We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I wouldn''t stay there again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Coconut Palms Resort
Ranked #33 of 47 Hotels in Port Vila
Brisbane. Australia
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“I wouldn''t stay there again”
Reviewed June 23, 2009

I did a lot of research into this Hotel before we left, and booked a room with private facilities for 1 week. I knew it was going to be small, but thought we could live with that, and the location seemed ideal and we didn't intend to spend much time in the room anyway. We had a package deal with free internet access and a $100.00 room Credit. It took a lot of persuasion to be given the free internet access as the lad on the desk said we were not in the room I told him we were in as he said no one was tin that room. I showed him our Room key with the number on it and he still said we were not there so could not get it. I saw someone else the next day and was given the access, but not very happily.
We checked out on a Saturday, and the girl behind the desk said she didnt know about the room credit, even though it was on the voucher previously given, so we didnt get that. Yes, our room was small, but not as bad as I anticipated. Yes, we had a private bathroom, but I used the toilet outside the room in the corridor because ours was filthy. I felt sick everytime I went in there. The shower was also dirty, with mould all through the grouting. The bathroom flooded everytime you had a shower. The Air Conditioning worked and the fan as well and the bed was very comfortable. The room was serviced each day, but not well, and it wasnt until the last day we received soap or milk. Every time we asked reception for some information, no one every knew anything. The food was excellent but quite expensive, as is most of Port Vila, and the servings were so small, we had to have dessert and was still hungry. We got 3 very small pieces of meat smaller than a cocktail frankfurt, 3 pieces of beans, 4 pieces of carrot and a couple of small pieces of capsicum for about $22 AUD. LOVED the coffee. Best we have every tasted and the breakfast was great. All in all, I wouldnt go back there, but probably wouldnt go back to Port Vila as I thought it was old, poor, dirty and the most expensive place I have been. Definately not value for money. The markets, were a rip off, paying $6 for a fridge magnet, when we found one for $2.50 at a shop in town.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gloria1610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoconutPalmsResort, Manager at Coconut Palms Resort, responded to this review, August 1, 2016
Dear Valued guest

We are sorry for the delayed response to your review.

We have had new management in place since March 2015, we have spent the last 15 months lifting all aspects and features of the hotel, this included training, reservations and check in processes.

If there is any aspect of your review which has not been rectified and you would like to discuss it in further detail, please don't hesitate to contact me directly at elliot@coconutpalms.vu.

If you are planning another trip, check out our website for the best rates online.

Many thanks

Elliot Agius
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    113
    59
    37
    19
See reviews for
41
107
63
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2009

My partner and I stayed at Coconut Palms for 10 days and nights recently, whilst on a photographic "safari" on Efate Island (the main island). The rooms are quite diverse - from real budget accommodation to absolutely beautiful "Deluxe" apartments in a stand-alone wing overlooking the gardens. Bathroom, kitchenette, spacious bed/living room, ceiling fan, aircon, tv, refrigerator, microwave, etc. And seriously good quality beds! The room was serviced with finesse ever morning. We were very impressed with the value for money - in fact, it was a bargain. Staff are as friendly as all Ni-Vanuatu are and the range of services, including dining is brilliant. I think the more expensive resorts would have a hard time providing anything better than this.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ProDigi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoconutPalmsResort, Manager at Coconut Palms Resort, responded to this review, August 1, 2016
Dear Valued guest

We are sorry for the delayed response to your review.

We have had new management in place since March 2015, we have spent the last 15 months lifting all aspects and features of the hotel, this included training, reservations and check in processes.

If there is any aspect of your review which has not been rectified and you would like to discuss it in further detail, please don't hesitate to contact me directly at elliot@coconutpalms.vu.

If you are planning another trip, check out our website for the best rates online.

Many thanks

Elliot Agius
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2009

We stayed here for a week, and must say the service was excellent. The chef is very good, and w ehad some of our best meals in the hotel itself.Yes, it's basic accomodation with not many frills, but, the staff more than make up for this
It's located well for the main town, and is a 300vatu ride away from most things locally. Don't go here expecting the Sheraton or anything, but, if you are on a budget, and want good food and friendly faces, look no further

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WharfieWolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoconutPalmsResort, Manager at Coconut Palms Resort, responded to this review, August 1, 2016
Dear Valued guest

We are sorry for the delayed response to your review.

We have had new management in place since March 2015, we have spent the last 15 months lifting all aspects and features of the hotel, this included training, reservations and check in processes.

If there is any aspect of your review which has not been rectified and you would like to discuss it in further detail, please don't hesitate to contact me directly at elliot@coconutpalms.vu.

If you are planning another trip, check out our website for the best rates online.

Many thanks

Elliot Agius
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2009

After much research we decided on Coconut Palms due to value for money, I found it was the few places that had air conditioned rooms (the electricity is expensive there so many places don't have them). My brother and me booked an apartment and our friends booked a Superior Orchid Room. The Superior Orchid Room was small but adequate, however they found the A/C a bit too noisy for night time. Our apartment was great. It was a decent size, the A/C worked well, the room was well maintained and there were some cooking facilities but we didn't use them. For both rooms they didn't preconfigure them as twin when we arrived and we had to remind them after checking in. The beds were comfy, they brought a second single bed into the Superior Orchid Room but for the apartment they unfolded the couch bed which was a bit thin. The pool was nice and the garden was well maintained. The restaurant is good for breakfast, but can be slow. We had dinner one night and it was ok, but it was a bit expensive compared with much better places in town and dinner is even slower than breakfast. The bar is good, reasonably priced and a free pool table. The location is quiet and not far to town (5 mins), though there is a very steep set of steps to walk up to get there from the main street. I would certainly return.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oztravman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoconutPalmsResort, Manager at Coconut Palms Resort, responded to this review, August 1, 2016
Dear Valued guest

We are sorry for the delayed response to your review.

We have had new management in place since March 2015, we have spent the last 15 months lifting all aspects and features of the hotel, this included training, reservations and check in processes.

If there is any aspect of your review which has not been rectified and you would like to discuss it in further detail, please don't hesitate to contact me directly at elliot@coconutpalms.vu.

If you are planning another trip, check out our website for the best rates online.

Many thanks

Elliot Agius
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2009

This is the fourth place we have stayed in in Port Vila in the last 18 months. In comparison to Mangoes, The Morrings and Kaiviti Village, we sould consider Coconut Palms to be very good value for money. Accomodation is expensive in Vila anyway. We stayed in the Superior Orchid room - It had its own ensuite - (the only thing I felt let them down hugely was the extremely old bath mat - full of holes and a very brown - supposed to be white) But that is a small complaint. Own microwave and fridge. Complimentary breakfast - it was explained that the continental was completely free, but if we chose anything else then we paid extra for the drinks. We were charged for one breakfast upon leaving, but this was rectified immediately -no questions asked.
The pool area was wonderful with relaxing music playing continuously through out the day.
The airconditioning unit started making an annoying noise half way thru our stay, but this turned out to be a few drips from the upstairs airconditioning unit landing on our airconditioning unti - We rectified this by using our dirty bath mat - placing it on top of our airconditioning unit to carch the drips. Problem solved!
Overall it was quite good value all round

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DalmenyDunedin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoconutPalmsResort, Manager at Coconut Palms Resort, responded to this review, August 1, 2016
Dear Valued guest

We are sorry for the delayed response to your review.

We have had new management in place since March 2015, we have spent the last 15 months lifting all aspects and features of the hotel, this included training, reservations and check in processes.

If there is any aspect of your review which has not been rectified and you would like to discuss it in further detail, please don't hesitate to contact me directly at elliot@coconutpalms.vu.

If you are planning another trip, check out our website for the best rates online.

Many thanks

Elliot Agius
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 13, 2009

When we arrived the receptionist was so good to us we had to be in heaven. We got taken to our room and found it was that small you couldn't swing a cat in there. To keep the room cool, there was a desk fan fixed to the wall. At this point we found out that we had to share a toilet with our neighbours.We had our own shower but the room was shaped like a triangle and limited for space. That night we went to use the shower and there was no hot water. We complained at reception and were told the hot water had been out for the last three days and it would be fixed in the morning. In the meantime, we were told to use the shower of a vacant room. So the next day we went to the receptionist and asked for an upgrade, she was very hesitant and from that day made us feel very unwelcome. I argued the point and the manager stepped in and gave us the room. All good until we had the 50 odd (shaolin kung-fu monks) stay at the resort, they wernt to bad until they came back every morning at about 12.30 - 1.00 am and jumped in the pool making lots of noise. Everyone in the resort complained but the resort manager (Joe) did nothing. the next morning the same thing happened and then they were slamming doors shut. That morning a few of us were having a couple of drinks, they started of doing the same thing so we asked the security guard to ask them to stop. Because a lot of people just had enough. The morning we woke up they had been smoking in the toilets and urinated all over the bowl and floor. By this stage i had enough my self and complained to Joe, all he said was sorry, sorry and done nothing about it. The second last day we were there we had to pay for a bill, we had a closer look at it and we were getting charged for items we had prepaid for in Melbourne. The recptionest wouldn't take no for an answer. We went down to the bank to take money out, came back and found more wrong with the bill. As i started to rip in to her the owner ran around the corner and asked what the matter was, so i finished ripping into him and told him of the problems we had. And Joe didn't say a thing about what happened to the owner so he didn't know anything about what happened till we're about to leave. The owner upgraded our room to the apartment and asked if we could stay longer free of charge and also waved the bill. The rest of the island was fantastic and people there were very friendly.

  • Liked — The dinning staff!
  • Disliked — The rooms, shared facilities, other people spitting in pool and urinating on toliet seat.....
  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank SVTIVC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoconutPalmsResort, Manager at Coconut Palms Resort, responded to this review, August 1, 2016
Dear Valued guest

We are sorry for the delayed response to your review.

We have had new management in place since March 2015, we have spent the last 15 months lifting all aspects and features of the hotel, this included training, reservations and check in processes.

If there is any aspect of your review which has not been rectified and you would like to discuss it in further detail, please don't hesitate to contact me directly at elliot@coconutpalms.vu.

If you are planning another trip, check out our website for the best rates online.

Many thanks

Elliot Agius
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Port Vila hotels

Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2009

We went to Coconut Palms on a package which included all breakfasts, one dinner at the Numbawan Cafe (only 400vt per person), and 3 dinners. We upgraded when we booked, to a Superior Orchid Room because they had private bathroom facilities as opposed to shared.

The Resort is very centrally located albeit at the top of quite a steep hill, but only about 10 minutes walk into town. The Superior Orchid room was adequate, but small, and most overlook the kava bar at the back. On our first night, there were blackouts, our air conditioner started leaking into the room and in the middle of the night the air conditioner went very noisy so we reverted to the fan which was pretty inadequate given the temperature and humidity. We had complained a few times as we had problems, and after a bad night due to the aircon, the very friendly staff transferred us to an apartment for the remainder of our stay. From other people we spoke to, this seems to be pretty common, although I wouldn't count on it.

The pool was great, the staff were great, the food was excellent, the location was very good. We asked other travellers that we met what their accommodation was like, and some of the bigger, more expensive resorts were not spoken of well, so we thought that we probably had the pick of budget accommodation.

The only downside from my point of view was that if I wanted a flat white with my breakfast, it was charged as an extra. Oh yes, if you ask for a cappuccino, expect the chocolate on top to be a thick sprinkling of Milo.

  • Liked — Friendly staff
  • Disliked — Initial problems with aircon
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank rcarlyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoconutPalmsResort, Manager at Coconut Palms Resort, responded to this review, August 1, 2016
Dear Valued guest

We are sorry for the delayed response to your review.

We have had new management in place since March 2015, we have spent the last 15 months lifting all aspects and features of the hotel, this included training, reservations and check in processes.

If there is any aspect of your review which has not been rectified and you would like to discuss it in further detail, please don't hesitate to contact me directly at elliot@coconutpalms.vu.

If you are planning another trip, check out our website for the best rates online.

Many thanks

Elliot Agius
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Vila hotels
1.1 mi away
Moorings Hotel
Moorings Hotel
#29 of 47 in Port Vila
142 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Melanesian Port Vila
The Melanesian Port Vila
#24 of 47 in Port Vila
300 reviews
1.4 mi away
Vila Chaumieres
Vila Chaumieres
#30 of 47 in Port Vila
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Benjor Beach Club
Benjor Beach Club
#28 of 47 in Port Vila
354 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
#15 of 47 in Port Vila
666 reviews
1.4 mi away
Tropicana Lagoon Apartments Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coconut Palms Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coconut Palms Resort

Property: Coconut Palms Resort
Address: Cornwall Street, PO Box 1515, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu
Location: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Port Vila
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Port Vila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Coconut Palms Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Award Wining, Coconut Palms Resort we pride ourselves as "Your Vanuatu Friend" where our happy staff will do everything possible to ensure that you: Stay, Relax & Enjoy all that the resort and beautiful Vanuatu has to offer. We are governed by our mission: "To be the best value resort in Vanuatu where service is not compromised and happy memories are guaranteed." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, Expedia, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Coconut Palms Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coconut Palms Hotel Port Vila
Coconut Palms Resort Vanuatu/Port Vila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing