We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Peaceful and calming” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sunset Bungalows Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sunset Bungalows Resort
Ranked #3 of 46 Hotels in Port Vila
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Peaceful and calming”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

I stayed here with my partner and 6 other friends. We all stayed in the bungalows and stayed for six days. Everyday we spent the day out of the resort and most nights had dinner out too. I think this is the best way to stay at Sunset Bungalows.

We found that the breakfast was outstanding here - recommend the bircher muesli! But the lunch and dinner was average. Recommend dining out. The food service is also quite slow but the service is always good and very polite!

We loved that SB had free wifi (the other place we stayed did not). The best part about the bungalows is enjoying the deck, reading a good book and listening to the water lap against the rocks.

All in all we really enjoyed our stay here - lovely people, great location and lovely rooms - ask for the four poster bed!! I'd go back :)

Room Tip: Request the four poster bed rooms - lovely! We stayed in Efate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank abigail0212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

513 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    354
    123
    27
    8
    1
See reviews for
25
390
15
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Canberra
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Stayed with my partner, parent and (adult) brother in late July-early August 2012. My partner and I stayed in a bungalow while the rest of my family stayed in two rooms in the apartments on the other side. We were worried that their experience wouldn't be as nice as ours in the BEAUTIFUL bungalows, but the apartments are really lovely too, interior design is the same as the bungalows. I certainly would have no hesitation in staying in an apartment if I didn't want to spend the extra! The main difference with a bungalow is there is a little more privacy/separation between you and your neighbours, and the balcony/decks are right over the water - lots of beautiful starfish to see. Bungalows also have a kitchen (though we only used the fridge and kettle).

Sunset is a small, quiet complex that is low key and just what we were after. We visited Breakas but it's so 'resort-y' - big, brash, yuk.

Transport is a breeze - you're about 10mins out of the main town area in Vila, but buses go past constantly so you never have any problems getting around.

Sunset's restaurant is good, breakfast is great although a little slow sometimes and often out of key ingredients for days in a row (eg bananas for their awesome French toast!). For dinner the prawn cocktail entree is DELICIOUS, do it. Never tasted prawns so good!

I was quite ill while we were there and the staff were more than happy to bring meals to our bungalow. Speaking of the staff, they are in the main delightful, with special mention to Sheila who is a gem!

I would definitely stay again and recommend to others.

Room Tip: We stayed in the bungalow called Pentacost. It's about in the middle of the row and was very nic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lola_sharp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

We picked Sunset Bungalow because of the previous reviews, we weren't disapointed.
The Bungalows were very nicely appointed although we had to purchase paper plates, knives and forks to have an evening nibble of cheese, biscuits and a wine on the balcony.
To sit out on the balcony overlooking the lagoon watching the fish, starfish, crabs etc doing their thing was very restful.
The staff were extremely pleasant and there was always a smile and thank you. Nothing was an effort to organise a trip or meal at an unusual time.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank orange40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
133 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We stayed at the Sunset Bungalows for one week. We had a lovely over the water bungalow. Everything was clean and worked. The food at the restaurant was fantastic especially the Coconut Crab in a garlic cream sauce which we had on the first night. The breakfasts which were included were great and were cooked on demand. Try the omelette...so fluffy. The staff were great and nothing was ever too much trouble. The location is slightly out of town but a 10 metre walk up to the road to get a bus for 150V per person was very easy and the buses go about every few minutes.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rmp26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

We stayed at the sunset bungalows for 7 days, the first impression was breathtaking, walking into our bungalow with the doors open to the balcony was fantastic, over the water of the lagoon the views were magical, room was all you needed for a quiet get a way. The only points that need attention are the mould around the bathroom sink (room 202), not enough pillows in the room, and no dresser for your clothes. Bar fridge not stocked either. The staff are very friendly and helpful, food was good and cocktails great. Wifi very slow and only available in the reception and restaurant. Pool area very tropical and inviting, not much to do after dark, need to head to town, which is not a problem with the main road right at your door step, easy bus access.

Room Tip: Quiet place to stay but if you want somewhere with activities, stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

We had an absolutely awesome time at Sunset Bungalows. Everything was great. Staff were lovely, food was lovely, our room was lovely. The private balcony over the water was stunning and we got to watch the sunset from it every night. Looking forward to coming back!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sheree G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

We only spent one day here during a stopover in Port Vila so we could get married in paradise! Some of my family were already there and after being there for a few days they were extremely impressed with the rooms, the facilities, the staff, the food, and pretty much everything about the whole experience! Our wedding planner Pin had organised everything for us, with everything done exactly as we had asked. The wonderful owners Learnna and Jase were there to greet us and made us feel most welcome. The ceremony and all that followed including an awesome wedding feast just made the whole day a most memorable experience. Could not recommend more highly and are already planning ahead to return for a longer stay!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kate W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Vila
2.5 mi away
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
#11 of 46 in Port Vila
4.0 of 5 stars 1,257 reviews
3.9 mi away
Aquana Beach Resort
Aquana Beach Resort
#4 of 46 in Port Vila
5.0 of 5 stars 260 reviews
12.2 mi away
The Havannah
The Havannah
#1 of 2 in Port Havannah
5.0 of 5 stars 447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu
3.5 mi away
Paradise Cove Resort
Paradise Cove Resort
#2 of 46 in Port Vila
5.0 of 5 stars 460 reviews
3.0 mi away
Nasama Resort
Nasama Resort
#9 of 46 in Port Vila
4.5 of 5 stars 349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Bungalows Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Bungalows Resort

Property: Sunset Bungalows Resort
Address: Teouma Road, 2nd Lagoon, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu
Location: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Port Vila
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Port Vila
#3 Romantic Hotel in Port Vila
#15 Family Hotel in Port Vila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sunset Bungalows Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled quietly on the waters edge within a tropical setting and fantastic views across Emten Lagoon. Luxurious surrounds includes a swimming pool with waterfall, over-water restaurant and bar. Sunset Bungalows Resort is a peaceful tropical escape with its relaxing adults only status, ideal for honeymooners. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Otel, HotelTravel.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Sunset Bungalows Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Bungalows Hotel Port Vila
Sunset Hotel Port Vila
Sunset Resort Port Vila
Sunset Bungalows Vanuatu
Sunset Bungalows Resort Vanuatu/Port Vila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing