We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Service, but won't go back again..”
Review of Benjor Beach Club

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Benjor Beach Club
Ranked #26 of 47 Hotels in Port Vila
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 12, 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights with the special rate on February, the resort itself looks nice, the staff is very helpful, friendly and good knowledgeable to help us everything around that area. We did't try the restaurant since it's little bit expensive compare with other restaurant in Port Vila.

When we made the booking, we understand it's a little bit far away from town centre, however the staff can help you arrange the bus service and picking you back at the time you want. BUT it's little bit overprice, sometimes it's even DOUBLE PRICE then other bus driver, we recommend you get some other honest bus drivers phone after you get into Port Vila.

We have another issue about the bill payment after we leave, we did made the booking online however we had been charged with different amount of money & ANOTHER credit card fee after we check the bill. We did complain with their management about the issue I hope they can fix it asap and not confuse with other people.

If you are planning to stay here, do not made the booking online with their online system, and be sure to check with the price on different bus driver when you getting around.

Room Tip: Don't make the booking online by their website.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kelvin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
happygirlmm, Owner at Benjor Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2014

We are very sorry that you felt that Benjor was only worth a 2 rating despite you saying you had great service and the price was right and so on. In fact the two things you were upset about were actually nothing to do with us - the buses are all independently owned and while we do our best to use bus drivers that stick to a fair and reasonable price - we actually can-not control all of them - particularly the ones independently picked by guests in town. I also understand that our Manager helped you to negotiate down the unfair price... The other issue was that of a credit card transaction - this again was via your third party accommodation provider - you did not actually book directly with us - we only take a credit card at check in for F&B and tour charges etc. Your card was debited in accordance with the booking site you booked with and I understand that you have exchanged emails with our Manager and have reached a satisfactory conclusion/understanding of that worked. We would love you to give Benjor another chance (minus the dodgy bus driver and the misunderstanding over the payment) and if you decide to come back please let me know and I will give you a complimentary 2 night stay with us. All the best Miranda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (358)
There are newer reviews for Benjor Beach Club
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

128 - 134 of 358 reviews

Reviewed February 1, 2014

In over 27yrs travelling to Vanuatu and having stayed all over the islands we have never experienced so much fun as we did at Benjor Beach Club and thank you Miranda and Greg who were so lovely and so much fun. Special mention to their honorary Public Relations Officer (Kev) who we thought ran the Resort, he made our stay even more entertaining!!!!!! Upon arriving we were mistaken for another couple which caused alot of confusion and laughter. We stayed in Room 3 which was superb and it was lovely sipping our cocktails on our private balcony and our room was so quiet. The pool with the new banana lounges was excellent and it was great to watch the cruise ships sailing past. All the staff were exceptional and could not have done more for you. The grounds were superb, just stick to the paths as the falling coconuts and mangoes can be tricky. The resort is so central to all attractions and costs next to nothing to travel into town. You can even walk to Tanna Coffee if you need a good fix of caffeine. If you are a fitness fanatic you can walk up to the Summit, its worth the effort. If you want to relax and unwind we highly recommend Benjor. Good luck to Priscilla with the Barista Championships this year and hope Fred and his family had a lovely holiday in Queensland, they deserve it.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank stratnomo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
happygirlmm, Owner at Benjor Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2014

Thank you so much Phantom Couple - so happy we made you happy. Actually it is guests like you that embrace a country like Vanuatu that make running a resort such a pleasure. Hope you can come back again. All the very best Miranda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2014

We usually go on holidays where we are constantly on the move. This holiday we wanted to just relax and not do much. Benjor was perfect for that. We stayed for 2 weeks with our 2 teenage boys. Benjor is what we were looking for. The place is so safe and relaxed we didn't eveb lock our room. The staff are fantastic, the restaurant is great. Our boys couldn't get enough of the Souffle's. We stayed in room 13 which had a small kitchen with microwave, oven and refrigerator. The rooms are clean, the beds are comfortable and the fans worked well, being the wet season it was very hot. There was a TV & DVD player in the room, there is no TV in Vanuatu, We got 3 movies over the whole time we were there, none of us missed the TV. Wi Fi is only available around the main reception/restaurant area, again we did not find this a problem . Yes the pool is a little tired, but it's not unuseable, it gets you wet and keeps you cool, we still had fun in it. The gardens are lovely and well kept. Being on such are large property, the rooms are well spread out, you don't hear anybody else from your room. Snorkeling out the front of the resort is good, we found the best spot was to go the end of the property, which is across the bridge and you keep going until you get to a little beach, we snorkelled out and to the right where you end up opposite the sand island but you are only about 20 metres off shore. We brought our own reef shoes & snorkeling gear from home, as it can be quite expensive to hire. The resort is close to alot of the islands attractions, such as the Zip line, The Summit Gardens, Cascade falls, Mele Village, Hideaway Island, and the Fire show at the Beach bar (Friday Nights). We hired a pick up for 3 days to explore the island further which we found very cost effective and convenient as the package tours are very expensive when you have 4 people. Driving was easy even though it was left hand drive. Don't expect to pay Asian prices in Vanuatu, think Australian prices and you won't be shocked, some things are more expensive like petrol. We would like to thank Sally, The Manager and her staff especially Fred for making our stay at Benjor a great one. We enjoyed the Chat with you Sally and the guests in room 12. We would definately return to stay at Benjor some time in the future.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jeff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014

Just back from a fabulous week at Benjor Beach Club. Thanks to an excellent special rate (January is low season) I had an ocean-view villa to spread out and relax in peace and quiet. The staff here are exceptional, friendly and knowledgeable and eager to help you explore their beautiful island. True, there are some maintenance issues that if resolved would have improved my experience, such as the broken lock on the screen door to the deck that meant I couldn't leave the glass door open at night to catch the breezes, but overall this is a gorgeous place to use as a base for seeing Efate. The food in the restaurant is not cheap by Port Vila standards, but it is very good; I had some of the best osso bucco I've ever eaten. In fact all the beef dishes were outstanding (the locally produced beef is justly famous). And the coffee is great.

There isn't really a swimming beach, though you can snorkel at high tide and the reef is quite nice. You will need reef shoes or fins; between the broken coral and volcanic rock, they're essential. But there are plenty of gorgeous spots overlooking the bay to lie in the sun or shade and just relax. The hotel grounds are beautiful, lush and green and a treat to walk around.

The location is a 15-20 minute drive out of town, but transport is easy to arrange and the multitude of local mini-buses means there's always a way to get back.

Overall, I'd recommend Benjor if you're looking for an unpretentious place where you can relax, lie in the sun and soak up the fabulousness that is Vanuatu.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sonia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

We were looking to run away for Christmas and Bejor was the perfect escape.
This is not a flashy resort with kids everywhere and a swim up bar, it is more like a private beach retreat.
Our villa faced the water and was tucked away surrounded by lovely gardens and coconut trees.
We mostly relaxed and read by the pool or watched DVDs we bought with us (recommended as there is no TV) but I got in a few dives and we had a few trips into Port Vila.
You can snorkel right out front of the resort but the staff at reception can organise a wide variety of activities.

Get them to fill you in on transport. You can get a bus to Port Vila for $2 au but getting back can cost you more. There is a bus stop in town, you have a better chance there and negotiate the price before you get in.

Food was great in the restaurant , included breakfast was a little light on and we upgraded on a couple of days (Loved the French toast, bacon and banana )
Staff were fantastic nothing was too much trouble.

If you want to be in the middle of the hub bub this is not for you but if you want a simple relaxing unpretentious break with access to adventure if you want it at a budget price Benjor is " number one"

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Auntymargs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Me, my two sisters and our partners were upgraded to the 5 bedroom Villa at Benjor. The resort has a lot of potential, it is situated on a beautiful beach front but unfortunately the service and amenities are not well kept up to date. My parents stayed in the private villa but I will let them make their own review. In the 5 bedroom villa we had the following issues; 2 (one in the dining area) of the fans were broken, moving only at a very slow speed and making the house was very hot in these areas; the TV broke during our stay and was fixed 3 days after the complaint was made; their was no hot water the vast majority of the time in the en suite and only a couple of minutes in the main room and the water was either boiling hot or cold; the oven was dangerous, one of the knobs was broken and the trays inside sat angled so they would slide towards you when you open the door (this is just downright dangerous and should have been fixed even though we had a free upgrade); there was hardly any cooking equipment (we tried to make Nachos one night and it took forever as we had to improvise); the washing machine was broken and; there were holders for smoke detectors but no smoke detectors.

In addition the pool needed a very good clean by the 7th day we were there.

Although we got a free upgrade to this villa I would expected that most of these things would be working in the house especially things regarding safety seeing you can pay to stay in this house. On the surface the house looked lovely and inviting but I think the owners and managers need to take a closer look at their facilities. I understand that we went over christmas/new years and it may have been hard to get someone to fix stuff, but it all should have been done before.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bjh953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

The 5 of us had a meal here as we were staying only 3 km's down the road. The menu looked very good and the location excellent. Prices a little high but we wanted a night out.
My wife and I ordered Deep Sea fish in coconut,the kids had fish & chips and my sister steak. My fish in coconut was tough and had little to no flavor, I ended up eating the kids Fish & Chips, could have been frozen fish. The souffle looked really nice and we all had that for desert. Have to say average and not 100% cooked. Told the staff on duty who reported it back to the Chef.
Paying the bill was an interesting experience as the EFTPOS machine was down and my card could not be processed manually.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GriffinFamily4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Vila hotels
0.4 mi away
Island Magic Resort
Island Magic Resort
#19 of 47 in Port Vila
170 reviews
7.3 mi away
Tropicana Lagoon Apartments Resort
6.3 mi away
The Melanesian Port Vila
The Melanesian Port Vila
#25 of 47 in Port Vila
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
CoCo Beach Resort
CoCo Beach Resort
#24 of 47 in Port Vila
205 reviews
5.2 mi away
Fatumaru Lodge
Fatumaru Lodge
#8 of 47 in Port Vila
404 reviews
5.5 mi away
Traveller's Budget Motel
Traveller's Budget Motel
#11 of 47 in Port Vila
390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Benjor Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Benjor Beach Club

Address: Devils Point Road, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu
Location: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Port Vila
#15 Romantic Hotel in Port Vila
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Port Vila
Price Range: $64 - $117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Benjor Beach Club 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lovely boutique 3.5 star resort located 15 mins from Port Vila and 10 minutes from the International Airport, on 23 acres of absolute oceanfront, all Villas with ocean views, fabulous restaurant and wedding chapel, simply delightful. Attractions within 5 mins from Benjor include kayaking and snorkelling tours, diving, horseriding, zorbing, Firedancing, Jungle Zipline, International Golf Course, Botanical Gardens and the world famous Cascades Waterfalls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Benjor Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Benjor Beach Club Hotel Port Vila
Benjor Beach Hotel
Benjor Beach Resort
Benjor Beach Club Vanuatu/Port Vila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing