We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seven Days in June 2014”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sunset Bungalows Resort
Ranked #15 of 47 Hotels in Port Vila
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 12, 2014

My partner and I visited Sunset Bungalows over a week in June 2014. We really enjoyed ourselves. The stand out points would have to be: the close relationship we had with Audrey and Greg, and their fantastic staff; the great accommodation and services offered; and, the help on hand from Sunset Bungalows when needed.
My partner had an upset stomach for a few days in Port Vila, and Audrey and Greg both kept an eye on her, helped out with medication and checked up on us every time we saw them. Their staff were very helpful with booking tours and providing suggestions during our stay. When we 'stayed-in' for a meal, the restaurant met our needs and the breakfasts in the morning were just right.
I would say our stay at Sunset Bungalows was an essential part to a fabulous and enjoyable holiday in Vanuatu. We are looking forward to staying in the future! Cheers!

Room Tip: We found the villas close to the 'beach area' (where you can hop into the lagoon' were v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Matt_N_WP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (592)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

265 - 271 of 592 reviews

Reviewed July 9, 2014

We have just spent 5 nights at Sunset Bungalows and have loved our stay here. The view from the Bungalows is beautiful, overlooking the lagoon. Greg and Audrey were personable hosts with lovely staff, even acting as medicos and patching up an injury. The rooms are immaculately clean, our fellow travellers were nice people. Booking tours from the desk was easily done. It's an easy bus ride to the town centre, with buses coming every minute or so. Just flag one down and tell the driver where you want to go - easy! Thanks Greg and Audrey for a gorgeous few days.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cathy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2014

I was lucky enough to have my fiancé (now husband) spoil me upon my return to Vanuatu & we spent a lovely 3 days at Sunset Bungalows. The location on Second Lagoon is very relaxing, beds extremely comfy, food delicious & cocktails even more so. The managers Audrey & Greg along with their staff made us feel very welcome. Looking forward to staying there gain.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Dianne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2014

We just left and are already missing sunset bungalows! We had a fantastic 7 nights there, waking up on the lagoon was spectacular! Audrey and Greg were great and all the staff were so lovely! Food was fantastic, choc brownies to die for!!!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tammyleef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2014

We have recently returned to Australia after our first visit to Vanuatu( staying in Port Vila). We had completed a lot of research on where to stay and what to do ( Trip Advisor reviews were most helpful!) Our 5 night stay at Sunset Bungalows last week, was enjoyable and entirely trouble free. Audrey and Greg are experienced and thoughtful 'hosts' - they offered sensible advice and were quick to 'trouble-shoot' if any type of problem was brought to their attention. In my case, I found the 'atmospheric' lighting in the room inadequate to support the reading of my huge pile of holiday novels and so, without any fuss, Audrey organised a reading lamp for me for the duration of the stay. After a day or two of settling in, going snorkelling at Hideaway island and getting the hang of hailing the local buses ( B on the number plate instantly identifies them and it is just not possible to wait for more than 30 seconds before a van or three turns up- the cost was 150 Vatu which is about $2 for each trip into town or back to the resort) we decided to go on a day trip around the island with John ( at Audrey and Greg's suggestion). John's gentle nature and interest in, and knowledge about, each of the villages to which he took us, helped to make the tour so worthwhile- swimming in the Blue Lagoon was a highlight. We stayed in a Superior Bungalow and really enjoyed being able to observe the many 'moods' of the lagoon from our balcony. We took our own DVDs with us but Audrey and Greg have plenty to choose from, if the shows on the local stations do not appeal. Sunset Bungalows' restaurant provided simple and fresh meals but if you want to go into town at night, Audrey and Greg will guide you with honest reviews of what is on offer. All of the staff at Sunset Bungalows are calm, friendly and excellent ambassadors for their country; Bong and Roy, Lily, Cathy and the rest of the people who cared for us deserve commendation.

Room Tip: All of the bungalows have great views of the lagoon!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank faye c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2014

This is a great place to stay! The rooms couldn't have been any better, could look out at the lagoon every morning from our bungalow and watch all the fish from the deck. The staff were friendly, warmly welcomed us and made sure we were well looked after. The food in the restaurant was fantastic. Over all we couldn't of enjoyed this any more, everything was just perfect!
Will definitely be staying there when we go back to Vanuatu!

Room Tip: Bungalows over the lagoon are definitely the way to go!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TeA146
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2014

This is our third time back to Sunset Bungalows and it is still the best in Vila. Greg, Audrey, Bong, Roy, Lili and staff are the best. They make you feel like family and will do anything for you. We come to Vila every year and this is the only place we will stay. Bungalows over the water are so relaxing. Food is fantastic and the cocktails are great. Will be back next June for sure.

Room Tip: Bungalows over water are very romantic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kaz64au
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Vila hotels
3.2 mi away
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
#11 of 47 in Port Vila
1,561 reviews
2.5 mi away
Moorings Hotel
Moorings Hotel
#29 of 47 in Port Vila
157 reviews
2.2 mi away
Grand Hotel And Casino
Grand Hotel And Casino
#18 of 47 in Port Vila
554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
#13 of 47 in Port Vila
713 reviews
5.1 mi away
CoCo Beach Resort
CoCo Beach Resort
#21 of 47 in Port Vila
222 reviews
2.5 mi away
Iririki Island Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Bungalows Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Bungalows Resort

Address: Teouma Road | 2nd Lagoon, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu
Location: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Port Vila
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Port Vila
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Port Vila
Price Range: $115 - $230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sunset Bungalows Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled quietly on the waters edge within a tropical setting and fantastic views across Emten Lagoon. Luxurious surrounds includes a swimming pool with waterfall, over-water restaurant and bar. Sunset Bungalows Resort is a peaceful tropical escape with its relaxing adults only status, ideal for honeymooners. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sunset Bungalows Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Bungalows Hotel Port Vila
Sunset Hotel Port Vila
Sunset Resort Port Vila
Sunset Bungalows Vanuatu
Sunset Bungalows Resort Vanuatu/Port Vila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing