We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Seachange Lodge
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Free Internet
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Ah Tong Motel(Port Vila)
View Hotel
Mangoes Resort(Port Vila)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Reviews (143)
Filter reviews
143 results
Traveler rating
97
35
4
4
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
97
35
4
4
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssea changeerakor lagoonowner ianminute walklagoon sidebasic roomguest housegreat place to staybig supermarketdining tablecomfortable accommodationlocal supermarketsmall kitchenself containedbus riderelaxing staytown centre
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
129 - 134 of 143 reviews
Reviewed August 30, 2008

My husband and I stayed at Seachange Lodge in June 08. We found the place while walking around the district and thought we would stay for a couple of nights. The place is absolutely wonderful. Rick and Wendy (the owners) couldn't be more helpful if they tried. Rick told us about all the available tours and sights and booked them if we wanted to go.
The gardens are stunning, and although on a steep slope, it gave us a great view over the lagoon. The studio apartment we had was spotless and beautiful. We had cereal, milk, bread, coffee and tea all provided for breakfast. They also have a catamaran, and canoes for the guests to use. It is the first place I would book if we come back to Vanuatu.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank philnsonja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2008

We (Parents and 2 kids) stayed here for 5 days. The property is next to Erakor Lagoon, close to a shanty town about 20 minutes walk to Port Vila CBD. We rented a little apartment down a very steep driveway next to the lagoon which was very clean and fairly modern, with very basic cooking facilities, small fridge, TV and DVD (No TV stations though). A separate annex next to the apartment had 2 single beds for the kids, but we had to lock the kids in each night because of safety concerns. There’s a jetty in front (which we were told not to use at was near another apartment), and a rocky beach not suitable for swimming or snorkeling without using protective footwear and navigating underwater obstacles.
We expected use of a catamaran and dinghy which was advertised with the apartment but when we arrived we were disappointed to see that the catamaran was in pieces and the dinghy was full of water and looked like it hadn’t been used for months, however if we spent a lot of time putting it all together we could have got it all going but couldn’t be bothered.
At night there was quite a lot of domestic arguments, yelling, noise and dogs barking all night nearby which made it quite spooky as there were also intruders walking next to our unit in the middle of the night, (apparently visiting a local brothel about 200 metres away) as well as by day but the owners put a security guard on the 3rd night and we slept a little easier as there were also 12 dangerous criminals who had escaped from the local jail nearby and already murdered and maimed elderly people in the previous few days.
We were invited to use the internet at the pool area next to the house which is difficult as it’s dark at night with numerous biting insects, and too bright by day except with a makeshift towel over the laptop and head. The coral path was steep, poorly lit and slippery. There was no mention of an internet usage charge until we checked out.
Although the room was supposed to be serviced daily, we found our used towels were picked up from the floor, rolled up still wet and put back on the towel shelf instead of being replaced. Our laundry also came back wringing wet and we had to hang it up to dry all night. The local staff were very helpful and friendly but the resident owners did not take kindly to our concerns we found and tended to argue rather than fix problems, but the man was nice at times, but definitely not cut out for the hospitality business, the woman looked like she was fed up with guests, had an unfriendly attitude, barked at our kids and was quite rude at times. Other guests told us that they couldn’t wait to move to better accommodation.
With friendlier owners, better management and security and safer conditions in Port Vila this place could be ideal for a few days stay at the right price.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank GlobetrotterJSH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2008

I am surprised that reviews for this wonderfully relaxing place are so few. Maybe TA people don't stay here. Our group of 5 shared the one bedroom Waterside Chalet and the 2 bedroom Lagoon Lodge. Both were well appointed, reasonably spacious and very comfortable. Both had outdoor shaded areas for sitting and gazing over the peaceful lagoon waters. The block is fairly steep from the road at the top but has well constructed and lit steps. Our 75 y.o. mum (reasonably fit) was able to manage it quite well. She even felt her fitness had improved by the end of the week. Besides, taking your time allows you to enjoy the spectacle of what really is a magnificent garden. An infirm person would have difficulty, though. Our hosts were there for us if needed, for anything, but were rarely called upon as we were well prepared for Vila thanks to Trip Advisor.
As with another review, I felt he price was very reasonable compared to the big resorts. And, yes, we tried some of the excellent local eateries as well as using the BBQ provided to cook the fantastic local beef. There is a hotplate and microwave too.
Both the Lodge and Chalet are right on the water and I cannot over-emphasise how lovely that is. Whether it was watching the occasional yacht drift by or a local villager paddle across in his dug-out (yes, they still use dug-outs and many are self sufficient hunter-gatherer-traders), or using the Seachage's own catamaran or kayak to explore, the lagoon is the key to the beauty and tranquility of the place.
You are a 5 minute walk from an excellent supermarket and restaurants and 10 minutes to the main street of Vila. Seachange is situated in what amounts to a suburban street, populated by locals and ex-pats alike and the walks will take you past a variety of abodes and living standards , not to mention the occasional kava bar
The small and cheap local buses pass by very regularly - we never waited more than 5 minutes. and they will take you anywhere.
I must make mention of Seachange Lodge's odd job man/gardener, Yamak (spelling unknown but phonetically that would be close), who is from the island of Tanna. He was extremely helpful and friendly. His skill with a machete (common to many in Vanuatu) is extraordinary. Ask him to demonstrate those skills with a coconut.
Unfortunately, the place is on the market (in a very unusual way - you should see their web-site ) and it is uncertain as to whether it will continue to operate as it does now.
Oh, and it has a swimming pool, too.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank garybMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2007

My husband and I stayed at the Seachange Lodge in December 2006 and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The owners, Rick and Wendy are very welcoming, easy-going and helpful. Our lodge was lovely, nicely decorated, very well appointed and overlooking the lake. The swimming pool was still being built at the time and looked very promising. The lodge is perfectly located in a quiet part of Port Vila and not too far from the city centre. Overall, the lodge has a warm, welcoming and idyllic feel. Last but not least it's excellent value.

  • Stayed: December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank MaximaZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2007

We have just returned from our 2nd trip to Vanuatu. Previously we stayed at the Le Lagon [which was great] But this time decided on Seachange Lodge. What a great decision. We stayed in the garden cottage which was very large with 2 bedrooms, ensuite, fully equiped kitchen and a lovely balcony to sit and look at the beautiful Erakor Lagoon. We have 3 children aged 18,15 & 7 and they all enjoyed the stay. There is a pool also which again has beautiful Lagoon views. We also found that by not being at a resort we sampled more of what Vanuatu has to offer as far as restaurants go. The Waterfront, Flaming Bull, Le Rendez Vous and La Houstalet were the favourites. Wendy and Rick [owners of the Lodge] Were also very helpful in recommending and organizing day trips. I took ill on my last day and they drove me to a Doctor and Wendy sat for 2 hours while I was being treated. I think they have a great thing going with this type of accommodation and the price difference compared with the resorts is amazing. The cheapest price we were quoted for the Le Lagon, For 3 adults & 2 children was $4000 we paid $1500 at Seachange. The extra savings you make can be well spent on day trips like Lelepa Island which was fantastic. Well done Seachange we will be back.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Cathyl1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews