We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“great self contained apartments” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Coconut Palms Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Coconut Palms Resort
Ranked #30 of 47 Hotels in Port Vila
SYDNEY
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great self contained apartments”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

travelled to port vila in june 2012 and originally booked a cheap room online. when we got there a small upgrade fee and we had a private apartment - the manager Elliot was very knowledgeable and helpful - a delightful person - complimentary breakfast was good. A great place to stay from backpacker to family and honeymooning couples.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GEORGE C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoconutPalmsResort, Manager at Coconut Palms Resort, responded to this review, August 1, 2016
Dear Valued guest

We are sorry for the delayed response to your review. We are very thankful for all feedback both positive and constructive. The time you have taken to share this is appreciated.

We have had new management in place since March 2015, we have spent the last 15 months lifting many aspects and features of the hotel, this included menus, training, reservations and check in processes.

If there is any aspect of your review which has not been rectified and you would like to discuss it in further detail, please don't hesitate to contact me directly at elliot@coconutpalms.vu.

If you are planning another trip, check out our website for the best rates online.

Many thanks

Elliot Agius
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    104
    52
    31
    15
See reviews for
38
96
55
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

Thanks for such an incredible staff, I felt like having my Christmas in a family! Excellent staff, good price and great location. My choice in Port Villa, absolutely! I recommend this place warmly. The only minus of the place was the kava bar in the neighborhood. Because of that, some of the rooms are noisy during the night. Personally, I was ok with that but it can cause sleeping problems for someone.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Redhatkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoconutPalmsResort, Manager at Coconut Palms Resort, responded to this review, August 1, 2016
Dear Valued guest

We are sorry for the delayed response to your review. We are very thankful for all feedback both positive and constructive. The time you have taken to share this is appreciated.

We have had new management in place since March 2015, we have spent the last 15 months lifting many aspects and features of the hotel, this included menus, training, reservations and check in processes.

If there is any aspect of your review which has not been rectified and you would like to discuss it in further detail, please don't hesitate to contact me directly at elliot@coconutpalms.vu.

If you are planning another trip, check out our website for the best rates online.

Many thanks

Elliot Agius
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NZ
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

I could not speak more highly of Coconut Palms. Stayed there last month and we were absolutely blown away with the service, and the fantastic team there who ensured our experience was the best it could possibly be. Lee, the food and beverage manager went beyond the call of service, providing quality in all aspects of delivery and facilities and excellent local knowledge. Clean, tidy, good food (better cocktails), friendly faces everywhere you turn (the staff always wear huge smiles), salt water swimming pool,. close to town centre and helpful advice anytime from all the staff. Something happening everyday of the week at the resort, including getting an authentic taste of traditional Melanesian culture. Highly recommended to anyone travelling to Port Villa. Will be going back for sure. Thanks Coconut Palms Staff!

Room Tip: Try to get a package deal through your local travel dealers
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank keiran b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoconutPalmsResort, Manager at Coconut Palms Resort, responded to this review, August 1, 2016
Dear Valued guest

We are sorry for the delayed response to your review. We are very thankful for all feedback both positive and constructive. The time you have taken to share this is appreciated.

We have had new management in place since March 2015, we have spent the last 15 months lifting many aspects and features of the hotel, this included menus, training, reservations and check in processes.

If there is any aspect of your review which has not been rectified and you would like to discuss it in further detail, please don't hesitate to contact me directly at elliot@coconutpalms.vu.

If you are planning another trip, check out our website for the best rates online.

Many thanks

Elliot Agius
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

Coconut Palms has a nice location in town, a good pool and restaurant. For the price (even though we got a "deal") the single rooms with no bathroom aren't terribly impressive but they are clean. Very little space to hang or put away clothes. I think there's better value for the money in the PV area. Service is generally good but the reservations in our party got a little mixed up. To be fair, they were a bit complicated.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Soozeequeue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoconutPalmsResort, Manager at Coconut Palms Resort, responded to this review, August 1, 2016
Dear Valued guest

We are sorry for the delayed response to your review. We are very thankful for all feedback both positive and constructive. The time you have taken to share this is appreciated.

We have had new management in place since March 2015, we have spent the last 15 months lifting many aspects and features of the hotel, this included menus, training, reservations and check in processes.

If there is any aspect of your review which has not been rectified and you would like to discuss it in further detail, please don't hesitate to contact me directly at elliot@coconutpalms.vu.

If you are planning another trip, check out our website for the best rates online.

Many thanks

Elliot Agius
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

The staff at this resort are just wonderful and cater to every whim even cooking items we requested which were not on the menu.
The room was clean and the staff made sure it stayed that way with clean linen bed made each day
It is great to see a Resort where the Mangement is so community minded this one provides
assistance and internet for the nearby Seaside School

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Graeme F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoconutPalmsResort, Manager at Coconut Palms Resort, responded to this review, August 1, 2016
Dear Valued guest

We are sorry for the delayed response to your review. We are very thankful for all feedback both positive and constructive. The time you have taken to share this is appreciated.

We have had new management in place since March 2015, we have spent the last 15 months lifting many aspects and features of the hotel, this included menus, training, reservations and check in processes.

If there is any aspect of your review which has not been rectified and you would like to discuss it in further detail, please don't hesitate to contact me directly at elliot@coconutpalms.vu.

If you are planning another trip, check out our website for the best rates online.

Many thanks

Elliot Agius
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
launceston
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

I stayed at the coconut palms resort last week and had an amazing time, the staff go that extra mile to make sure your holiday is hassle free and great! Leigh the food and bev manager was very helpful with tour advice and general advice on vanuatu as a whole. The hotel offer activities every night so your always kept entertained the fire show is a must, trivia,happy hour daily at the bar and a melanasian feast cooked by local mammas. Breakfast was always a fun experience with Roberts happy smiley face always greeting us and looking after everything. I stayed in a superior room it had everything you need a comfortable bed, air con, fan, great shower pressure and foxtel! I would recommend this hotel to anyone and would definitely return here when I am back in Port Vila great job everyone you truely made my holiday!

Room Tip: being a few minutes out of the hussle and bussle of port vila all rooms are quiet, superior rooms wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ashley d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoconutPalmsVanuatu, Manager at Coconut Palms Resort, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Hi there Ashley D

Thank you so much for your Tripadvisor review. We are really happy your enjoyed your stay at our resort. Also glad you enjoyed all the activities we put on as well. Just an update, we should finish installing televisions into all our rooms today, which means everyone will get to enjoy our in room entertainment.

Look forward to your next stay with us here at Coconut Palms Resort.

Kindest regards,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albury
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

We spent the majority of our time in Vanuatu in a village stay which was a hard act to follow, and finished off with 3 nights at Coconut Palms in an Apartment. One for my husband and I, and the other for our 3 children and my mum. We were not disappointed. The apartments are spacious, clean, and comfortable. The welcome drink and breakfast inclusion were a nice touch and staff were friendly and helpful at all times.
The kids loved the pool and the 'hand seats' and the whole experience was a lovely way to complete our Vanuatu holiday.
My husband and I had walked the streets a few days earlier to find somewhere to stay and Coconut Palms was our 8th port of call. It was also our last since it ticked all the boxes.
We would definitely recommend Coconut Palms to other travelers, though we did look at a room in the highrise section and definitely preferred the apartments.

Room Tip: We stayed in an apartment and would recommend these over the rooms in the highrise section.
See more room tips
Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank tropico123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoconutPalmsVanuatu, Manager at Coconut Palms Resort, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
Narelle L

Thanks you for your review on Tripadvisor.

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us at Coconut Palms Resort.

The 'Hand Seats' are quiet cool, we actually moved them up to reception yesterday because of this reason. Now they will be one of the first things you see when you come in the hotel.

Look forward seeing you next time you are in our lovely country.


Many thanks

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Vila hotels
0.6 mi away
The Melanesian Port Vila
The Melanesian Port Vila
#24 of 47 in Port Vila
4.0 of 5 stars 252 reviews
1.1 mi away
Moorings Hotel
Moorings Hotel
#26 of 47 in Port Vila
4.0 of 5 stars 110 reviews
0.0 mi away
Benjor Beach Club
Benjor Beach Club
#23 of 47 in Port Vila
4.5 of 5 stars 336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Chantilly's on the Bay
Chantilly's on the Bay
#28 of 47 in Port Vila
4.0 of 5 stars 157 reviews
2.4 mi away
Treetops Lodge & Bungalows
Treetops Lodge & Bungalows
#44 of 47 in Port Vila
3.5 of 5 stars 3 reviews
1.4 mi away
Vila Chaumieres
Vila Chaumieres
#29 of 47 in Port Vila
4.5 of 5 stars 166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coconut Palms Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coconut Palms Resort

Property: Coconut Palms Resort
Address: Cornwall Street, PO Box 1515, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu
Location: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Port Vila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Coconut Palms Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Award Wining, Coconut Palms Resort we pride ourselves as "Your Vanuatu Friend" where our happy staff will do everything possible to ensure that you: Stay, Relax & Enjoy all that the resort and beautiful Vanuatu has to offer. We are governed by our mission: "To be the best value resort in Vanuatu where service is not compromised and happy memories are guaranteed." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotwire so you can book your Coconut Palms Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coconut Palms Hotel Port Vila
Coconut Palms Resort Vanuatu/Port Vila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing