We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Reflections” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sunset Bungalows Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sunset Bungalows Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Teouma Road, 2nd Lagoon, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 46 Hotels in Port Vila
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Reflections”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

We recently had 5 nights here to celebrate our 40th wedding anniversary.
What a great position overlooking the lagoon. The room was very comfortable.
Our hosts were helpful, but unobtrusive. The staff where typical Ni - van smiling and pleasant.
We eat in the restaurant each night which was very relaxed and enjoyable.
Thoroughly recommended.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Jann G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

513 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    354
    123
    27
    8
    1
See reviews for
25
390
15
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

This was such a perfect place for couples, but would also suit anyone who wanted to get away from a busy life. We went there for our 30th wedding anniversary for a calm, peaceful and relaxing time and we couldn't have asked for better. The waterfront bungalows were beautiful with the deck out over the water (you've got to have a breakfast on your balcony at least once). The managers Audrey & Greg were friendly and very helpful regarding places to go and things to do. Bong was always able to help with any queries and Lily makes some amazing cocktails! The omlettes at breakfast were a treat (don't waste your time with anything else). The menu for lunch and dinner provided some really good food but they could do with a few more choices. We ate there almost evry night and generally the food was very good, but there were a few dud meals - a lack of consistency in the quality of the meals. A range of specials were offered on different nights depending on what fresh seafood that was sourced (the coconut crab is nice, but a lot of work). The prices for the meals were a bit high, but you have to remember that a lot of the food (even the milk) is imported. The restaurant also hangs out over the water so we spent many hours just sitting there enjoying the serenity - sometimes from one meal to the next! It's a fantastic place to sit, have dinner and a drink, chat to other guests, and watch the sunset (see photo). The pool is also a magnificent setting to relax day or night. We were there for 7 nights - and didn't want to leave. Would not stay anywhere else if we went back to Vanuatu.

Room Tip: The waterfront bungalows overhanging the water are THE place to stay. Can't remember how much mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SJtravel4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

What an amazing place for a couple. I went with a friend, and it was just as perfect. Quiet restaurant overlooking the Lagoon. Breakfast was always a great start. The omelettes are famous!!! A short trip to town on a bus, too easy. Audrey and Greg are full of Vanuatu knowledge, and are so welcoming and helpful. They can advise you on any activity and are more than happy to book and find out anything for you. Their cocktails are to die for - you have to try them all!!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Philippa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gisborne, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

From the moment we stepped foot into our room until the end of our 7 night stay we were impressed with the wonderful service, food, staff and our divine room!
The food is delicious from the breakfast menu right through to the dinner menu.
The pool is a perfect way to end a day of sight seeing or simply to relax & soak up the sheer beauty of the resort.
With fishing rods & kayaks available you don't need to leave the resort to enjoy your days there.
We simply did not want to leave! We will be back for sure!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Juana V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
118 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 5 nights and enjoyed our stay.
The location is close to town which is useful but for us, it was no comparison to staying at one of the beach resorts (see review of Cocos).
Breakfast was good.
We has the chicken wings and beef skewers one night - they weren't so good!
Overall a very nice place and very relaxing.
Also note - in rainy season this part of Port Villa seems to get much more cloud and rain than some of the beaches as the clouds hand over the hills so do your research.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 911dg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

Recently stayed for two weeks at Sunset Bungalows and still it was not long enough......
A fantastic resort.......From the minute we arrived at 3am we where welcomed and made to feel so at home. Managers Audrey and Greg are amazing, so very helpful and knowledgeable. All the staff where incredible. Nothing was too much trouble and always done with a beautiful smile. We had a studio room, which was beautiful,the view spectacular. Such a peaceful and relaxing place that we hope to go back next year. I would highly recommend staying at Sunset Bungalows... Heaven in Paradise.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

This place is the most beautiful accommodation I have ever stayed at.

We were warmly welcomed to the resort by Bong at reception, and taken to our room. We stayed in one of the 9 over-water bungalows, it was amazing. I was blown away by the setting, beautiful cathedral style ceilings, fresh frangipane on the bed, and the view - wow, mind blowing. The entire front of the room opened onto a large deck over a beautiful lagoon. Truly amazing.

The Staff couldn't do enough for us, excellent service. They were friendly, efficient, and clearly loved working there - I would too!

The restaurant was great, great food, great service, and a beautiful place to sit back, relax, and take it all in.

The staff also organised any tours we wanted and offered advice on which operators to use. We booked everything through them, including 4 dives, and the jungle zipline (must do!)

All in all, a 5-star experience. Blown away by it.

Would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: Bungalows are well worth the little bit extra you will pay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Vila
2.5 mi away
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
#11 of 46 in Port Vila
4.0 of 5 stars 1,257 reviews
3.9 mi away
Aquana Beach Resort
Aquana Beach Resort
#4 of 46 in Port Vila
5.0 of 5 stars 260 reviews
12.2 mi away
The Havannah
The Havannah
#1 of 2 in Port Havannah
5.0 of 5 stars 447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu
3.5 mi away
Paradise Cove Resort
Paradise Cove Resort
#2 of 46 in Port Vila
5.0 of 5 stars 460 reviews
3.0 mi away
Nasama Resort
Nasama Resort
#9 of 46 in Port Vila
4.5 of 5 stars 349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Bungalows Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Bungalows Resort

Property: Sunset Bungalows Resort
Address: Teouma Road, 2nd Lagoon, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu
Location: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Port Vila
#3 Romantic Hotel in Port Vila
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Port Vila
#15 Family Hotel in Port Vila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sunset Bungalows Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled quietly on the waters edge within a tropical setting and fantastic views across Emten Lagoon. Luxurious surrounds includes a swimming pool with waterfall, over-water restaurant and bar. Sunset Bungalows Resort is a peaceful tropical escape with its relaxing adults only status, ideal for honeymooners. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Otel, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Sunset Bungalows Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Bungalows Hotel Port Vila
Sunset Hotel Port Vila
Sunset Resort Port Vila
Sunset Bungalows Vanuatu
Sunset Bungalows Resort Vanuatu/Port Vila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing