We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Coconut Palms Resort
Nearby Hotels
Nasama Resort(Port Vila)(Great Value!)
$163
$114
Travelocity
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Melanesian Port Vila(Port Vila)(Great Value!)
$89
$82
Expedia.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Traveller's Budget Motel(Port Vila)(Great Value!)
$65
$63
Priceline
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$230
$225
Expedia.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Fatumaru Lodge(Port Vila)(Great Value!)
$106
$103
Travelocity
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Terraces Boutique Apartments(Port Vila)(Great Value!)
$203
$195
Travelocity
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu(Port Vila)(Great Value!)
$161
$154
Agoda.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Moorings Hotel(Port Vila)(Great Value!)
$86
$83
Priceline
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
CoCo Beach Resort(Port Vila)(Great Value!)
$97
Travelocity
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$71
$59
Expedia.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Reviews (362)
Filter reviews
362 results
Traveler rating
105
126
72
39
20
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
105
126
72
39
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfire showwild pigbudget hotelceiling fanprivate bathroomgreat poolclose to townair conditioningenjoyed my stayfew minutes walkmain towntravel agentgreat holidaytanna coffeeelliotvilavanuatu
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
176 - 181 of 362 reviews
Reviewed September 28, 2013

3rd time in Port Vila, thought we'd try Coconut palms, yes we do shop for price, but more because we don't have high demands, well!
Ok upsides first: The staff is very friendly and helpful, it's an easy walk to town, the pool is very scenic and night, and relaxing during the day. The food in the restaurant was good a bit more than half the times.
Downsides: run down, old, used to be backpackers, and has not been looked after since. bits breaking everywhere, and they are constantly out of one or the other food and/or drink. The breakfast is below average, we felt that the place was being sold, and they were not spending any money on upkeep.... the bed were poor, the toilets ran etc. Any one of these issues would not disturb me, as we do travel simplistic, but all combined, just disappointing.
In short, if you can find something else within your budget, don't stay here...

Room Tip: Rooms in other hotels are nicer... :-)
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Qlddk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoconutPalmsVanuatu, Manager at Coconut Palms Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2014

Dear Valued Customer,

Thank you for sharing your comments on our Trip Advisor Page as such all comments made are taken seriously but first let me assure you that Coconut Palms Resort is a value for money resort where our friendly staff will do anything possible for you to enjoy your stay.

Accordingly it would be more meaningful had your concerns and comments be raised directly to Management whilst during your stay to provide you with a better experience. Unfortunately we received no complaints or comments from you before your departure however all your comments are taken seriously to improve our visitors experience.

Kind regards,

Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Just a short walk from the Vila's city centre, this resort suprised me with quality and atmosphere. For the price I paid, that is. My room was very basic, one bed, chair, small table and TV (facilities shared with one person). But the resort had it all, nice swimming pool, good food, nice garden. I think it's perfect for small family or backpacker.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sveto v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoconutPalmsVanuatu, Manager at Coconut Palms Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2014

Dear Valued Customer,

Thank you for sharing your experience on our Trip Advisor page and for you to make mention our mission' Value for money Resort where our services is not compromised'.

Again we thank you for choosing Coconut Palms Resort and if you ever visit Vanuatu again please let your Vanuatu friends welcome you back to the Coconut Palms Resort!

Kind regards,

Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

We recently stayed at Coconut Palms for a month, whilst volunteering at the local Hospital. We stayed in a Deluxe Studio Apartment and found it clean, comfortable and met our needs in every way!
The resort is in a great location, only a short walk into town (down steep steps!) and has a nice pool and pool area. It is pretty and green and mostly very quiet.
The nightly events are great, especially the Saturday Reggae Night and Fire Show, which was truly memorable and spectacular!
The staff were all so friendly and helpful and went out of their way to make our stay comfortable. We did not eat a lot at the resort, so cannot make much comment on this. Breakfasts were adequate for us.
We would definitely go back here to this Resort. It is very good value for money and was perfect for us.
Thank you so much to all the wonderful staff. Hi Rolin! Your smile lit up our days!

Room Tip: The Deluxe Studio Apartments are great, especially for a longer stay and very good value.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PMJones6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoconutPalmsVanuatu, Manager at Coconut Palms Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2014

Dear Valued Customer,

Thank you sharing your views of Coconut Palms Resort and we value every comments you have made.

Coconut Palms Resort also caters for long term customers especially the medical students. Our long term rates are well priced and comes with free WIFI. For any medical student - for your point of reference we are only a 2 minutes walk to the Vila Central Hospital an ideal location for your accommodation choice.

Once again we thank you for choosing Coconut Palms Resort and we look forward to welcoming you again if you ever travel to Vanuatu in the near future.

Kind regards,

Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

The constant at Coconut Palms is that all is not as advertised.

We booked TWIN Superior Orchard Room in two blocks of time (gap to head off to Tanna to see the volcano etc.). Photos on CP web site show marble lined spacious bathroom with long vanity unit. Room description includes: free wireless internet, hair dryer, tropical fruit basket, fresh flower arrangement

On arrival at 3:30 am we were checked into a tiny double room (not twin as booked). The bathroom was tiny and less than acceptable (converted balcony with ancient plumbing). We advised that we had booked TWIN room and that room was not acceptable. Due to early morning check in we slept in double room and reported to reception next morning.

We showed reception staff images of advertised room and they laughed saying that they only had four rooms that looked like that and they were always booked. We insisted on a better room, the only room available was slightly better but the air conditioner didn’t work and the remote was missing. We were promised a better room on our return.

On our return we did get a better room, however, it was still not as advertised. A simple bathroom with no vanity, just a free standing basin. Mouldy curtains in both bathroom and room. Fresh flower arrangement was in our room on first day but removed next day on room clean. Fresh fruit was one coconut.

Breakfast was poor – as per many other reviews here. Restaurant advertised open until 10 pm each day: we went for dinner at 8:45 pm Sunday and was told that restaurant was shut and no food at all was available. Twice when ordering wine by the glass I was told they had ran out of wine, but mysteriously the next day wine by the bottle was sighted.

Attended Melanesian Feast Night –activates advertised and not delivered, including: live traditional cooking display and custom dancing.

Service in general slack in restaurant, bar and room service. Staff hang around after shifts in bar and later in the grounds for many hours. WIFI is NOT available in rooms as advertised, only available in the main areas (bar, rest etc.).

I was not expecting a five star resort but I did expect to get what is advertised. Many guests complained and asked for management – management are not at all interested in talking to guests.

Recommend CP if you want a slack back packer style of stay, otherwise I would steer clear.

Unfortunately we deleted our room photos in error – have only two pics to share

Room Tip: Do not expect anything like images on web
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank McTravellerMcS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoconutPalmsResort, Manager at Coconut Palms Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2016

Dear Valued guest

We are sorry for the delayed response to your review. We are very thankful for all feedback both positive and constructive. The time you have taken to share this is appreciated.

We have had new management in place since March 2015, we have spent the last 15 months lifting many aspects and features of the hotel, this included menus, training, reservations and check in processes.

If there is any aspect of your review which has not been rectified and you would like to discuss it in further detail, please don't hesitate to contact me directly at elliot@coconutpalms.vu.

If you are planning another trip, check out our website for the best rates online.

Many thanks

Elliot Agius

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

The staff here were wonderful. Smiles, Happy, friendly and helpful. However the management didn't fulfil promises made. We went here as a special deal and we were to receive a bottle of wine on arrival as part of our package. After asking 4 days out of only 7 we stayed we were told that the resort had run out and we would receive it tomorrow. Tomorrow never came (for the wine). At happy hour the tap beer was conveniently ran out but the more expensive beer was still available... The room was clean and tidy but bed was not comfortable, sheets and towels not replaced over the 7 day stay. Overall Port Vila was a nice spot to stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Koren B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoconutPalmsResort, Manager at Coconut Palms Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2016

Dear Valued guest

We are sorry for the delayed response to your review. We are very thankful for all feedback both positive and constructive. The time you have taken to share this is appreciated.

We have had new management in place since March 2015, we have spent the last 15 months lifting many aspects and features of the hotel, this included menus, training, reservations and check in processes.

If there is any aspect of your review which has not been rectified and you would like to discuss it in further detail, please don't hesitate to contact me directly at elliot@coconutpalms.vu.

If you are planning another trip, check out our website for the best rates online.

Many thanks

Elliot Agius

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews