We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful spot”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sunset Bungalows Resort
Ranked #9 of 47 Hotels in Port Vila
Certificate of Excellence
Perth
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Beautiful spot”
Reviewed October 17, 2012

We stayed at the sunset bungalows for 7 days, the first impression was breathtaking, walking into our bungalow with the doors open to the balcony was fantastic, over the water of the lagoon the views were magical, room was all you needed for a quiet get a way. The only points that need attention are the mould around the bathroom sink (room 202), not enough pillows in the room, and no dresser for your clothes. Bar fridge not stocked either. The staff are very friendly and helpful, food was good and cocktails great. Wifi very slow and only available in the reception and restaurant. Pool area very tropical and inviting, not much to do after dark, need to head to town, which is not a problem with the main road right at your door step, easy bus access.

Room Tip: Quiet place to stay but if you want somewhere with activities, stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

577 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    394
    139
    31
    11
    2
See reviews for
30
442
16
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Napier, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

We had an absolutely awesome time at Sunset Bungalows. Everything was great. Staff were lovely, food was lovely, our room was lovely. The private balcony over the water was stunning and we got to watch the sunset from it every night. Looking forward to coming back!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sheree G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012

We only spent one day here during a stopover in Port Vila so we could get married in paradise! Some of my family were already there and after being there for a few days they were extremely impressed with the rooms, the facilities, the staff, the food, and pretty much everything about the whole experience! Our wedding planner Pin had organised everything for us, with everything done exactly as we had asked. The wonderful owners Learnna and Jase were there to greet us and made us feel most welcome. The ceremony and all that followed including an awesome wedding feast just made the whole day a most memorable experience. Could not recommend more highly and are already planning ahead to return for a longer stay!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kate W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

From the minute we were shown our gorgeous room until we checked out our stay was so memorably wonderful. Wow what a room beautiful Asian style furnishings 4 poster bed to a wall that folds away to reveal water lapping on your private verandah with tropical fish and starfish in crystal clear water, The friendliest of staff large double shower separate toilet. comfortable bed white linen and cooked breakfast in lovely setting overlooking the water and tropical landscape . Adults only ..Easy ride into town $1.50 P.P and the buses come by every few minutes. Just far enough (5 min). Ride from port Vila to be so quiet and romantic. Every time we came back to our room it took my breath away it was So romantic. We have stayed in many 5 star places that have offered far less in ambience.. I think they have under rated themselves. Loved it we will be back!!!

Room Tip: Upgrade to a superior bungalow. We had room 202
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Valerie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Stayed here for 8 nights with my partner and was just perfect!! Where do I start the staff were just amazing and so helpful, bungalow was just lovely and very comfortable, restaurant and food was outstanding! We are missing it already and want to return sooner than later. Would highly highly recommend this resort to anyone!! Well done!! Hopefully see you again soon!!

Room Tip: Defiantly go for a bungalow if you are after a relaxing get away!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Reneemoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

My partner and I stayed here 2 weeks ago for 7 nights. This was our first trip out of Australia and it was amazing! It was worth every cent we paid. We looked to get out of the lifestyle of Australia and looked for peace and tranquility! We had booked in for a Superior bungalow with a kitchen. When we arrived, we were shown to a room that didn't have one. We informed the manager and he quickly sorted out the problem and showed us to our new room (208). The room was beautiful and despite what other people have said, we had a really comfortable bed and pillows. There was a little problem with the water pressure in the bathrooms but that was to be expected because we didn't stay in town. The toilet paper (amongst other things) decided to float a bit before it went down (haha!). The food was excellent. We ate at the restaurant a few times because it was very quiet and we really enjoyed the quietness of the resort despite being on the main road. The staff were extremely helpful and very nice. If our tour buses were late they would simply ring them up for us, hassle free!

We have already decided to come back for our honeymoon! (And hopefully stay for longer than a week!)

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a kitchen. It was really nice having a coffee or tea while you watched the sunse...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Wendy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

My husband and I just returned from 4 nights at the Sunset Bungalows. The check-in was very easy , and we were met with warm smiles and a cool drink.
The room ( 215 ) was very nice. Large and clean. The timber doors slide open and that leads to a verandah over the stunning lagoon. The view is amazing.
Tried to put our passports ect in the safe, but could not get it opened. Phoned reception, and they said they would send someone the next day to open the safe. As expected, they did not come, and we did not ask again...Vanuatu Time ???
When you order a meal at the restaurant, they advise you of all the things they do not have available ie / no ham, no prawns ect...once again, did not let that bother us at all. The bed is as hard as a rock..still trying to get over the pain in our backs.
The staff are very very nice....the location, on the lagoon, is very quite and peaceful...so really we didn't mind the small issues.My husband and I had a very restfull and pleasant holiday.

Room Tip: catch the "buses " across the road from the Resort....you can't miss them, they have a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lovetotravel10140
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Vila hotels
3.2 mi away
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
#13 of 47 in Port Vila
1,463 reviews
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
#15 of 47 in Port Vila
661 reviews
13.3 mi away
The Havannah, Vanuatu
The Havannah, Vanuatu
#3 of 47 in Port Vila
545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Iririki Island Resort & Spa
4.3 mi away
Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu
3.9 mi away
Nasama Resort
Nasama Resort
#7 of 47 in Port Vila
477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Bungalows Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Bungalows Resort

Property: Sunset Bungalows Resort
Address: Teouma Road | 2nd Lagoon, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu
Location: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Port Vila
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Port Vila
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Port Vila
#15 Family Hotel in Port Vila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sunset Bungalows Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled quietly on the waters edge within a tropical setting and fantastic views across Emten Lagoon. Luxurious surrounds includes a swimming pool with waterfall, over-water restaurant and bar. Sunset Bungalows Resort is a peaceful tropical escape with its relaxing adults only status, ideal for honeymooners. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Sunset Bungalows Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Bungalows Hotel Port Vila
Sunset Hotel Port Vila
Sunset Resort Port Vila
Sunset Bungalows Vanuatu
Sunset Bungalows Resort Vanuatu/Port Vila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing