We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“idyllic holiday” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sunset Bungalows Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sunset Bungalows Resort
Ranked #3 of 46 Hotels in Port Vila
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“idyllic holiday”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

We had a wonderful relaxing week here at the end of July. Our bungalow over the water was our idea of a perfect holiday location. Being able to look out onto the tranquil lagoon not only from our balcony but also from the generous sized living area was a big attraction. We also like that Sunset Bungalows is a small resort catering to adults only. It’s in a great location away from hustle and bustle, yet only a short bus ride away if you want to take advantage of everything that Port Vila has to offer, or to venture further away. Greg and Audrey are perfect hosts and genuinely interested in all their guests; the staff are friendly and helpful; the gardens and pool are luscious and beautifully kept. We will definitely come back to Sunset Bungalows.

Room Tip: a bungalow over the water is ideal
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gumnut2070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

513 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    354
    123
    27
    8
    1
See reviews for
25
390
15
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Canberra
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

This stay was just too good - so good in fact I really want to go back!
Thanks to Audrey, Greg and all the staff at Sunset Bungalows - you know how to welcome visitors and make their stay enjoyable. Great tips from Greg on where to go, and what to do in and around Port Vila.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Vesna N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

We stayed for a week in August and my partner and I had the most perfect and relaxing break.
One of the days we went deep sea fishing and brought back our catch where the restaurant were kind enough to cook up our Mahi Mahi anyway we wanted and it was divine!
The room was amazing and we also fished off the balcony, we made use of the DVD library, kayaks and the quiet and lovely pool area.
I would recommend Sunset Bungalows to anyone looking for a conveniently located, peaceful and friendly complex.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Glitzyritzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buderim, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

If you are wanting to have a relaxing holiday with not a child in sight, well this is it! The property has it's on onsite restaurant and bar, and breakfast is included in the price of your accommodation. The staff are nothing but helpful and accommodating! Try the steak with burnt butter sauce- to die for! For couples, if you suddenly decide you want to get married, well there is the onsite chapel which you can marry in. Swim in either the lagoon or one of two pools, and make sure you have drinks in the bar watching the sunset- it's something magical.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FionaSharpe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

We have just spent the last 6 days here and have absolutely loved it. The staff were all just fabulous assisted us with everything we needed- even organized some special beer to be in the fridge when we arrived for my husbands bday!!
It is truly a perfect place to get away and relax!!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cassandra R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Central, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights and it was worth every $$. Managers Audrey and Greg were superb. They well exceeded our expectations in making sunset bungalows a great stay.
Location was perfect with overwater balcony. Just a perfect place to be :-) quiet location and hang out on the balcony for sunset or just to watch lagoon. Absolute bliss.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Navneet G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new zealand
Level Contributor
80 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

the location is superb .the rooms are good ,enhanced by over water balconies. food is good but the menu is limited by the size of the resort .staff are great . always happy and helpful . but the strength of this resort is in the management team . audrey and greg are the best hosts we have ever experienced in our travels across the pacific .from organizing trips around vanuatu to shouting a final drink nothing is too much trouble . . stay at the sunset , you will love it ./

Room Tip: just try it
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jackmorrisNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Vila
2.5 mi away
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
#11 of 46 in Port Vila
4.0 of 5 stars 1,257 reviews
3.9 mi away
Aquana Beach Resort
Aquana Beach Resort
#5 of 46 in Port Vila
5.0 of 5 stars 259 reviews
12.2 mi away
The Havannah
The Havannah
#1 of 2 in Port Havannah
5.0 of 5 stars 447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu
3.5 mi away
Paradise Cove Resort
Paradise Cove Resort
#2 of 46 in Port Vila
5.0 of 5 stars 460 reviews
3.0 mi away
Nasama Resort
Nasama Resort
#9 of 46 in Port Vila
4.5 of 5 stars 349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Bungalows Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Bungalows Resort

Property: Sunset Bungalows Resort
Address: Teouma Road, 2nd Lagoon, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu
Location: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Port Vila
#3 Romantic Hotel in Port Vila
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Port Vila
#15 Family Hotel in Port Vila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sunset Bungalows Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled quietly on the waters edge within a tropical setting and fantastic views across Emten Lagoon. Luxurious surrounds includes a swimming pool with waterfall, over-water restaurant and bar. Sunset Bungalows Resort is a peaceful tropical escape with its relaxing adults only status, ideal for honeymooners. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Travelocity, Otel and Agoda so you can book your Sunset Bungalows Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Bungalows Hotel Port Vila
Sunset Hotel Port Vila
Sunset Resort Port Vila
Sunset Bungalows Vanuatu
Sunset Bungalows Resort Vanuatu/Port Vila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing