We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Room with a View
Nearby Hotels
The Melanesian Port Vila(Port Vila)(Great Value!)
$108
$84
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Erakor Island Resort & Spa(Port Vila)(Great Value!)
$157
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
Grand Hotel And Casino(Port Vila)(Great Value!)
$133
$111
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Nasama Resort(Port Vila)(Great Value!)
$116
$109
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu(Port Vila)(Great Value!)
$156
$151
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
$62
$60
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu(Port Vila)(Great Value!)
$184
$177
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Moorings Hotel(Port Vila)(Great Value!)
$86
$81
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$69
$54
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
$247
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (37)
Filter reviews
37 results
Traveler rating
7
17
9
2
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
7
17
9
2
2
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 37 reviews
Reviewed November 4, 2013

Written in June 2013 during our stay; submitted November 2013

Room with a View is a great choice for budget accommodation in Port Vila. At a standard rate of no more than about 5,000VT/night, it is one of the least expensive accommodations in Port Vila. As a budget motel, you should not expect 5-star luxury. The room looks a little tired and worn but it is clean, functional, comfortable, and self-catering room - with an ensuite.

Our room had a double and a single bed, a 2-burner gas stove, a small fridge, eating and cooking utensils, and kitchen sink. The ensuite bathroom has a gas-fired hot water heater that allows for a very welcome hot shower (don't expect the kind of water pressure you get back home; you're not at home), a sink, and flush toilet. There was also an overhead fan and a standing fan. We visited in June and found the room very comfortable with the fans; the only time we found things a bit hot and sticky were after a couple of unseasonably hot days when the temperatures were high and the humidity near 100%.

The guest rooms are all on the second floor of a grand old house and have individual entries onto a common breezeway. There is a large shared balcony with a spectacular view over the bay. There are tables and chairs on this verandah where you can take your meals, including a very nice breakfast served as part of the room rate (a generous serving of tropical fruits, an egg, and a pastry, plus toast and coffee). There are also a number of chaise longues where you can stretch out to read a book in the shade of morning or the growing sun of afternoon. There are dry-lines out back of the house where you can hang things to dry. At one end of the verandah, you can access the free wifi, but be prepared for the fact that service is very very slow on the island.

The accommodation is about a 10-minute walk from the main town centre. There is a nearby dairy where you can find basic groceries. A large Au Bon Marche grocery store is beside a large open-air market about a 20-minute walk from the accommodation. It's a pleasant walk along the waterfront to get to the main town but you can also hop a bus for about 150VT if you prefer not to walk.

Downtown is a flagship Digicel store where you can purchase a Tourist Sim for your unlocked 3G phone for 1,000VT; the SIM card itself is free - the 1,000VT is immediately credited to your account. You can purchase additional top-up cards in increments as small as 500VT.

The owner speaks English as a second language and so is not well-positioned to arrange tours for you. But with a free tourist SIM card from the nearby Digicel and 1,000VT credit, the wifi available at the room, and a wide selection of brochures, you should have no difficulties organizing activities for yourself. Many activities can also be arranged in person in town centre.

Electric is 240-Volt with plugs similar to NZ/Aus.

Port Vila is a hopping little city with lots of traffic, quite substantial air pollution (especially given the small size of the city), and many people out having a good time on a Friday and Saturday night. You should expect some traffic noise most days of the week, poor air quality especially on overcast days, and the odd rooster crowing at any hour of the day or (more often) night. Friday and Saturday nights can be a bit rowdy and you should be prepared for a disturbed sleep on these nights. These characteristics are aspects of Port Vila and will be encountered regardless of where you stay in or near the town centre.

We enjoyed our stay at Room with a View. We knew that we'd booked budget accommodations and geared our expectations accordingly. We had a very enjoyable stay and would not hesitate to stay again, given the opportunity.

Room Tip: If you're bothered by traffic noise, request a room near the back. But if you like the views and feeling like you're part of the life of the city, ask for a room near the front and enjoy the activity below!
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank IntentToTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Justine the owner is a kind and helpful woman. I left a jacket in the room and she drove after us to the airport. iJustine seems to be more concerned with providing a service than making a profit. The accommodation in the room is basic, but who spends time in the room? The situation is perfect, convenient for catching buses around the island and the tour guides all know where to collect you from. As has been said, if you want more, pay more. It is excellent value for money. The place seems to draw interesting and adventuress people.

Room Tip: if you want a bed to sleep in, a shower and somewhere convenient for a very low cost, this is the place for you.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dustybernie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Lovely breakfast, flaky croissant,fresh fruit, scrambled egg,toast fresh coffee on the spacious deck with wide views over the harbour was the highlight of our stay at Room with a View.
Justine, the owner was really helpful , getting up to secure us a Taxi at 5am for an early flight.
Overall this place was great value for the money.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Tina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

The place and the lady that runs it, is quite quirky, but this made us smile. She also kindly looked after our bags for a few days for no extra cost.

Location
Close to town - 5-10 min walk.

Rooms
Stayed in two different rooms. The balcony has lovely views and the room at the end off the balcony was the nicer of the two rooms. The rooms had a small kitchenette, fan, mossie net, ensuite bathroom. The bathrooms were where the place was most 'tired' but I think they would have been lovely in their day.

The rooms were clean though and when we were missing items - a towel and a glass - we asked and it wasn't any trouble for them to be found.

Breakfast
Breakfast was nice, although served quite late - which I suppose would suit lots of people particularly when they're on holiday. We had eggs, a croissant and fruit, toast and jams, coffee/tea and orange juice. It was part self service and part bought to your table on the balcony.

Value
Good value for money at 5000 vatu per night including breakfast.

Sleep quality
I didn't sleep too well as there was noise from the road and from people walking past - we had been advised of this. Make sure you take good ear plugs.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bean1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2013

We stayed here a couple of times on our trip around Vanuatu. We didn’t like Port Vila that much, so we just used it as a base to get to the other islands. We stayed in two different rooms at Room With a View. They were both quite basic, dark, and a bit tired, and the area round the kitchenette smelt a bit damp. The noise from the road could also be quite loud in the day, but was much quieter at night. The owner warned us about it and offered us ear plugs, but we didn’t need them. On the plus side, they had good breakfasts (lots of local fresh fruit, bread, eggs and coffee), the rooms were clean and cheap compared to similar places in Port Vila, and the veranda overlooking the sea was really nice to relax on. The wi-fi was also good on the veranda. If you need a good value place to stay for a night or two, Room With a View isn’t bad.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LeahAndTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews