We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rest, privacy, comfort and great snorkelling”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Paradise Cove Resort
Ranked #1 of 47 Hotels in Port Vila
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Rest, privacy, comfort and great snorkelling”
Reviewed January 14, 2012

My wife and I just soaked up six most peaceful days in Vanuatu at Paradise Cove Resort. We were looking for comfort, quiet, privacy, warmth, good food, good snorkelling and friendly but not intrusive staff. We got the lot and more. The resort has just 10 bungalows and caters to a maximum of 30 guests. It is about a15-20 minute ride from Port Vila, the main town which I found unimpressive and a little third worldish but the resort itself was embedded in lush jungle foliage and fronts onto a huge bay which itself opens to the ocean. The snorkelling right in front of the resort is great and if you need a change of scenery just walk for 15 minutes to Honeymoon Bay for an alternative experience on a long sandy beach. Ask any of the staff and they'll clue you in to what is good.
The managers, Belinda and Andrew, hinted that Vanuatan beef was the great and it was. I had some of the best steak I can remember. The fish was superb too. For my vegetarian wife the choices were a little more limited but their salads were excellent and the pizza pastry had a uniqueness to it. I'd go back in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: All bungalows have garden locations. A couple might get a glimpse of water but none have direct wate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Andrew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

539 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    461
    60
    6
    6
    6
See reviews for
202
245
12
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2012

If you are looking for a beautiful setting, peace and quiet just to do nothing, then this is an amazing place.
Set 25 minutes drive from Port Vila only 10 bungalows are nestled in stunning grounds.
The staff are outstanding and nothing is too much trouble. We spend an "exhausting" morning snorkelling, lazying and reading in the shady beach area, so I walked up to the restaurant (20m away) to order lunch, only to be asked if we would like it served down where we were already lying on the lounge chairs.
The Bar and Restaurant is on site, overlooking the water, while not cheap, has an extensive menu of delicious food making it possible to dine each night for a week long stay. Bungalows are clean and comfortable with ceiling fans but perhaps just a little tired.
The Jetty makes access to snorkelling so easy - no current or tide, with so much to see and so close - Yes, we actually did find Nemo!
The road to the resort makes this not recommended as a place to base yourself to see other areas of the island or frequent trips into Port Vila - 20 minutes of under 10km/h trying navigate around many and sometimes large potholes - but having visited the Port Vila town once seemed enough for us. Having said this, there are lots of day trips available to be booked at the resort. The Waterfalls are lovely but for us the Blue Pools was OK. There is a sandy beach about 15 minutes walk from the resort ... well worth the visit.

Room Tip: Rooms closer to the the Beach may get a little more breeze as the gardens are so lush
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MABris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2011

The hosts and staff at this small resort can't be faulted, and the setting is excellent too. I had read about the good snorkelling prior to our visit, and the easy access to the reef and variety of fish species were as expected, including a small white tip reef shark. For novice snorkellers there would not be a better place to experience the underwater world for the first time, with no stong currents or large tides.
The road from Port Vila however is a challenge to cyclists and drivers with many large potholes: this deterred is from making the short journey into town more than once a day.
The room was spotlessly clean but was obviously a liitle "tired" with a small bathroom and ill-fitting patio doors'
My wife described Paradise Cove a s a "home from home". No higher praise........

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Lostwallet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
202 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2011

My husband and I (late 50s), along with our daughter in her late 20s, stayed at Paradise Cove Resort for 5 days. We chose this resort after looking at reviews on Trip Advisor, and we weren't disappointed. There are ten units in the resort, set out as five semi-detached villas in tropical gardens. While you can't see the sea from your villa, the gardens are beautifully maintained, and your balcony comprises deck chairs and a hammock. On the beachfront, there are deck chairs and dining facilities, along with a jetty from which to launch yourself for snorkelling or kayaking (free of charge). When you visit a foreign country, I feel it is special to stay in a resort that celebrates the local culture, as Paradise Cove does. Rather than a bland, modren villa that could be anywhere in the world, the units have thatched roofs; a high stud; timber beams, posts and floors; and flowers in every room. For visitors who haven't been to tropical countries before, you must bear in mind that you will share the environment with bugs and insects - that goes with the territory, and you shouldn't be alarmed. We saw few bugs while there, so I imagine the resort sprays to keep them at bay. Paradise Cove sits almost out on its own, which is both a blessing and a nuisnace. The blessing is the peace and solitude; the nuisance is the terribly pot-holed, dirt road for half the journey from the airport and Port Vila township. Personally, we found the road tolerable for the peace. The units are set back from the road, and with only one resort beyond Paradise Cove, there was little traffic. The staff was freindly and helpful, and the owners, Andrew and Belinda, keen to ensure we had the holiday we wanted. We had dinner at the on-site restaurant on our first night, but while the food was nicely presented and tasty, it was over-priced. Having said that tough, we felt all restaurants in Port Vila were too expensive, and the Paradise Cove meals were probably in line with that. A note about transport: when you arrive at Port Vila airport, as you come through the arrival doors into the terminal, look for a sign on your left that gives the bus fares you should expect to pay to each resort. To Paradise Cove the sign states 3600 vatu. A bus is a van with a 'B' on its number plate, and 3600 is for the entire van no matter how many occupants. While bartering is not part of Vanuatu's culture, there is fierce competition for customers, so when you go outside the terminal you will be pounced upon. You can stick to the printed 3600 vatu at that stage, but because Paradise Cove is some distance away, along a poor road, we found we were often asked to pay extra if we went into town. Usually the bus fare is 150 vatu anywhere, but we were asked for 200, which we felt was fair enough given the road and the time it takes to negoitate it. Remember, this is a poor country. When we are in these places, we like to support the local community. While we don't like to be ripped off, we will help the people who are willing to help us.

Room Tip: The villas number from the beach back to the road. Number 1 is nearer the beach, while number ten is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Cadarnle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2011

Enjoyed 8 wonderful days, great food, snorkelling, private jetty makes water access so easy. Snorkelling was amazing, and watching ships and boats passing by from lounges, very relaxing. My Birthday dinner, staff set up the table, chairs, potted ferns, lamps & candles on the jetty. Nothing was too much trouble, Managers, barman, table attendants, cleaners & gardeners, all were welcoming, happy, helpful and efficient. Bungalow was great, self catering which we did for lunches and some dinners after trips to market in town. Steaks and fish in restaurant were brilliant, happy hour was happy!. Can't speak highly enough of this place and will return. No noisy parties or air conditioners, fans in lounge and bedroom were good. Our own patio with lounges, hammock and table made staying 'home' so attractive. The gardens are lovely, and frame the thatched bungalows beautifully.

Room Tip: All bungalows set so nicely in the gardens, plenty of low lighting for walking home after dinner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank acford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaraPiera, Manager at Paradise Cove Resort, responded to this review, November 24, 2011
Thanks so much for your wonderful response... you arrived as guests and left as a friends. We all look forward to welcoming you back one day; hopefully in the not to distant future. Lukim yu... from all the Paradise Cove Resort family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cairns
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2011

We stayed here for 7 nights in November for about the third time. We find the bungalows with their high ceilings quite cool , with the assistance sometimes of the overhead fans, and the bed was very comfortable which is important to me with some disc trouble. We come from Cairns, but even so we found the local temp quite cool in November and I was wearing a pullover most evenings. I love the snorkelling here with all the Nemos, got a super shot of a big moray gaping at me, I think because he saw his reflection in the camera front, a silver Olympus Tough, also a good shot of a large octopus. The coral in front of the fish trap is very good and there is a lot of nice top coral along the beach. I found the mattress better than the average hotel, better than the Pegasus on Nudgee Road which is our airport motel.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tim c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaraPiera, Manager at Paradise Cove Resort, responded to this review, November 15, 2011
Thanks so much Tim for the wonderful review... you definitely managed to capture the magic of Paradise Cove Resort with those fantastic underwater photos; if you have any more feel free to shoot them over! FABULOUS STUFF. Look forward to welcoming you back here; I'm sure your underwater friends including that Moray Eel will be waiting! Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2011

This is our third visit to Paradise Cove, each time with other family members, and each time more deeply satisfying. The small scale of the resort creates an intimate and tranquil atmosphere. The beguiling layout of the main path and gardens draw you in from the entrance, past the individual bungalows, and down towards the private beach. The gardens are meticulously kept. Breakfast in the Sunset Hut at the water’s edge is charming. Everything in Paradise Cove encourages you to slow down, to relax, to chat with fellow-guests, to snorkel or kayak, to laze by the beach or pool, to read or sleep, or to have a drink and snack in the Lakamal or traditional open-sided restaurant and bar. As noted by others, the dinners are fabulous, varied, and worth dressing up for if you feel inclined.
While pleasantly far away from the noise and bustle of Port Vila, transport is easily arranged, tours will pick you up from the resort, and local buses or taxis return you at the end of your adventure. The potholed road through Pango village surprises one at first, but then becomes part of the quaintness of being in Paradise Cove. One story has it that the village chief deliberately keeps the road that way, in order to slow down traffic and keep children safe. Informal walks in the neighbourhood are available, including one to Honeymoon Beach, and next door to Paradise Cove one can visit Jojo’s Boutique, where Jo creates one-off fashion and leisure garments.
The most heart-warming aspect of being in Paradise Cove for us has to do with the people. The locals or ni-Vanuatu are invariably friendly and welcoming, waving at you as you drive past. In the welcome absence of tipping in Vanuatu, such friendliness comes from the heart. The resort staff, many of whom have been there for years, are especially warm in their hospitality and attentiveness to us visitors, as in the artistic decoration of our bungalow with daily fresh flowers. We have personally got to know them and their families over successive visits, enjoy hugs with them, exchange gifts of goodwill, and leave feeling like honoured members of their extended family. Most memorable this year was getting to know Andrew and Belinda, the managers. Even though several of their staff had been involved in a serious road accident the week before, they related to us with genuine warmth and caring right from our arrival. We felt like friends rather than guests, and their dedication to the wellbeing of all in Paradise Cove leaves us sad that next year’s visit is such a long way off.

Room Tip: All bungalows have similar facilities, have relative privacy, and are surrounded by attractve garden...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hans E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaraPiera, Manager at Paradise Cove Resort, responded to this review, November 24, 2011
Paradise Cove Resort management and staff as you know are one big VERY happy family; having your family come stay just extends that fabulous atmosphere. Thank you lovely people for truly appreciating what it is we do here. ALL our staff miss you and speak of you often. ps: Miriam says thanks... she received the photos!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Vila hotels
13.3 mi away
The Havannah, Vanuatu
The Havannah, Vanuatu
#3 of 47 in Port Vila
538 reviews
2.1 mi away
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
#12 of 47 in Port Vila
1,448 reviews
3.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
#15 of 47 in Port Vila
652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Aquana Beach Resort
Aquana Beach Resort
#10 of 47 in Port Vila
293 reviews
2.6 mi away
Iririki Island Resort & Spa
1.4 mi away
Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradise Cove Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradise Cove Resort

Property: Paradise Cove Resort
Address: Paradise Cove | Pango, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu
Phone Number:
Location: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Port Vila
#1 Luxury Hotel in Port Vila
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Port Vila
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Port Vila
#3 Romantic Hotel in Port Vila
#6 Business Hotel in Port Vila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Paradise Cove Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This private and intimate small resort is located 15 minutes from downtown Port Vila. It offers 10 self contained One and Two Bedroom villas in a well established tropical garden by the ocean. The beautiful reef offers great snorkeling and diving opportunities with an easy access from the private beach and jetty. Under an iconic traditional roof celebrating the Melanesian architecture, the restaurant serves the best fresh local ingredients prepared with a Mediterranean touch. With a relaxed atmosphere Paradise Cove Resort provides a genuine tropical island holiday. Please note that the access by boat to our private jetty is strictly limited. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Paradise Cove Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradise Cove Hotel Port Vila
Paradise Cove Port Vila
Paradise Cove Resort Vanuatu/Port Vila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing