We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“What a fantastic setting”

Review of Mifala

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
14 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 9
Port Vila, Efate

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
brangushi...
Surrey Hills
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“What a fantastic setting”
Reviewed July 21, 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

The house is designed in 2 separate sleeping zones, which was ideal for our 3 generations. The grand children were delighted to discover a huge tub of lego and one bookcase full of children's books, great to have a new book for every bedtime story. Also the adults book selection was most comprehensive. It was a pleasant surprise to find a well stocked pantry of daily essentials! The house was always spotless, continuing on from arrival through to our late departure; many thanks to the wonderful, Emily, our girl who came in 6 mornings a week to clean and tidy. The gardens and pool was regularly attended to. There were some minor maintenance issues which could have been attended to had we been contacted by 'anyone' during our 2 week stay. The aluminium 'tinny' was a lot of fun, as too were the canoes and stand up paddle boards.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GriffinFa...
Berwick, Victoria
Level 6 Contributor
297 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Loved It”
Reviewed January 5, 2017 for a stay in January 2017
3
people found this review helpful

Really enjoyed this property. 7 of us staying here and very comfortable. Thank you Brian Death for organizing.

Plenty of room, swimming pool, tennis court and outboard with dingy.

Great time had by all. Would definitely come back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jayden W
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Taupo”
Reviewed May 28, 2016 for a stay in May 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Awesome place to stay not much more you could ask for! Had a great week staying at the mifala house with my partner and some friends,
Been to Port Vila 5 times now and definitely put this place at the top of my list of where to stay! Hope we weren't to loud for the people around that area when we were coming back from the bars most nights, We found out from some friends of ours who live in Port Vila that we made ourselves well know around the town! Awesome place definitely be back!!

Thankyou Tony, Emily & Shadow for the great week!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannah D
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“This house has it all”
Reviewed May 21, 2016 for a stay in May 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Mifala was the most perfect place for our family holiday, we really couldn't complain about anything. Right on the lagoon, with a boat, paddle boards, canoos, tennis court, bikes and a pool. The house is fully equipped if you want to cook at home, or a short drive to other restaurants and the supermarket. Everything was clean and felt very new, beds were comfortable, bathrooms were nice. Tony was very helpful and the housekeeper, Emily, was lovely as well. We stayed for a week and didn't want to leave.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adamvicke...
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“"Paradise Found at Mifala"”
Reviewed December 19, 2015 for a stay in November 2015
5
people found this review helpful

Wonderfull location, not to far out of town but far enough to feel miles from anywhere.
A new supermarket opened in November close by on Second Lagoon making things very easy.
Close to Eton beach, Blue Lagoon, off road buggy and horse riding. House easily accommodated Six of us without all being on top of each other. The tinny, the bikes, tennis court, basket ball, paddle boards and kayaks all got a work out. Emily the house keeper was a beatifull person who made everone comfortable . Tony went above and beyond to attend to our needs and was quick to respond to any questions, making this the perfect base to relax at home or explore from. #1 house rental in Port Villa!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerrie147
Peregian Beach, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Peaceful”
Reviewed August 27, 2015 for a stay in August 2015
3
people found this review helpful

Six of us stayed here for a two week period. Beautiful property with plenty of room for everyone. Lot's to keep you busy - we took the tinny up to Le Lagon a few times or you can use the kayaks or paddle boards to get around the lagoon and explore. No luck with catching any fish but not for lack of trying. The basketball and tennis court got a work out too!
Very handy to town we had a contact for a great bus driver that we could just phone on the house phone for pick up. If he wasn't available we just walked up to the main road and only ever waited a few minutes for a bus to stop. We cooked at home a few times with no drama. The kitchen was user friendly and the BBQ got a work out. We also tried several restaurants around the place with the stand out being the fire show at Eratap resort, Chilli, Jill's and the Vietnamese restaurant in town were all good value with yummy food and the Beach bar near Hideaway Island had awesome pizza's. It didn't matter if we cooked them ourselves or brought them at a restaurant but we never had a bad steak they are to die for. It was only about $40 to hire a quad bike for 24 hours - we had a great day going around the entire island stopping off wherever we wanted. Zip-lining was well worth it and the Zego boats were also awesome. Tony the owner of the house was very helpful and full of information. This was our third time in Vanuatu and you can see that they are still struggling to recover from the cyclone but they really need the tourists to help with their economy. We took bags of colouring books and pencils to give the kids and they were so gratefully received. Despite their adversity they are still the happiest people on earth. Loved Mifala we'd be happy to live there anytime.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peace and quiet as opposed to staying in a resort
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire B
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Peaceful Perfection”
Reviewed August 2, 2015 for a stay in July 2015
4
people found this review helpful

From the pool to the Pontoon, Mifala has it all. Spacious, clean, well equipped, comfortable modern accommodation, just perfect for our large family to spend a week celebrating a milestone birthday. Whilst the weather wasn't as hot as we would have liked, it didn't stop us from testing out the pool, tinny and various paddle boards and kayaks. There are buses nearby to take you to town, or you can use one of those recommended from a nearby village. Tony was always available before, during and after our stay, ensuring we had everything we required for a great break. The pantry was part stocked with many staples, making it easy to self cater, we gladly added to it on leaving. The book selection in one of the rooms was outstanding and provided many hours of entertainment with some of the content. Shadow (the local dog) was a most welcome visitor to the house, and we always made sure we had something extra on the bbq for him. Emily (the houselady) helped with the chores each day, making the stay just a little less stressful on all. Thanks for a wonderful week, we will certainly return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing