We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Coconut Palms Resort
Nearby Hotels
Nasama Resort(Port Vila)(Great Value!)
$163
$114
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Melanesian Port Vila(Port Vila)(Great Value!)
$89
$82
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Traveller's Budget Motel(Port Vila)(Great Value!)
$65
$63
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$230
$225
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Fatumaru Lodge(Port Vila)(Great Value!)
$106
$103
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Terraces Boutique Apartments(Port Vila)(Great Value!)
$203
$195
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu(Port Vila)(Great Value!)
$161
$154
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Moorings Hotel(Port Vila)(Great Value!)
$86
$83
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
CoCo Beach Resort(Port Vila)(Great Value!)
$97
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$71
$59
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Reviews (362)
Filter reviews
362 results
Traveler rating
105
126
72
39
20
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
105
126
72
39
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfire showwild pigbudget hotelceiling fanprivate bathroomgreat poolclose to townair conditioningenjoyed my stayfew minutes walkmain towntravel agentgreat holidaytanna coffeeelliotvilavanuatu
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
236 - 241 of 362 reviews
Reviewed July 18, 2012

I booked the Coconut Palms through Wotif.com on the recommendation of a friend who had just been in Port Vila. Unfortunately, the first night they put me in a room that was small, no WiFi and tiny bath that was quite a let down compared to what I had been led to expect. So I complained, in particular about no WiFi since that is important to me in my work. Expecting to be rejected I was surprised to have the acting General Manager come down and arranged for me to stay in another nearby room that was larger, had perfect Wifi and in addition he moved in a work table and chair and a small table for my toiletries in the bath. He said that because the hotel was full that I would have to move back to the small room on the last night but for all but that last night the big room was mine. Hooray. That has been my experience all week - very friendly and accommodating staff that do all they can to make my stay pleasant and comfortable. It is not a large hotel and not really a "resort" in the sense of beaches and such but good food, decent rooms and friendly staff. So I will be back. My room has a small refrigerator and a microwave and I am told some of the rooms have a full kitchen. Hope you are not much of a TV addict though, the three stations that had clear pictures were two sports station (one had two nights of snooker championships - yawn) and a music video station. The free WiFi was ok though variable in bandwidth and not available in all rooms so if that is important to you check it out before accepting the room. Some evening entertainment, a local "feast" and Kava party on Tuesday, Reggae night on the weekend, etc. Good tour desk and limited menu but good food. Location is quiet but within easy walking distance of "downtown", supermarkets, etc. By Pacific Island standards, very good all things considered.

Room Tip: Careful with the rooms with numbers 100-110. Some are like jail cells, others quite nice. 105 is not so great but 104 is fine as is 102. The best seem to be the pool side rooms upstairs.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sunnyguy61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoconutPalmsResort, Manager at Coconut Palms Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2016

Dear Valued guest

We are sorry for the delayed response to your review. We are very thankful for all feedback both positive and constructive. The time you have taken to share this is appreciated.

We have had new management in place since March 2015, we have spent the last 15 months lifting many aspects and features of the hotel, this included menus, training, reservations and check in processes.

If there is any aspect of your review which has not been rectified and you would like to discuss it in further detail, please don't hesitate to contact me directly at elliot@coconutpalms.vu.

If you are planning another trip, check out our website for the best rates online.

Many thanks

Elliot Agius

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2012

We arrived at the Resort only to be told our rooms were not ready as they were being cleaned. After finally getting our rooms which were the Superior Orchid, they were both totally different to the ones we thought we had booked (after looking on Website). One half the size of the other, vanity was filthy and moldy with some type of silicon around plughole, shower head was hanging from taps as was broken, beds were very hard with wrought iron ends that were sharp and scratched my leg!!! After cpmplaining to reception staff following day we were told all issues would be looked into and were also shown a container full of brand new comfortable mattresses which we were told we would get that day. After a day out and returning to the resort not one of the issues had been resolved. After spreaking to staff asking for a refund we were told to speak to manager which my partner did via cellphone, his response"if i gave everyone who wasnt happy a refund i would be broke". AWESOME attitude.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Joanne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoconutPalmsVanuatu, Manager at Coconut Palms Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2012

Joanne T

Thank you so much for your feedback. it is always good to get feed back both positive and negative, as you would remember at the hotel we promote TripAdvisor.com in a very big way. With over 8 digital screens strategically positioned around the hotel asking people to take the time out to review us through this channel. I would like to thank you for taking the time out to do so, especially so long after your stay with us.
We do generally try to have rooms for when people when they arrive at the hotel, we go as far as asking for peoples flight numbers, so we can work out their arrival time to help priorities with room cleaning. In saying this our official check in time is 2pm. I hope you took advantage of our free luggage storage, and offer of towel and area to freshen up not to mention full use of all the hotel facilities while you were waiting.
I am very sorry there was an error in the room you were provided with and that this impacted so heavily on your experience at the hotel. All our Superior Orchard rooms have their own private bathroom, so from what i can gather it sounds like you were given the correct room, it may have been a case that our website was hard to navigate around, as we are certainly not in the game of misleading people, we would much rather exceed expectations. Rest assured our website is currently undergoing a re-haul and should be better than ever in the not to distant future.

In regards to our bathrooms, earlier this year we have a major renovation which saw the upgrade of some bathrooms, rooms, and public areas. Please check out our Facebook page for pictures of the new bathrooms and public areas, i am sure you will be very impressed.

We do take cleaning and hygiene very seriously at the hotel and you will be glad to hear, only two weeks ago a couple of our team took out 2 Bronze Medals in the housekeeping category at the 2012 Culinary Show

Also i am very sorry that your bed was uncomfortable, as you mentioned we had just taken a delivery of brand new mattresses, and we have now swapped out the older mattresses, i apologise this was not completed before your departure.

Thank you again for you valuable feedback.

Regards

Elliot Agius

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2012

We spend the last Christmas in Vanuatu in the Coconut Palms Resort.
The place is very nice, tidy and clean. The staff is very kind too.
The food is amazing, everything is delicious, every single dish, we eat all our meals in the resort and that was definitely the highlight of our stay there.
The only lowlight of the resort is that it is not next to the beach. Except for that our days there where very good!
But they offer a lot of different excursion to do that compensate that.

The City. on the other hand, wasn't clean or tidy at all! We found garbage bags in every corner in every street, and people didn't look as friendly as the people working in the resort. They nearly answer you when you ask for any indication or help.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mimadic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoconutPalmsResort, Manager at Coconut Palms Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2016

Dear Valued guest

We are sorry for the delayed response to your review. We are very thankful for all feedback both positive and constructive. The time you have taken to share this is appreciated.

We have had new management in place since March 2015, we have spent the last 15 months lifting many aspects and features of the hotel, this included menus, training, reservations and check in processes.

If there is any aspect of your review which has not been rectified and you would like to discuss it in further detail, please don't hesitate to contact me directly at elliot@coconutpalms.vu.

If you are planning another trip, check out our website for the best rates online.

Many thanks

Elliot Agius

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2012

The location is central and walkable to town and shopping. The price is reasonable and accommodation clean and comfortable. The staff, particularly Leigh, are very helpful and friendly and really take the time to get to know the guests and make sure you are enjoying your time. The restaurant food is varied, some nice meals, others pretty plain. There are lots of free activities to do like a fire show, trivia night etc which is great for kids. My only complaints are that the food in the restaurant takes a VERY long time and I really didn't like how Leigh and some of the staff would smoke indoors. I hate having to breathe in other people's disgusting toxic smoke.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank HHH255060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoconutPalmsResort, Manager at Coconut Palms Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2016

Dear Valued guest

We are sorry for the delayed response to your review. We are very thankful for all feedback both positive and constructive. The time you have taken to share this is appreciated.

We have had new management in place since March 2015, we have spent the last 15 months lifting many aspects and features of the hotel, this included menus, training, reservations and check in processes.

If there is any aspect of your review which has not been rectified and you would like to discuss it in further detail, please don't hesitate to contact me directly at elliot@coconutpalms.vu.

If you are planning another trip, check out our website for the best rates online.

Many thanks

Elliot Agius

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2012

Coconut Palms Resort is situate a short walk from the centre of Port Vila, close to the restaurants and night sports. Although the decore is a little dated, overall the Resort is clean and tidy. Staff are exceptionally friendly and helpful.

Food is good quality and well priced. Alcoholic beverages in the Wild Pig Bar are reasonably priced as well.

Do not miss the fire dance that commences about 7pm on Saturday nights - free and fantastic. Other activities at the resort on other nights are also well organised.

Room Tip: If you want to have your own bathroom select the Superior Orchid Rooms. It can be a little noisy of a night for rooms facing the village.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PhilK049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoconutPalmsResort, Manager at Coconut Palms Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2016

Dear Valued guest

We are sorry for the delayed response to your review. We are very thankful for all feedback both positive and constructive. The time you have taken to share this is appreciated.

We have had new management in place since March 2015, we have spent the last 15 months lifting many aspects and features of the hotel, this included menus, training, reservations and check in processes.

If there is any aspect of your review which has not been rectified and you would like to discuss it in further detail, please don't hesitate to contact me directly at elliot@coconutpalms.vu.

If you are planning another trip, check out our website for the best rates online.

Many thanks

Elliot Agius

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews