We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Benjor Beach Club
Nearby Hotels
Fatumaru Lodge(Port Vila)(Great Value!)
$106
$101
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$62
$60
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Vila Chaumieres(Port Vila)(Great Value!)
$85
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tradewinds Villas(Port Vila)(Great Value!)
$51
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Terraces Boutique Apartments(Port Vila)(Great Value!)
$161
$157
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu(Port Vila)(Great Value!)
$157
$151
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$169
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Cocomo Resort(Port Vila)(Great Value!)
$147
$142
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$32
$25
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Blue Pango Motel(Port Vila)
$32
$30
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (363)
Filter reviews
363 results
Traveler rating
207
97
30
22
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
207
97
30
22
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe managersofficers clubhideaway islandbedroom villathree starlocal staffzip linemele cascadesfishtanna coffeedoor steppeace and quietcurrybeefspecial thanksbeach barday trip
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
125 - 130 of 363 reviews
Reviewed February 27, 2014

Loved this place - what we liked - great views from the rooms (we travelledwith two other friends who had the room next to us which was great). nice little pool down by the ocean - excellent snorkelling off the beach which had lots of sand above the seawall so we could sunbathe or burn as actually happened. Staff are real friendly and helpful and the food was plentiful and fresh. On our budget (pretty low) this suited us perfectly - great location and grounds and access to lots of attractions near by - particularly loved the fire-dancing on Friday night at the beach bar. this was truely relaxing enjoyable holiday in a great country.

Room Tip: If travelling with friends like we were ask for adjoining rooms or maybe go for a two bedroom room.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cecil c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2014

We (parents and two children of 5 and 8) spent a week at the Benjor Beach Club and can fully recommend it as a reasonably priced accommodation for a family - and in particular one with small children as they have large gardens, beach and pool to safely play without the need of much supervision. The rooms and kitchen of our bungalow are nicely done and well equipped but they also must have seen better times - they suffer from an obvious lack of maintenance (the door lock fell off, the fly screens have holes, the TV didn't work, etc.), a nuisance that was more than compensated by a very friendly and caring staff. The beach has some sandy patches that allow safe access into a sea that is normally lined by coral rock in that area - hence is a snorkeling paradise. The restaurant meals are excellent but a bit overpriced (as seems usually be the case in Vanuatu).

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Blechschmidt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014

Holiday: 7th Feb – 14th Feb
We felt compelled to post our thoughts on Benjor after a truly fantastic stay just a few short weeks ago.
Benjor is all about the management of expectations; if you want flashy resort style accommodation in the heart of Port Villa then this is not the place for you. If you want luxurious surroundings and all the creature comforts from home, again this is not the place for you. If however, you have done your research and know what to expect at Benjor (both in terms of facilities and locations) then I fail to see how you could not have a wonderful holiday aided by, in all sincerity, the best staff we have ever encountered. They are sincere, helpful, knowledgeable and simply lovely people to be around.
Our bungalow (no. 2) was HUGE! Plenty big enough for 2 of us. Yes, it’s a little rough around the edges and yes the water was at times temperamental but this in no way negatively impacted our stay. After all, Vanuatu is a developing county and with the fantastic price we paid these are tiny details. We used our room to sleep at night (and very lazy afternoon naps sometimes!) so it was more than adequate for these purposes.
The grounds and Officers Club Restaurant / Reception are beautifully maintained and you can snorkel right off the beach. Yes, it is a coral beach but we had done our research and bought $10 Kmart reef shoes. Therefore, you can get from your bungalow to the ocean and be watching the fish in under a minute!
After a couple of trips to Port Villa we were actually thankful to be staying further out. Mele Bay provides a sensational backdrop (especially if you climb to the Summit Garden) and is actually closer to many attractions (such as the Tanna coffee store, the Summit Gardens, Cascade Falls, The Secret Garden and Hideaway island) than if you stay in the capital.
Overall, we enjoyed a 5* stay with 5* staff but not at 5* prices. We feel strongly that some of the criticisms of other posters are grossly unfair and, as mentioned, with appropriate expectations Benjor will over deliver in spades. Saying goodbye to all staff (We would love to list individually but would hate to miss anybody out!), drinking my final Tusker beer, on our last day made us really reflect on the great holiday we had experienced and how much Benjor had played a part. We would definitely recommend Benjor to anybody travelling to Vanuatu.
Some final brief pointers:
-Reception are great and ordering your buses (which are essentially taxis) and help agree prices and pick up times to avoid any misunderstandings or overcharging. We used these daily and, despite hearing some horror stories, never had any issues.
- Would recommend Hideaway Island, Secret Garden, Cascade Falls, The Summit (which is free – the Garden is $25 AUD each which we chose not to do) and, money permitting, a trip to Mt Yasur on Tanna Island which was an experience of a lifetime. Try and time trips on different days to the Cruise liners coming to the island as it can get busy.
- Buy reef shoes! (as mentioned, $10 in Kmart)
Ross & Laura

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WestonRoss20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014

We loved this place - we had five nights in town in a back packer type hotel which we hated as it had no character and no ocean!! We were recommended by a local to try Benjor and wow - thanks Chris - good recommendation. Close to Cascades Watefalls and also the Jungle Ziplining - loved both. We also really enjoyed the kayaking tour which is run off the Beach at benjor. The girls working there are fabulous. Large spacious rooms all with great views and best of all the whole resort even though it is not a high star rating is located on the beautiful Mele Bay ocean. We adored the staff, liked the food and thought the grounds were beautiful - naturally tamed and made the most of the environment. We had swam off the main beach at high tide and the snorkelling was excellent. There is a great little private beach down the end of the property as well which we took advantage of. We willbe back.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kel j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2014

stayed at this hotel in february, not up to what was advertised. would not recommend this to anyone who is expecting a beachside hotel, non existent, rocky beach, in the middle of nowhere, poor setting.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marbee007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews