We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Benjor is on relaxing Island Time”
Review of Benjor Beach Club

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Benjor Beach Club
Ranked #26 of 47 Hotels in Port Vila
Certificate of Excellence
Langwarrin
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Benjor is on relaxing Island Time”
Reviewed April 25, 2009

As you arrive at Benjor you are met by Eva (a very nice lady) she explanes about the resort and the snorkling areas around he resort (about 50meters away) then Eva offers you a welcome drink of tropical punch. She lets you know how the best way of traveling to Port Vila (by bus is the best way all you have to do is see one of the staff and they will ring one for you) But as Eva told us just remember you ar now on Island Time and thats how it is so relaxed. The meals are top rate if they have coconut crab on the menu then its a must a little bit messy but to die for (you need about 1 hour to eat it). The rooms are very clean and large with your own veranda and are serviced every day by the most polite and happy cleaning ladies in fact all the staff are very frendly. If you want adivce on tour then speakto Fred he knows them all. One tour we tried was the Secret Garden Melasian feast the two girls and the lady owner are the most happy go lucky you could meet. My wife and I will be going back to Vanuatu again next year and will be going back to Benjor. I could recoment this resort to anyone that wants a very relaxing (Island Time) hoilday. The only downside there isnt one.
All the best Eva & Keven with this resort.

Eric & Jan
Langwarrin Australia

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deightons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    205
    92
    29
    20
    7
See reviews for
97
152
15
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
brisbane
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 21, 2009

great location. Not busy at all. Friendly staff . Kevin and Eva were excellent and the wedding was just beautiful

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mariacarey8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jimboomba
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 21, 2009

Well what can I say.....Benjor takes you away from the hustle and bustle of Port Vila. When our daughter told us she and her fiance would like to get married in Vanuatu I thought....mmmm......where do we start? We discovered Benjor Beach Club and that was the end of our search. Kevin and Eva were just superb in helping us organise our daughters wedding. NOTHING was too much trouble and they catered to everything we asked for. It is beyond words how they helped us! The staff are warm and friendly, the food is excellent and the wedding and reception was just amazing. To sum up in one word.....when our daughter and her fiance were married, she gave me a big hug and whispered "PERFECT!" ...and I suppose you can't ask for much better than that.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tina1959Jimboomba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
1 review
Reviewed April 14, 2009

My wife, escaping from long hours at work, and I spent a lovely 6 nights/5days at Benjor in March 2009. The resort is secluded as it has the advantage of being located outside Vila. It has coral beach access, is close to the Cascades and the Secret Gardens Melanesian feast and about 35 minutes by kayak to Hideaway Island and its coral reef where we snorkelled. The grounds are lush and the cabins are well spaced giving a feeling of privacy. The resort's restaurant produces dishes of superb quality. With the exception of an evening at the Melanesian feast we ate at the restaurant every night for the simple reason that we felt that the meals served were superb. One particular dish consisting of beef and prawns in cream sauce was mouth-watering. Benjor was host to three weddings during our stay and we felt that the chapel and grounds befitted the occasions. The managers Eva and Kevin were solicitous of our holiday welfare but not intrusive. Staff were willing and efficient in organising tours and buses for us. Restaurant staff were delightful and accurate with orders. I caught a fish which kitchen staff obligingly cooked. Disadvantages? There were none. We were relaxed at the end of our first day and remained relaxed.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveller5534
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brisbane
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed April 14, 2009

This is a 3 star resort but ideal for families or anyone who wants to keep costs down as the villas are all along the lagoon front so you fall asleep to the sound of the waves. Rooms are big, clean and comfortable although the kitchenette is very basic. Travelling with kids we loved it because the staff made us so welcome and the relaxed vibe was very "Vanuatu", plus Kevin and Eva are happy to drive you to the famous cascades and hideaway (great snorkelling). Big Fred at reception was brilliant and the kids also loved the resident dogs and kittens. A cyclone had just been through washing away much of the beach (here and other resorts) so you had to wait for the high tide to snorkel, but it is as good here as anywhere. Food is not cheap in Vila but the quality of the Officers Club meals was fantastic, especially the coconut crab. Small but nice pool and BBQ area where we cooked our own fish and had slads and fries sent down from the restaurant. One downside is that it is out of town a bit so you may want to hire a car if you plan to do a lot of touring. A simple, relaxed place to stay and we loved it.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank juleshenderling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2009

We stayed 11 nights at Benjor.
Upon arrival we received a very generous upgrade to the chiefs villa.
The villa is very spacious, private and has its own beach with plenty of room to stretch.
The cleaning ladies were wonderful making our beds and doing our dishes on our lazy days :)
A lot of the time we felt like we had the resort-pool/beach/restaurant to ourselves.

The resort is about 15-20 out of town but transport is no issues.
A bus trip to town will cost about 400vatu per person the cheapest we got back to the resort was 200vatu and the most we paid was 500vatu but this was a good trip as the driver showed us all what everything was on the way. We also travelled into town for dinner and had no problems getting a bus back. If you plan on going back to the resort late good idea to organise your driver to pick you up at a certain time.

We mostly ate at the resort. The food was outstanding and with the specials we never ate the same thing twice. The kitchen staff and service was very friendly and nothing was to much trouble.

There is great snorkelling of the main beach, best in high tide. No need to take your own snorkel gear as its supplied. If like me its not for you never mind. I walked out in knee high water and saw a bright blue star fish and bright blue tropical fish.

Fred will help organise all you activities. Cascades is a great way to spend a day and we also ventured on a round island tour and buggy fun ride.

My partner & I married at the resort and we could not have asked for a more perfect day.
Eva did a great job co-ordinating everything for us. The floral decorations were amazing and the dining room decorations were fantastic. A huge thanks to the kitchen staff who prepared some snacks for us during our photos.

Thanks to Eva & Kevin & staff we enjoyed a wonderful relaxing wedding and holiday in Vanuatu and look forward to coming back some day.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank monkeyhorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cootamundra
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2009

Kevin and Eva and all the staff at Benjor make your stay a pleasure, from a relaxed two hour breakfast overlooking the water to dinner at night, our group thought that the resturant at Benjor was the best tucker on the island. Snorkelling and kayaking from the beach in front of the resturant, swim in the pool, wander around the grounds if you want an easy relaxed day.
If you want to do the tourist thing Kevin, Eva and the crew know where to go, what to do and will hook you up with the best guides. They will arrange the day for you, from pick up from the resort to your return. We did the island tour, fishing, Kayaking, Island feast, walked the cascades, shop till you drop in Port Villa,and had a ball. All in 6 days!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank theduck1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Vila hotels
7.2 mi away
Vila Chaumieres
Vila Chaumieres
#30 of 47 in Port Vila
174 reviews
0.4 mi away
Island Magic Resort
Island Magic Resort
#18 of 47 in Port Vila
164 reviews
6.6 mi away
Poppy's on the Lagoon
Poppy's on the Lagoon
#23 of 47 in Port Vila
386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hideaway Island Resort
Hideaway Island Resort
#13 of 47 in Port Vila
615 reviews
5.6 mi away
Angelfish Cove Villas
Angelfish Cove Villas
#27 of 47 in Port Vila
93 reviews
7.0 mi away
Nasama Resort
Nasama Resort
#7 of 47 in Port Vila
469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Benjor Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Benjor Beach Club

Property: Benjor Beach Club
Address: Devils Point Road, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu
Location: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Port Vila
#15 Romantic Hotel in Port Vila
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Port Vila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Benjor Beach Club 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lovely boutique 3.5 star resort located 15 mins from Port Vila and 10 minutes from the International Airport, on 23 acres of absolute oceanfront, all Villas with ocean views, fabulous restaurant and wedding chapel, simply delightful. Attractions within 5 mins from Benjor include kayaking and snorkelling tours, diving, horseriding, zorbing, Firedancing, Jungle Zipline, International Golf Course, Botanical Gardens and the world famous Cascades Waterfalls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Cancelon so you can book your Benjor Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Benjor Beach Club Hotel Port Vila
Benjor Beach Hotel
Benjor Beach Resort
Benjor Beach Club Vanuatu/Port Vila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing