We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Time of our lives at Sunset”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sunset Bungalows Resort
Ranked #9 of 47 Hotels in Port Vila
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Time of our lives at Sunset”
Reviewed May 30, 2014


Could not of asked for a better place to stay. From the moment we arrived the service was top notch Greg and Audrey were great hosts they organised tours, gave us plenty of information on all the places to go and see and also lots of information on how Vanautu works so we were safe at all times.
We ate at the restraunt a number of times and the food was always cooked to perfection, not to mention there was a huge selection of beverages and meals.
The bungalows were set up very nicely and were always kept clean by all the lovely staff
We will be back for sure






  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CharlieBarton0523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

579 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    395
    140
    31
    11
    2
See reviews for
30
443
17
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2014

We have just returned from 7 nights at Sunset Bungalows and totally enjoyed the experience. The bungalows are perfectly situated on the lagoon and the outlook from our room was amazing. We loved folding back the shutters each day and gazing out over the blue waters. The food at the hotel was of a high standard (not a buffet in sight) and the french toast at breakfast was a favourite. The staff were warm and caring and our hosts, Greg & Audrey, could not have been more helpful in ensuring all our needs were met. We would definitely like to return to Vanuatu.

Room Tip: Choose a superior bungalow
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Travelbug31_05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2014 via mobile

We spent a wonderful 8 nights at Sunset Bungalows. For us it was perfectly located just out of town, overlooking 2nd lagoon. The overwater bungalow was very comfortable. We ate at the restaurant a number of times and it was consistently good, & happy hour with cocktails on the deck became our daily ritual. Greg & Audrey were great hosts offering lots of tips for getting around and helping book tours, restaurants, etc. Would return again

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Shane T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2014

It was glad that i chose Sunset Bungalows as it was my first time in Vanuatu. it locates 10mins drive to Downtown and i recommended to get the bus for $150 VUV ($1.8 AUD almost $2) for single way (buses are frequently).
All of those bungalows are over the water and open air. We were greeted the moment we stepped in and served with welcome drinks. The property is away of everything which provide us a unique experience.
P.S i did not see any items in the fridge so "minibar" service is not available i guess. So dont forget to buy water, snacks...etc.
Great experience there.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SydneyCBDsider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2014

We cannot wait to go back! For those who want the idealic quiet island getaway , this is it. The surroundings of rooms and lagoon are tranquil with everything we needed and if there is something you do need , Greg and Audrey are the ultimate hosts . Just far enough away from the main town but not too far away , easily able to jump on a bus 10 minutes to the town and markets.
We loved the chef and staff and have fond memories of gentle peaceful evening dining without any hustle and bustle. We certainly felt that we were experiencing a secluded and romantic private resort. The bungalows are the way to stay completing the feeling of romance with every modern facility included but with the taste of the island life. Even arriving at nearly midnight we were greeted by Audrey personally and cannot recommend it highly enough. Thinking of next trip.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Gary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noumea, New Caledonia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the sunset for four nights in August 2013. Great and clean bungalows with the nice view over the Laguna. For breakfast you get to chose from a menu and all options were nice and sufficient. We did not try the resort's restaurant. The staff were great and we borrowed snorkelling equipment and movies. Only minus is location as it is a bit out of the city but we had a car and there are lots of axis available cheaply. Would strongly recommend!

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Christelle J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2014

To be completely honest this was not my first choice but I am so glad I chose Sunset Bungalows over other options. The service was outstanding, and all staff went out of their way to make you feel welcome and cared for. On my return to Efate I will no doubt stay here over free options I now have. in one morning alone from My balcony I got to see over 30 starfish a sea horse an octopus various types of crab and an un countable amount of fish.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bret512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Vila hotels
3.2 mi away
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
#13 of 47 in Port Vila
1,482 reviews
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
#15 of 47 in Port Vila
665 reviews
13.3 mi away
The Havannah, Vanuatu
The Havannah, Vanuatu
#3 of 47 in Port Vila
552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Iririki Island Resort & Spa
4.3 mi away
Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu
3.9 mi away
Nasama Resort
Nasama Resort
#7 of 47 in Port Vila
488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Bungalows Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Bungalows Resort

Property: Sunset Bungalows Resort
Address: Teouma Road | 2nd Lagoon, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu
Location: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Port Vila
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Port Vila
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Port Vila
#15 Family Hotel in Port Vila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sunset Bungalows Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled quietly on the waters edge within a tropical setting and fantastic views across Emten Lagoon. Luxurious surrounds includes a swimming pool with waterfall, over-water restaurant and bar. Sunset Bungalows Resort is a peaceful tropical escape with its relaxing adults only status, ideal for honeymooners. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Sunset Bungalows Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Bungalows Hotel Port Vila
Sunset Hotel Port Vila
Sunset Resort Port Vila
Sunset Bungalows Vanuatu
Sunset Bungalows Resort Vanuatu/Port Vila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing