We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“viki's ladies getaway” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fatumaru Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Fatumaru Lodge to your Saves list
Fatumaru Lodge
3.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   Walter Lini Hwy | PO Box 1359, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 46 Hotels in Port Vila
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“viki's ladies getaway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

8 ladies stayed for 5 nights in september 2013, we had 2, 2 bedroom villas and 1 single room. rooms were lovely and clean,beds comfortable. the first morning we were asked if everything was ok with our rooms and if not what can we do to fix it. the light that had blown was fix that morning. loved the huge bifold doors that opened up. staff were fantastic,a bit of traffic noise from the top rooms, nothing too bad. liz, sebrina and julie were very heplful in sending us in the right direction. walk into town very easy. pool spotless just a bit cold. breakfast fruit, croissants, toast delivered daily from the local market the juice was freshly squeezed . perfect for us ladies, felt very safe and secure. easy to book tours from reception.
Fatumara Lodge perfect for a relaxing get away. oh loved the standup paddle boarding.

Room Tip: go for the water front if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Viki B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    128
    17
    10
    3
See reviews for
103
157
16
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
gwandalan, nsw, australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

We stayed for 12 nights in 2 off the ground floor sea view rooms, rooms were wonderful had every thing you could want. Loved waking up in the mornings to the beautiful view of the bay....rooms were serviced daily by happy friendly staff....we were lucky to have breakfast included and was really nice to walk up to the pool area and have fresh fruit and juice followed by toast and crissonts...the staff were fantastic they made us feel at home...so a big thank you to , liz, sebrina, julie, mary, jenny, lilly and issac...not far from town, staff helped us with booking tours ect...we enjoyed the water activities and chilaxing in the hammocks

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie-anne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We stayed at Fatumaru Lodge mid August in one of the upstairs waterfront villas. I loved waking up every morning and opening the shutters to look out across the beautiful view of Fatumaru Bay, a great start to the day. The rooms have a great feel, each one taking on the theme of one of the islands and have both ceiling fans and air con. The kitchen was well enough equipped for holiday cooking and we made use of the BBQ by the pool several times. It is a great place to relax and get away from the fast pace for a while. There are only 8 waterfront villas and two 2 bedroom units, so there is never really a lot of people around. The pool area is lovely and breakfast is cooked and served poolside. There is a good selection of books and DVDs and we made good use of the kayaks to explore the bay some more. There is no restaurant for lunch or dinner, but good restaurants and cafes are within walking distance or the 'bus' stops just at the top of the drive for a 3 min drive into town. It can be noisy at night, particularly with local dogs barking through the night, so don't forget to pack some ear plugs just in case. We would definitely go back to Fatumaru Lodge

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Battmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Fatumaru Lodge for 6 nights while on our Honeymoon in Vanuatu in late June. We stayed in one of the ground floor studio units right on the water.
The room was well set up, was clean and tidy, bed was comfy, the bifold doors opening out to the balcony and the water were fabulous!
Fatumaru is great for people who don't want to stay in one of the big flashy resorts and want something quieter and more relaxing. We made good use of the kayaks and stand up paddle boards and explored the bay.
A short walk or bus into central Port Vila but far enough away to be out of the hustle and bustle that is Port Vila.
The studio units were nice and quiet (we heard from other guests that the two bedroom units up the top were noisy as close to main road but the lower ones were fine - suggest if you need two bedrooms to ask for two studio units to be connected - this is possible!)
We spent a lot of time sitting on our balcony or in the hammocks watching the world go by - a beautiful view!
Only negative comment would be that our sheets were not changed during our stay and were quite sandy by the end due to being so close to the water.
All and all a good time was had and we were very happy we chose Fatumaru rather than one of the bigger resorts that we visited. Good value for money!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank RileyMarcy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

we stayed here on our last 3 nights of our holiday. it was just what we needed, nice, clean, relaxing, spacious, peaceful and the rooms are gorgeous. Beautiful interior decorating. We had a seaside room on the top floor and watched little fish from our balcony while we ate breakfast. The pool is clean and refreshing, while its great having a free book and dvd library for when it rained. We gave the paddle boards a go in the bay as its really calm and the perfect place to learn. The only downfall is the apparent noise amplification from the bathroom to the living room. (thats not so romantic haha). Other than that we loved it

Room Tip: seaside top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Octomoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
97 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stopped here for one night as we had to stop over in Port Vila on our way to Tanna Island.
Taxi from airport was easy and quick trip. 2 adjoining rooms Pentecost and Ambrym on the top floor. great view over the little beach. nice clean toilet/shower. Lovely big airy rooms with a little kitchenette with toaster etc if you'd like to do a bit of brekky before heading out. We just walked out the front and caught one of the local buses into main part of town for 100 vatu each. all too easy.

Room Tip: As for a room at the front overlooking the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank caroleum1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

After doing our research we picked Fatumaru Lodge for a number of reasons. It isn't a large resort full of people, or a loud area. Its away form the city but not too far, its walk able. Good sized rooms. Has a kitchenette - which was great for heating up leftover Chinese food from the night before. It has a pool, plus access to the sea. It's right on the sea - great views from the front cabins. It has wifi at no extra. The fact that its a bit quieter was what we were after. The kayaks were great to use, staff very friendly. We stayed on the top floor of the water's edge rooms, and I'd choose that again without hesitation. The 2 bedroom rooms were back a bit, lacking some privacy - they did not look so appealing. The downsides ..... very few, you need to eat out, although basic breakfasts we just had toast and boiled eggs most days. Chinese is close by, or a walk into town, or restaurants along the way.

Room Tip: Pick the upstairs rooms at the waters edge - we had "Pentecoast" and it was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ChrisN_NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Vila hotels
2.9 mi away
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
#11 of 46 in Port Vila
4.0 of 5 stars 1,252 reviews
1.6 mi away
Poppy's on the Lagoon
Poppy's on the Lagoon
#22 of 46 in Port Vila
4.5 of 5 stars 353 reviews
4.8 mi away
Aquana Beach Resort
Aquana Beach Resort
#5 of 46 in Port Vila
5.0 of 5 stars 259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu
3.4 mi away
Nasama Resort
Nasama Resort
#9 of 46 in Port Vila
4.5 of 5 stars 349 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sunset Bungalows Resort
Sunset Bungalows Resort
#3 of 46 in Port Vila
4.5 of 5 stars 511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fatumaru Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fatumaru Lodge

Property: Fatumaru Lodge
Address: Walter Lini Hwy | PO Box 1359, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu
Phone Number:
Location: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Port Vila
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Port Vila
#10 Family Hotel in Port Vila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Fatumaru Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waterfront boutique hotel offering spacious and comfortable self-contained apartments with a panoramic view on Port-Vila Bay. Decorated with Melanesian craft each room is different. Swimming pool, Jaccuzzi, private beach and air conditioning. Close to town center. Ideal for family and couple. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo, Travelocity, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Fatumaru Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fatumaru Hotel Port Vila
Fatumaru Lodge Vanuatu/Port Vila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing