We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable bed and great view”
Review of Fatumaru Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fatumaru Lodge
Ranked #8 of 47 Hotels in Port Vila
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 9, 2014 via mobile

On my fourth visit to FL and I really look forward to coming back. Staff are very efficient and friendly. Rooms spacious, beds very comfortable and have some really good local artwork. Breakfast by the pool with passionfruit smoothies, fresh fruit, hot croissants and Tanna coffee takes some beating. Quiet but close to town. If I had to fibd something to complain about it would be the sometimes unreliable internet coverage in the waterside rooms but that just means I spend mire time by the pool, which is where I am writing this. Great place to stay.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
1  Thank RichFra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rae E, Manager at Fatumaru Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thanks for your great review, hope to see you again in Port Vila

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (408)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

177 - 183 of 408 reviews

Reviewed July 7, 2014

Nice setting on the waterfront in quiet secluded bay.Very helpful informed staff and good facilities (pool, kayaks etc) Rooms are cool and airy. Handy location for town; just step onto pavement outside hotels & Buses pull over for you.

Room Tip: Rooms near the water are quieter. At weekends noise from the road is louder in the rooms nearer the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Sheila363
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rae E, Manager at Fatumaru Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thanks for your great review, hope to see you again in Port Vila

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2014

We have just returned from 7 nights at Fatumaru Lodge and when in Vila would not hesitate to stay here again. As others have said it's about 15 minutes walk in to town but not a bad walk. The units are self catering if you're that way inclined which works out well as there's a BBQ by the pool which guests can use. We used it 3 nights while there as we were with a group and it makes for a social evening. There are plenty of local "supermarkets" around where you can get the basics or a bigger one in the main town. If you like a beer make sure you stock up before the weekend as the shops don't sell in the weekend. The rooms were all clean and have aircon as well as a ceiling fan. The big doors on the deck stack wide open making for great flow. Mosquito coils were also in our room for our use. The staff were great and helped with booking taxis and organising other trips. Another thing which is very helpful is a folder at reception which has menus from the local restaurants and tells you how far away they are. Finally a special mention must go to Dexter the cat. We love animals and every morning Dexter would be waiting to come in and sleep on the bed. She seemed very gentle sp probably fine with kids. We will definately stay here again.

Room Tip: The downstairs rooms can get a little noisey if there are kids or adults stomping around upstairs. B...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kotuku20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rae E, Manager at Fatumaru Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thanks for your great review, hope to see you again in Port Vila

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2014

Stayed for 1 night on a business trip, beautiful views of the water, quiet, safe and a few minutes drive from town. Excellent staff offered free upgrade on arrival and very good service. Will be back.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BRP82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rae E, Manager at Fatumaru Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thanks for your great review, hope to see you again in Port Vila

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2014

Great location near airport and 15 minute walk into town. Upgraded to owners apartment was lovely. Breakfast mice by the pool, kayaks and paddle boards available for use. Staff friendly apartment clean.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Craig C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rae E, Manager at Fatumaru Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thanks for your great review, hope to see you again in Port Vila

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2014

We had 10 days in beautiful Vanuatu staying at the Fatumaru Lodge. Comfortable, clean, A/C accommodation with lovely staff who could not do enough for us, accommodation is close to town and the airport. I would definitely recommend this Fatumaru Lodge, full European standards for good price.

Room Tip: Santo - best room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Matto_SVK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rae E, Manager at Fatumaru Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thanks for your great review, hope to see you again in Port Vila

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2014

We stayed just one night and regret we couldn't stay longer. Staff was very helpful and friendly, good breakfast, nice little bay, close to town and airport, quiet, can kayak or stand up paddle:) We stayed at Emoa - spacious room very tastefully furnished, good size balcony; couldn't recommend it enough:) Oh we went to a newly opened restaurant 5 min walk from the lodge Au Fare, beautiful restaurant on the bay, really good food and excellent service!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank sylwia25Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rae E, Manager at Fatumaru Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thanks for your great review, hope to see you again in Port Vila

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Vila hotels
2.9 mi away
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
#12 of 47 in Port Vila
1,516 reviews
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
#14 of 47 in Port Vila
692 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Melanesian Port Vila
The Melanesian Port Vila
#25 of 47 in Port Vila
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Grand Hotel And Casino
Grand Hotel And Casino
#19 of 47 in Port Vila
539 reviews
1.2 mi away
Iririki Island Resort & Spa
3.4 mi away
Nasama Resort
Nasama Resort
#7 of 47 in Port Vila
499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fatumaru Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fatumaru Lodge

Address: Walter Lini Hwy | PO Box 1359, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu
Phone Number:
Location: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Port Vila
#9 Romantic Hotel in Port Vila
#10 Family Hotel in Port Vila
Price Range: $108 - $207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Fatumaru Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waterfront boutique hotel offering spacious and comfortable self-contained apartments with a panoramic view on Port-Vila Bay. Decorated with Melanesian craft, each room is different. Swimming pool, Jaccuzzi, private beach and air conditioning. Close to town center. Ideal for families and couples. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your Fatumaru Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fatumaru Hotel Port Vila
Fatumaru Lodge Vanuatu/Port Vila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing