We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT !”
Review of Benjor Beach Club

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Benjor Beach Club
Ranked #26 of 47 Hotels in Port Vila
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“GREAT !”
Reviewed July 20, 2012

Hullo - hullo...

Port Vila travellers..

We had been fortunate enough to have found a way to travel to Port Vila, Vanuatu.

We were welcomed by Allan and Rebecca on Arrival, who made our stay feel like we were One in a Miillion.

We love our stylish relax time, and so simply, they ensured that we would see amazing panoramic views of the ocean, coupled with clear Stars above, makes it Simply a breathtaking experience !!

The Best for us was and MOST IMPORTANTLY THE FOOD ~ !!!
... Well, THE Best Menu to Eat through !
( We did and thought WOW ! ! ! Wish we could go Again , Easily !

Especially for Great Seafood ! Atmosphere & the Vibe was really Magic !

The Hospitality shown to us was absolutely 2nd to None !

On our last day, we were enjoying Brunch on the Balcony, hearing the Waves breaking on the Reefs and that Beautiful, Genuine, Natural laughter of the Staff enjoying their workplace.
Smiles all round. That's something very memorable about a Resort.

Thank you Allan & Rebbeca for all the best Chef's specials -

We will be back !

Ale, Tank yu Tumas.

Alexai Wild

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alexai W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    205
    93
    29
    20
    7
See reviews for
97
152
15
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Coffs Harbour, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2012

I had no preconceived ideas so went with an open mind. The staff at the hotel were so friendly and welcoming nothing was too much trouble. The local staff could not do enough for you. Alan & Rebecca (managers)were attentive and full of information to ensure you got the most out of your stay. The meals in the restaurant were varied and always beautifully cooked and presented. There is enough to see and do and a lovely location for R&R if that's what you want, but fun to get out and about too and experience some local colour. Thank you I will be back!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lesley P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nowra Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Just arrived back from a fantastic week at benjor.We travelled as a family of seven.The staff at benjor are absolutely amazing always ready to help and service with a smile nothing was to much trouble.We had a local driver Saki while we were there who took us everywhere we wanted to go for very reasonable prices.We stayed in the chiefs villa which was huge.a few negatives the hot water was a bit hit and miss also t.v didn't work but we had two children with us who didn't miss t.v as there was so many other things to do we fell into bed of a night exhausted.The restaurant at Benjor is fantastic ,the coconut crab is to die for.Would highly recommend as a place to stay we can't wait to go back.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Lynette N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 1, 2012

Myself and my partner just got back from Benjor yesterday, we were very happy with the resort, i had read reviews earlier which I found helpful was the fact that there were ants around so we bought bug spray and it is definently not like a resort type set up although it is lovely in the bar and restaurant when it is sunny. The only 2 things we found was that they kept running out of things on the menu, such as on the cocktail menu they didnt have ouzo the whole week we were there or tomatoes, they also ran out of prawns which was very disapointing, they also said they ran out of hot chips but they soon after found some. And the coral paths look good are not overly practical. The only other thing was that it is a long was down a very very bumpy road which is not the fault of the hotel in any way but just thought I would add it in.
The staff were fantastic in every aspect, every meal we ate no-matter where we ate in Port Vila was spectacular, and there is also just so much to do in port vila and we will be going back for sure, we cant wait.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamesd1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2012

Upon arrival at the hotel we were given a relay through into the island and various activities available to us, as well as how things are done, the bus' and island time over a fruit drink. After this introduction we were given our keys and one of the staff showed us where things were (the pool and the like) whilst walking us to our room.
We get in, almost immediatly realise there is no air con. There is no air con at this hotel. Maybe it was our mistake for assuming that there would be one - needless to say after this experience there is no way I am getting caught out again. It is hot. There is one ceiling fan. The ceiling is very high. Oh well. Our mistake. The fan is literally not doing anything, it is clearly moving but neither I nor my partner can feel anything. Our holiday is not about a fan so we head out and order a bus to come pick us up as we want to go into town and exchange money.
My partner asks about where would be a good place to eat in town for dinner. We're given a restaurant and are feeling optimistic. Then the wait begins. The bus takes about an hour and a half to reach us. By this point we realise that the exchange place is most definitely closed and as such the hotel lends us money so we can enjoy dinner and pay it back tomorrow.
We get dropped off at town - it's only a 15-20 minute drive away, and tell the bus when we would like to be picked up. They leave and we get to the restaurant and, hey, it's closed. It would have been nice to know that it wouldn't have been open when we were asking about places to eat...

I wake up after the first night and all I can hear is this hammering. I wonder why someone would be working so close to our room and why so early. Soon it becomes apparent it's actually the ceiling fan. On every rotation the thing is making this extremely loud clanking noise, like a hammer, and it looks like it might spin off and fall. We notify the staff and are told it will be fixed and get on with our day.
When we get back to the hotel the fan appears to be fixed and is no longer making the excruciating hammering noise. Unfortunately this does not last long.

A thing to note about this resort is that the pathways are covered with dead coral. This makes it totally impossible for you to walk barefooted. Very attractive but completely painful. They also do not clean the rooms everyday so if you expect to come back to the room to find it spotless you may be very disappointed. This was not an issue for us. The room service was great. We made requests of all sorts and they always provided, even if it was not listed.

Props where props are deserved, the Benjor Beach Club has extremely friendly and lovely staff. And we did feel very much like we were 'alone'.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Spiffle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Narrabri, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2012

I have just experienced one of the most unbelievable weeks of my life, thanks to the managers and staff of Benjor. Upon arrival at Benjor we were greeted with a beautiful fruit punch made from fruit grown on the resort and that set the tone for the whole of our stay. Rebecca and Alan, the managers go out of their way to ensure that your stay will be perfection, they are naturally warm and caring, highly professional and great fun to be with, their staff are delightful. If for some reason either Rebecca are Alan are not there and I might add this does not happen very often, then there are always senior staff in the form of Fred or Noelene to look after you, nothing and I mean nothing is to much trouble. Our villa's for a three star establishment were very good, they are very clean and well presented. Mine was very large with a most comfortable bed, a kitchenette area with microwave, fridge, toaster and a small bench top element that you could cook on, there were more than sufficient eating utensils, glasses, including wine glasses and crockery. Clean teatowels and washing up liquid were also provided. The villa had a built in wardrobe complete with hangers, a comfortable lounge, an extra single bed, a small dining table and chairs and a delightful bathroom with a spa shower combination. A hair dryer was provided as well as shower and hand washing lotion. The villa's have private verandahs with table and chairs and mine overlooked the beach, it was idyllic, I could wake every morning to the sound of the ocean and watch the day dawn and the sea slowly lap the coral beach. The grounds are extensive and extremely well cared for by Alan and his staff and available to walk around at any time. The reception area houses Rebecca's office so she is very easy to access, the bar and restaurant. The meals are exceptional, beautifully prepared and delightfully presented and very reasonable priced. All the staff are charming, gentle happy people and the repore between the staff and management is a delight to see, I say a warm thank you to them, especially Noelene for the wonderful time I had at Benjor. Vanuatu itself has a very relaxed lifestyle, the islanders are friendly and so happy, the island produces an abundance of food, it is green and lush and has some beautiful tourist spots to visit. Port Vila has some lovely shops, eating places and a great market where you can purchase locally made goods. There is a vegetable market which is an absolute must to visit. The lifestyle of Benjor compliments the lifestyle of Vanuatu, it seems slow and easy but everything gets done, I certainly had no complaints and I really believe that anyone who can think negitively about Benjor must be impossible to please. Am I going back, YES I MOST DEFINATELY AM.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LornaRoan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland NZ
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2012

We spent 7 days at Benjor and I think I would have been more relaxed staying home!! Within a hr of entering our unit we had to move as the toilet packed up.The 2nd unit was alittle better as it had 2 ceiling fans,after we had moved the bed into the middle of the room we could semi sleep at night.I sort of got used to having the room crawl with ants,just means you can leave NOTHING out at all,not even for 1/2hr.The way the rooms are set up is alittle strange,toaster but no plates or knifes,spoons etc.Are you supposed to provide your own??
Our stay at Benjor was going to to become even more fustrating as after 2 days in the 2nd room we had to move again as this time the hot water packed up!! That affected 2 units.
So we had started at the middle,moved to the front then finally down to the back.!!
All the lizards didnt worry me but the large RAT in the room certainly did.( I was told this was common,after all,you are staying in a 3rd world country!!) I DONT EXPECT RATS AT ALL. That was the final straw for me,no phone to ring reception at 8.30pm at night,long trek up there,it was finally sorted and caught only because they had 1 upset lady on their hands. 1 of the waiters,Steven was roped in to catch it,my rat catcher.
Regarding the managers,dont expect to see them around in the afternoons,as its not uncommon for them to have a sleep!! Wouldnt mind their job,sleep and get paid doing it. I found the Manager Rebecca fairly caring,her husband,Alan extremely arrogant!! He needs to think before opening his mouth. The staff there made the place bearable,they are bright,friendly & loving and have a gorgeous sense of humour :) and I will miss them,they certainly can run the place better than managers!! The meals were nice,and if you wanted it cooked a certain way,it was never a problem.Oh and they do the meanest fruit punch,(could live on that)
The rooms were tired,in 1 room I found the plates were plastic and extremely cut up,not good for health reasons,glass,china should be used.
There is very little beach that you can walk along,its all broken coral,as so are the paths around the villas.
The linen was average,the beds like hard boards!!
We would go back to Vanuatu in a heartbeat,and only back to Benjor to see the staff,never stay there again,and not recommend it.

Room Tip: ask where the fan is located in the room,it really makes a diffence.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Vila hotels
0.4 mi away
Island Magic Resort
Island Magic Resort
#18 of 47 in Port Vila
169 reviews
6.3 mi away
The Melanesian Port Vila
The Melanesian Port Vila
#24 of 47 in Port Vila
299 reviews
5.5 mi away
Traveller's Budget Motel
Traveller's Budget Motel
#11 of 47 in Port Vila
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Fatumaru Lodge
Fatumaru Lodge
#8 of 47 in Port Vila
402 reviews
6.3 mi away
Coconut Palms Resort
Coconut Palms Resort
#33 of 47 in Port Vila
324 reviews
5.6 mi away
Angelfish Cove Villas
Angelfish Cove Villas
#28 of 47 in Port Vila
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Benjor Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Benjor Beach Club

Property: Benjor Beach Club
Address: Devils Point Road, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu
Location: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Port Vila
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Port Vila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Benjor Beach Club 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lovely boutique 3.5 star resort located 15 mins from Port Vila and 10 minutes from the International Airport, on 23 acres of absolute oceanfront, all Villas with ocean views, fabulous restaurant and wedding chapel, simply delightful. Attractions within 5 mins from Benjor include kayaking and snorkelling tours, diving, horseriding, zorbing, Firedancing, Jungle Zipline, International Golf Course, Botanical Gardens and the world famous Cascades Waterfalls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Benjor Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Benjor Beach Club Hotel Port Vila
Benjor Beach Hotel
Benjor Beach Resort
Benjor Beach Club Vanuatu/Port Vila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing