We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Totes Fab”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Pacific Lagoon Apartments
Ranked #17 of 47 Hotels in Port Vila
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 28, 2014

Stayed at the PLA in January with the fam (kids aged 6,8,16,18) and had a GREAT time. Manager Chris bent over backwards to supply info/advice/resources without ever smothering us. Regular cricket updates also available! Met many friendly and like-minded families there too, which added to a wonderful holiday for us all. Still sorting all the fotos.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mtoddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (187)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

93 - 99 of 187 reviews

Reviewed March 11, 2014

The wife and I stayed at the Pacific Lagoon apartments from 3 - 10 Mar 14. We were initially going to stay elsewhere, then found PLA, noted the great reviews and changed our minds, and I am so glad we did. The apartment was clean and comfortable, with aircon in the main bedroom. When they say close to the water,,,well...too much closer and you would get wet feet eating breakfast. Chris, the manager and staff are friendly and helpful, Anthea in the office will book any activities for you, and having cooking facilities will save some money by not having to eat out for every meal. PLA is not five star, and doesnt pretend to be, so if you want luxury, please go elsewhere. If like us you are looking for comfort, peace and quiet away from the bustle in town and value for money, give Pacific Lagoon a try. So, how much did we really like Pacific Lagoon?...we fully intend going back to Vanuatu next year, and also intend to stay at PLA again, I think thats recommendation enough. PS...you can catch a bus into town from the end of the driveway for 150 vatu pp (thats about $2).

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2014

We recently stayed at Pacific Lagoon Apartments with our daughter, her friend and our son. We did go to one of the very large resorts for cocktails and I can see the appeal but with a million kids running around and an eating schedule, we were very happy to return to the sanctuary of our two bedroom unit right on the lagoon, with kitchen, meaning that we cook and eat on our own schedule or, of course, go out to eat.

With the apartments right on the lagoon our kids enjoyed discovering the amazing sea life while snorkeling, as well as kayaking (kayaks and beach towels supplied by the apartments) and the big kids also enjoyed these delights. The apartments are cleaned every day and have luxuries like nice thick white fluffy towels. The shower is my favorite surrounded by shells and coral so you feel like you are still on the reef out the front.

Our son made friends with a little French boy, proving language is no barrier when it comes to play. The pool and bbq area is lovely and gives you the opportunity to meet other guests or not. Bon Mache 2 (super market) is very short bus ride up the road and the bread and meat is fresh, (steaks and sausages for the bbq) they sell alcohol as well as all your snacks etc. The buses are cheap, you just wave them down, but it also makes you feel like you are experiencing the country a little.

With one forgetful child leaving their phone on the sea wall we were extremely grateful to the night security that found it and returned it to us.

The apartments are well managed and the office has DVDs and board games that you can borrow for free and Chris is friendly and has all advice on where to go.

I also highly recommend the Zip line through the Jungle, scary fun but very safe rigging and the guides are at each point to ensure your safety – I would definitely do that again. We also went to the WW2 museum where one of the guides takes you out in a tinny to snorkel on the wreck of an old plane – it was fantastic and an adventure.

We have great family memories and we loved our time at Pacific Lagoon Apartments our only problem was that we wanted to stay another week.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank drippingtap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2014

As some one who has worked in the Hotel and Hospitality industry for over 15yrs, we always here about how bad things are.... we never hear the good things
This all about the GOOD THINGS .

The manger Chris that you have working there is a real credit to the place, nothing was to much trouble for him, he was always there when we needed something. He was very approachable and easy to talk to. He knew so much about the country and people, my kids were asking him so many questions.

Reception, house cleaners, gardeners and even security, always there to lend a hand and help us when needed. Roy the gardener even got some coconuts for the kids and opened them for the kids, they thought that was great, they even tried the coconut water.

We will be back and will tell all our friends and family about this special place, it felt like a home away from home.
In a big resort you can get lost and just be a number...but we felt so at home here, the staff knew all our names and we felt very special, when we got back after a big day out trekking, Chris would ask about our day, what we liked the most. Was just nice to have a manager who would and can make the time for guest staying there.

Could you please pass on a big THANK YOU to all the staff, and a big hello to Chris for us and tell him that we will see him again.

Room Tip: The Lagoon Rooms are great as you have an outlook over the lagoon, you can also see your children wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kellie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

The apartments are all right on the water so you can grab a kayak (provided) or walk out into the lagoon.

The apartment was serviced everyday so you always came back to a tidy apartment. The place didn't feel like it was overrun with fellow travelers despite it being fully booked.

There are excellent places to hang out by the pool, as well as a great BBQ area.

The location seemed far from town, but the bus system meant that it wasn't a problem. You can catch a bus from the end of the driveway. We never had to wait longer than 2 minutes before a bus came by to take us out to Port Vila or out to an attraction.

Manager that runs the place is super chill and real nice.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank novyng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

We loved this quiet hideaway because of its authentic Island atmosphere, great Lagoon views and Location. PLA are close to many great beaches, a walk or a swim away from other resorts if you feel like exploring and a short minibus ride to the markets in Port Vila.

The apartments are like bungalows surrounded by tropical gardens with a central pool and barbecue area where guests can cook some of the Island produce and just chill out after a busy day of snorkling or beachcombing or island hopping. They supply all the modern conveniences so you can choose if you prefer to eat at home or out at one of the many restaurants nearby.
The main bedrooms have air conditioning which will be pretty useful in the heat of summer, not all resorts have air con. They also have verandahs great for drinking sundowners at the end of the day, some with a view of the lagoon only a couple of metres away.

Pacific Lagoon Apartments are pretty central and transport is very cheap. Mini buses pass by regularly and are the usual form of transport for tourists and locals in Port Vila and on the rest of Efate Island. Nearby restaurants, many of them French offer great locally grown meat and poultry and seafood. This is also a great spot for visiting other islands.

My husband who has travelled extensively for business prefers this low key style of accommodation over the international hotels which are rather big and impersonal and lack originality. We also prefer better value for money. This is our second stay at PLA.

The manager, Chris, is very knowledgable of the region and very helpful. The apartments are spotless and cleaned daily by their delightful staff who are very discreet, the linen is changed often.

Don't miss the Fire dancing opposite on Erakor Island, easily reached by kayak and the snorkling at Hideaway Island.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fellotraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

We stayed nearly a week in this great located apartments with the nicest staff and owner (Thanks Chris!!) i ever met. The rooms are clean and equipped with everything you need. Chris provided us additional to the Kajaks (you can use these to discover the beautiful lagoon for free) with every information we needed to make the best out of our few days on this awesome island.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katm0ss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Vila hotels
0.3 mi away
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
#12 of 47 in Port Vila
1,515 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Melanesian Port Vila
The Melanesian Port Vila
#26 of 47 in Port Vila
307 reviews
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
#14 of 47 in Port Vila
692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Iririki Island Resort & Spa
0.4 mi away
Nasama Resort
Nasama Resort
#7 of 47 in Port Vila
499 reviews
0.4 mi away
Erakor Island Resort & Spa
Erakor Island Resort & Spa
#5 of 47 in Port Vila
700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pacific Lagoon Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific Lagoon Apartments

Address: Pango Road, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu
Location: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Port Vila
#8 Romantic Hotel in Port Vila
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Port Vila
Price Range: $136 - $188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pacific Lagoon Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the water's edge in a peaceful garden setting Pacific Lagoon Apartments is conveniently located, a little out of town, at the mouth of picturesque Erakor Lagoon, near other resorts and 4 kilometres from Port Vila town centre. Our eleven 2 bedroom apartments are fully serviced, have well equipped kitchens, satellite TV, in-house DVDs, kayaks and barbecue. Our friendly staff will look after you and PLA can be your home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Pacific Lagoon Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pacific Lagoon Apartments Hotel Port Vila
Pacific Lagoon Apartments Vanuatu/Port Vila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing