. This is a relaxing place to sit and read. Located just 10 minutes walk from the shopping and restaurant precinct of Port Vila, the beautiful lagoons, beaches and attractions are either a short walk or drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Traveller's Budget Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Traveller's Budget Motel Vanuatu/Port Vila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing