We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service, great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Pacific Lagoon Apartments
Ranked #17 of 47 Hotels in Port Vila
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 26, 2013

We visited Vanuatu for our office Christmas party so we had to house 9 people. We decided on Pacific Lagoon Apartments from the reviews and it fit into our budget. We loved it! It may not suit everyone as it is not 5 star, for us it was great because it was a small resort, it had a central area near the pool to hang out and it was right on the water. Only a cheap bus ride to Port Vila. Chris the manager is a great bloke and was very helpful in advising us different places to eat etc. and he sorted us out with fresh coconuts to drink and eat. I highly recommend it!

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (187)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

105 - 111 of 187 reviews

Reviewed November 25, 2013

Once again visited Pacific Lagoon. Fantastic spot on the lagoon. 2 bedroom bungalow, self contained. New cupboards in kitchens, very nice. Made use of the pool this time as well as the lagoon. Found an awesome spot to watch the fish out in the lagoon. Bungalows are well appointed, two bedroom with lounge,dining, kitchen between the bedrooms. Good size bathroom. Small kitchen, one person, but very adequate. TV in lounge, but view out the window is much better than tv. Close to town, short bus trip. Great staff and Manager, very helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: go for a waterfront bungalow
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cardeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

Another perfect holiday at Pacific Lagoon Apartments (PLA). Since our last Trip Advisor review of PLA in December 2010 we have been back six times at three weeks a time. We are a professional couple in our seventies and still happily working. PLA provides us with a perfect holiday destination to relax and recharge the batteries. Swimming in the pool or in the large lagoon on which PLA sits relaxes the muscles and restores the spirit. There are plenty of options to eat in or out at a number of high quality, small, quiet and sophisticated restaurants in Port Vila. Tender fillets of beef or tuna provide a more than acceptable eating in alternative using the apartment's kitchen. Chris, Manager and Anthea, Admin Manager could not be more courteous or helpful. The Ni-Vanuatu cleaning ladies are quietly friendly and helpful. The cleaning service six days a week means the apartment is always clean and fresh. Frequent changes of bed linen and towels enhances this cleanliness. We thoroughly recommend PLA to couples and families for a relaxing holiday.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alandiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

We stayed here for 9 nights in October 2013 and Chris, the manager, and Anthea went out of their way to help us with trip suggestions and dinner recommendations around Port Villa.They also arranged several day trips for us that were spot on. The acccomodation was exactly as advertised - great location right on the Lagoon, opposite Erakor island. We particularly enjoyed the use of the free kayaks every morning! Self catering apartments are a great idea for those that would like to spend their money on activities,rather than flashy hotels. Might be too basic for some though. Easy and convenient transportation into town, only 15min, by bus. These can be flagged on nearby road and seem to pass every few minutes and only cost 150vatu ($1.50) per person. Taxis cost quite a bit more but still cheap.

Would not hesitate to stay here again next time we're in Port Villa. Keep up the good work, Chris!

Lee+B

Room Tip: Lagoon view rooms good for sitting out and enjoying the view at night but we were more than happy wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TannaTwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Our third visit and it keeps getting better! Our first stay was 5 years ago and after a visit in April we decided to come back these past Sept holidays and share it with friends. Our two families had adjoining bungalows on the lagoon, where we could sit back while the five girls aged between 10 and 16, could freely snorkel, kayak and swim. The bungalows are two bedroom which allows separate 'space' for parents, a small kitchen and a good size family area. They were spotlessly clean and the 'cleaning fairies' visited daily while we are out exploring the island. Chris the manager has a wealth of knowledge of the island and places to see, and nothing is too much trouble for him. Roy the gardener, masterfully had fresh coconuts for me daily, and we send a big thank you to Chris, Anthea and all the staff for making our holiday so personal and memorable. You won't be disappointed staying here, as all of the people we have met here have had the same experience and have said it's a little gem! Staying here gives you the unique opportunity of BBQing fresh wagu beef and dining on your own veranda overlooking the lagoon, or taking the 5min bus trip into town, or the short walk to Le Legon, Breakers, or ferry to Erakor Island for an evening meal. PLA may not be 5 star but they don't claim to be, however what they offer is spotlessly clean, spacious, self-contained bungalows perfectly positioned on the lagoon and gardens, and exceptionally helpful and friendly staff. Yes, it is a short B Bus drive out of town but we have had wonderful times talking to the locals on the bus and enjoy coming back to the quietness, being that short distance away gives us.It truly feels like coming home each time we visit, and yes, we will be back next year, hopefully with more friends!

Room Tip: Bungalows on the lagoon are the best, however, we met people who had garden bungalows and they were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Denise H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

At this price we weren't expecting much, but we weren't expecting to be told not to leave shoes or laundry outside as there was a public walkway 10 metres from our room. Nor were we expecting a thick layer of dust on the hairdryer and light switches in the kitchen so dirty that it made me glad we took some hand sanitiser. My brother had sheets with a suspicious looking stain on them and a lovely surprise when he opened his bedside drawer and found a used cotton bud. The kitchen was so small dark and dismal the thought of cooking there was ridiculous. The amenities were so poor we left after one night after paying for 4. We booked for 4 people - there was no room for 4 people to sit inside. For not much more money you can stay in much better - DON'T BOTHER.

Room Tip: Don't even think about it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 662Annie662
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
plavan, Manager at Pacific Lagoon Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2013

We were surprised and disappointed to see your comments here on trip advisor.
As a small property we pride ourselves on providing clean and comfortable accommodation supported with quality service, as well as being approachable at all times. When asked about your early check out you gave no indication there were any issues with the apartment other than you finding it too small for your liking. We would always try and address any issues guests had with their accommodation. Unfortunately our first knowledge of your other complaints was your trip advisor review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

My mother and I stayed here from 30 August through to 6th September. If you are looking for clean, comfortable, self catering accom then Pacific Lagoon fits the bill. We had a garden view room- and were still only a few steps from the lagoon.Chris, Anthea and the rest of the staff are very helpful and able to answer any queries regarding PV.
There is a small shop about 5min walk towards Pango village which we found to be useful (saves going all the way into town for some water or chips), and the centre of town is a short bus ride away. We did actually walk into town once & found it to be not a bad stroll- mostly all down hill on the way in.
Snorkelling opportunities right on your doorstep or you can hop on a water taxi just round the lagoon abit and go across to Erakor Island (1000vatu redeemable).
Would definately stay here again when returning to Vanuatu- perfect for our needs.

Room Tip: We had no 3 :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rens33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Vila hotels
0.3 mi away
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
#12 of 47 in Port Vila
1,518 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Melanesian Port Vila
The Melanesian Port Vila
#24 of 47 in Port Vila
309 reviews
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
#14 of 47 in Port Vila
695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Iririki Island Resort & Spa
0.4 mi away
Nasama Resort
Nasama Resort
#7 of 47 in Port Vila
501 reviews
0.4 mi away
Erakor Island Resort & Spa
Erakor Island Resort & Spa
#4 of 47 in Port Vila
700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pacific Lagoon Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific Lagoon Apartments

Address: Pango Road, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu
Phone Number:
Location: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Port Vila
#8 Romantic Hotel in Port Vila
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Port Vila
Price Range: $136 - $188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pacific Lagoon Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the water's edge in a peaceful garden setting Pacific Lagoon Apartments is conveniently located, a little out of town, at the mouth of picturesque Erakor Lagoon, near other resorts and 4 kilometres from Port Vila town centre. Our eleven 2 bedroom apartments are fully serviced, have well equipped kitchens, satellite TV, in-house DVDs, kayaks and barbecue. Our friendly staff will look after you and PLA can be your home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Pacific Lagoon Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pacific Lagoon Apartments Hotel Port Vila
Pacific Lagoon Apartments Vanuatu/Port Vila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing