We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel, Great Staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sunset Bungalows Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sunset Bungalows Resort
Ranked #10 of 48 Hotels in Port Vila
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Hotel, Great Staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2013

Recently returned from 8 days holiday at Sunset Bungalows. This was our first trip to Vanuatu and we are very happy that we chose Sunset Bungalows. A big thank you to Greg, Audrey and the team! I also chose to propose to my fiancé at Sunset and I would like to extend a special thank you to the staff who were amazing in what they did for me to make the occasion perfect. We were made to feel welcome from the very first minute upon walking in. The rooms are spacious and very clean, being able to fish right off my balcony was a neat little experience and the free kayaks were great. At first we were a little concerned about being located a bit outside of town but like a lot of other people have mentioned it really didn't affect anything at all, we never had to wait more that 2 minutes for a bus to drive past and the location on the lagoon is very peaceful to come back to. One thing that we especially appreciated was the advice and recommendations from Greg & Audrey, being able to have someone pass on some local knowledge on what to do and when to do things made the whole experience even more special. The food at the resort is pretty good, the cocktails great, I think the menu could do with some expanding though and also on occasions the wait times for food was a little long but that is very minor thing and overall this resort really is fantastic. I would highly recommend Sunset Bungalows to people travelling to Vanuatu and we will definitely stay again on our next trip to Vanuatu.
Thank you again Greg, Audrey and the team at Sunset for a wonderful trip!
Daniel & Tat

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

556 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    377
    136
    30
    11
    2
See reviews for
28
428
15
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bunbury, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2013

My husbands 60th Birthday prezzy was a holiday to Vanuatu. We enjoyed Sunset Bungalows.
Our room was over the water. Just fantastic. Everyone was very friendly and helpful.
The cocktail's were the best. So Yum.
Audrey organised a fishing trip and I caught a 21 kg fish. (showed the boys up)

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gravityo6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2013

Recently returned from a weeks holiday at Sunset Bungalows. We booked the Honeymoon suite as we like our space and privacy and feel that this is worth the extra cost. Our room was set away from others and was private and large. It has a kitchenette, four poster bed and large bathroom with two person spa and a large deck. One of the best things was that there are loungers and table and chairs on the deck for the Honeymoon suite but only chairs and tables on the other overwater bungalows.

Audrey and Greg were extremely helpful in suggesting places to visit and eat. Transport into Port Vila was fantastic and an 'experience' at times.... do not let this hotel being slightly out of town be a negative .... I would say its a positive as Port Vila is not a particularly attractive town and Sunset Bungalows was a little peace of paradise away from the hectic pace of Port Vila.

Only negative (being very picky here).... breakfast - had to pay for extras like bacon ($3 for portion which was one slice is too expensive).

Great holiday - highly recommended!

Room Tip: Honeymoon suite worth the extra in my opinion
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annette M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2013

Audrey and Greg made us feel welcome and helped us with our holiday adventures. It was my 60th birthday celebration so I wanted to do it all. With the complementary Kayaks from Sunset, Tony and I headed off across the lagoon,it was my first time and I loved it,we also snorkeled in the Lagoon but also did a reef trip. I recommend taking your own gear to use as it would be terrible to miss out. We abseiled down a 150 ft water fall at the Mele Cascades,,me at my age,,,what did I think? Loved it and I would do it again. In a heart beat. ,,,,,,we also did the Zip Line ( flying Fox ) again, crazy but ,,oh my god,,,fantastic. When in town I recommend a Resturant called Chill...food was fantastic and very affordable.,,,,We have traveled extensively and many places once leaving your room are left to your own devices but all the staff where very happy to help.the Sunset was very clean and our room looking over the lagoon was priceless....if I was to return, would I stay at The Sunset again? Without a doubt. Thankyou Audrey and Greg for making our stay and my birthday a trip to remember,, This a genuine review,, anyone wanting to travel to Vanuatu and have fantastic time, I recommend The Sunset Bungalows. Cheers Vicki and Tony.

Room Tip: Our room was fantastic and if I could bring the bed home I would,,,
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vickisholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucasia, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2013

My partner and I recently stayed at Sunset Bungalows in a Bungalow on the water and it was fabulous. The room was stunning and very clean. Anything we needed was attended too promptly by the staff. All the staff were great and friendly. The food was yummy and reasonably priced and the cocktails were the highlight!! They all make delicious cocktails, best ones in Vanuatu I think and I did try a few! We would highly recommend staying here as we always felt comfortable and it was a pleasure to come back too after a long day! Greg and Audrey and all the staff were fantastic!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ellie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013

We so enjoyed are stay at Sunset Bungalows and Vanuatu. The resort is not new but is maintain to a good standard. The room was large with a king size canopy bed, you opened your bi-fold luvre doors onto your on balcony right on the lagoon, we were lucky we had a ground floor room. The room and bathroom were very clean. going to sleep listening to lapping water was just magic, no traffic noise bliss.
Audrey, Greg, Bong and staff were very friendly, helpful and a joy to speak with. We took the Island tour with John, he is also very nice and the tour was great.
Sunset Bungalows is a small adults only resort well worth staying if this is what you like. they make some mean cocktails and the food was very good although the menu was a bit limited.
Taking the bus into Port Vila was always interesting and cheap.
We highly recommend a trip to Vanuatu and Sunset Bungalows for a laid back enjoyable holiday.
Anne and Jim

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anne O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2013

The sunset bungalows was a great place to relax and unwind. The resort is small with adults only
and only a short bus trip to Port Vila.
Our Bungalow was on the lagoon where you could hear the water lapiing and watch the fish
and starfish from the balcony. Our room was large and well serviced and clean as was the rest
of the Resort.
The food in the Restaurant was great with breakfast,lunch and dinner being available, breakfast
was included in our acommodation costs .
Audrey and Greg were fantastic hosts offering lots of friendly advice and helping to organise
tours for us .One of our highlights being the full day cruise on the Catermaran what a fantastic
day we had .
The pool was very relaxing and the guys certainly enjoyed the hammocks .
It was great to be able to relax with a cocktail at the end of a busy day and talk with other guests
in the bar area.
Thanks to Audrey and Greg, Bong and the other staff for helping us to have a relaxing enjoyable
holiday we will be back.
Karen and Mike Simeonoff

Room Tip: The stand alone Bungalows are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Vila hotels
2.5 mi away
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
#12 of 48 in Port Vila
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,414 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
#15 of 48 in Port Vila
4.5 of 5 bubbles 634 reviews
12.2 mi away
The Havannah, Vanuatu
The Havannah, Vanuatu
#3 of 48 in Port Vila
5.0 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Iririki Island Resort & Spa
3.4 mi away
Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu
3.0 mi away
Nasama Resort
Nasama Resort
#7 of 48 in Port Vila
4.5 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Bungalows Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Bungalows Resort

Property: Sunset Bungalows Resort
Address: Teouma Road, 2nd Lagoon, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu
Location: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Port Vila
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Port Vila
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Port Vila
#15 Family Hotel in Port Vila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sunset Bungalows Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled quietly on the waters edge within a tropical setting and fantastic views across Emten Lagoon. Luxurious surrounds includes a swimming pool with waterfall, over-water restaurant and bar. Sunset Bungalows Resort is a peaceful tropical escape with its relaxing adults only status, ideal for honeymooners. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Booking.com so you can book your Sunset Bungalows Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Bungalows Hotel Port Vila
Sunset Hotel Port Vila
Sunset Resort Port Vila
Sunset Bungalows Vanuatu
Sunset Bungalows Resort Vanuatu/Port Vila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing