We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Over rated, suspicious reviews”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sunset Bungalows Resort
Ranked #8 of 47 Hotels in Port Vila
Certificate of Excellence
Port Vila, Vanuatu
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Over rated, suspicious reviews”
Reviewed August 23, 2008

I last visited Sunset about 2-3 months ago. The pool was empty, pumps broken and the grounds looked pretty ordinary and not well maintained. The rooms are quite nice but it is a very small property squeezed between a busy road and the lagoon. No place for children to play. Nice view of the lagoon and the food is good but a little expensive. A tiny bit of sandy beach on the lagoon. Some of the review here are a little too generous? Genuine reviews???

  • Liked — nice rooms
  • Disliked — pool out of order, grounds poorly kept
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank dazau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMTWO, General Manager at Sunset Bungalows Resort, responded to this review, August 26, 2008
Sunset Bungalows has recently undergone a change of management and the reviews we have received are due to the enormous amount of time and effort that has been put in to rectify past areas of concern.

The pool was an area of concern and this has been rectified.

Sunset Bungalows is a strictly over 18 years of age resort and therefore we do not cater for children, or play areas.

All contributions are genuine and unsolicited and therefore we are very proud to see that so many people have enjoyed their stay since this reviewer was apparently a guest with his family (?) at Sunset Bungalows in March.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

568 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    387
    137
    31
    11
    2
See reviews for
28
438
15
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Copacabana NSW Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 9, 2008

Intimate, seculded boutique bungalows. Set over the second lagoon with views across the water to a distant undeveloped shore line. Smoke occasionally rises from tribal villages deeper in the jungle. Wild yellow hibiscus flowers float by signaling wind strength and direction.

Organic tropical fruit skewed on coconut leaf spine for breakfast, organic beef carpaccio followed by T'bone for dinner make this one of the best restaurants in Vila. Make sure you go French too. Try Les Alizers, they will pick you up and take you home.

Genuinely warm staff are interested, helpful and obviously happy with their jobs, their lives. Their local knowledge made our trip.

Use the local bus system to take in all the sights and sounds of Port Vila. Each trip costs about $A1, the city is about 5 minutes away and you will encounter real life in Vanuatu.

I felt lucky each time we went on a tour and picked up visitors staying in larger 'generic' 4 & 5 star accommodation. At Sunset you feel like you are in Vanuatu, the happiest place on earth.

One problem, there is nowhere to go for an after dinner stroll. Take your stroll before coming home.

  • Liked — Small intimate genuinely Vanuatu.
  • Disliked — Nowhere to go for an after dinner stroll.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank worldtravellor47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2008

My partner and I had a great time and the Sunset Bungalows in late July '08.

Special thanks go the staff - especially Annie, who organised our tours. The rooms were stunning, food was excellent, and the locale was brilliant (nice and quiet!)

Thank you so much for looking after us and all the very best to Roland who has recently started managing the hotel.

Highly recommended!!!

  • Liked — the staff, rooms and restaurant
  • Disliked — nothing, it was all wonderful!
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank TMayhew2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
1 review
Reviewed July 21, 2008

Our overall experience was wonderful. We were on our homeymoon and would recommend this place to anyone else for their homeymoon.

We did not stay in the large studio suite, but found the smaller suite very comfortable with plenty of space for a couple.

The bathroom / shower was very spacious and modern. The balcony was large enough for a table and chairs and it overhung the lagoon.

The food was superb, the menu was quite varied, the service from staff was prompt and friendly.

We had lots of fun getting to know the staff, they were very amiable. The husband / wife managers are from Brisbane and go out of their way to provide all your needs.

We did speak to other travellers who had some bad experiences at other resorts. But not so for us at Sunset Bungalows.

The resort is about a 8 minute drive to the main town centre. Local buses pass by the resort regularly and the fare is 100 Vt per person - about $1.10 AUD

There's lots to see and do - we stayed for a week - you could easily spend 4 weeks here and not see everything.

Must do things / see in Vanuatu

Volcano - Tanna Is - overnight if possible
Waterfall - casscades
Melanisian feast
Scuba dive to see wrecks
Visit local villiages

All the best

David & Penny ( 0412 873838 - Australia )

  • Liked — Clean, spacious, friendly service, great food, great location
  • Disliked — squeaky bed :-)
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David079
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 18, 2008

Sunset Bungalows is the perfect place to stay if you are wanting a quiet and romantic getaway. There are only a handful of bungalows so it is quiet and ideal for couples. The presentation of the rooms was AA+ with a large bed, good sized bathrooms and kitchenette and large bifold doors that open out onto a balcony over the water. The restaurant attached is also a bonus if you are wanting to stay in and has the option of eating in the rafters, inside or out on the beautiful deck on the water. Staff are fabulous - we loved our waitress Annie who got us absolutely everything we required. Would highly recommend!! Only negative-ish comment i would have to make is that the continental breakfast included was not enough for us and does not include much variety. However there are options to upgrade your breakfast if you are a bigger eater!

  • Liked — The rooms and particularly the bifold doors opening up over the water
  • Disliked — Lights in the bathroom were too dim
  • Stayed August 2005, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Auzski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 5, 2008

Wow! my Partner and I were searching for a place to get married overseas, and after researching the Pacific Islands on the net, we liked the untouched look of Vanuatu.

About 4 months later we won a prize to Vanuatu staying at Sunset Bungalows, which funnily enough was the place I had chosen before winning the prize!

From the moment we arrived and Sunset, the staff went out of thier way to pamper us. Fresh coconut's complete with straw and hibiscus flower.
Our room devine! I love the four poster bed with canopy, and the special touch of flowers everywhere.

Now to the wedding.... the resort manager Learnna was amazing she organised everything, flowers, hair, food, the Lord mayor to marry us, decorations....photos! etc etc It was a fairytale wedding in a neverland location.. We loved everything.

They took care of all our guests and it was wonderful sitting outside on the deck having breakfast (fruit, toast, crossiants, coffee) with all your friends just listening to the water and watching the fish below you, before heading off on a tour around the island with all you friends.

We will go back for sure and in 10 years time we shall renew our wedding vows there too.

  • Liked — my doors in room that fully opened up to my over water balcony
  • Disliked — Slight noise from traffic, but hardly noticed it
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Sevenof9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hervey Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2008

This was our second stay at Sunset Bungalows. We enjoyed it so much the first time we had to go back!
From the minute you arrive you feel like you are coming back home to family.The staff are all so genuinely courteous and welcoming and give you that individual attention without being over bearing.
They are happy and enthusiastic to help you organise your day with tours or even hail a bus in the pouring rain. All the while with the biggest smiles!
At the end of your day they are keen to hear how your enjoyed exploring their incredible Island and help you relax with a cocktail.
The cuisine at Bungalow Ate would have to match any top International Hotel. The food is beautifully presented, tastes superb and is moderately priced with generous portions. The chefs seem to delight in their work and many an evening could be heard singing in the kitchen. We have only ever experienced that in Italy, so it was a treat to be entertained as we dined overlooking the romantic and softly lit lagoon.
The Bungalows themselves are beautifully set up. The Melanesian decor lends itself to a tasteful, relaxing atmosphere and you can't beat having the tropical pool outside your door and the lagoon from your deck. In fact that would have to be the finale ....waking up in a spacious Four poster bed, bi-fold plantation shutter doors fully opened, to view that magnificent reflective lagoon which is infinitely tranquil. A great way to start the day. You have to be there. Sunset Bungalows You Rock!

  • Liked — The friendly atmosphere
  • Disliked — Nothing it's hard to beat
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank BIngles2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Vila hotels
3.2 mi away
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
#12 of 47 in Port Vila
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,442 reviews
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
#15 of 47 in Port Vila
4.5 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
13.3 mi away
The Havannah, Vanuatu
The Havannah, Vanuatu
#3 of 47 in Port Vila
5.0 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Iririki Island Resort & Spa
4.3 mi away
Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu
3.9 mi away
Nasama Resort
Nasama Resort
#7 of 47 in Port Vila
4.5 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Bungalows Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Bungalows Resort

Property: Sunset Bungalows Resort
Address: Teouma Road | 2nd Lagoon, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu
Location: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Port Vila
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Port Vila
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Port Vila
#15 Family Hotel in Port Vila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sunset Bungalows Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled quietly on the waters edge within a tropical setting and fantastic views across Emten Lagoon. Luxurious surrounds includes a swimming pool with waterfall, over-water restaurant and bar. Sunset Bungalows Resort is a peaceful tropical escape with its relaxing adults only status, ideal for honeymooners. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sunset Bungalows Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Bungalows Hotel Port Vila
Sunset Hotel Port Vila
Sunset Resort Port Vila
Sunset Bungalows Vanuatu
Sunset Bungalows Resort Vanuatu/Port Vila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing