We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“fatumaru lodge” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fatumaru Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Fatumaru Lodge
Ranked #8 of 48 Hotels in Port Vila
Certificate of Excellence
gwandalan, nsw, australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“fatumaru lodge”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

We stayed for 12 nights in 2 off the ground floor sea view rooms, rooms were wonderful had every thing you could want. Loved waking up in the mornings to the beautiful view of the bay....rooms were serviced daily by happy friendly staff....we were lucky to have breakfast included and was really nice to walk up to the pool area and have fresh fruit and juice followed by toast and crissonts...the staff were fantastic they made us feel at home...so a big thank you to , liz, sebrina, julie, mary, jenny, lilly and issac...not far from town, staff helped us with booking tours ect...we enjoyed the water activities and chilaxing in the hammocks

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie-anne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    143
    17
    10
    3
See reviews for
112
176
20
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

We stayed at Fatumaru Lodge mid August in one of the upstairs waterfront villas. I loved waking up every morning and opening the shutters to look out across the beautiful view of Fatumaru Bay, a great start to the day. The rooms have a great feel, each one taking on the theme of one of the islands and have both ceiling fans and air con. The kitchen was well enough equipped for holiday cooking and we made use of the BBQ by the pool several times. It is a great place to relax and get away from the fast pace for a while. There are only 8 waterfront villas and two 2 bedroom units, so there is never really a lot of people around. The pool area is lovely and breakfast is cooked and served poolside. There is a good selection of books and DVDs and we made good use of the kayaks to explore the bay some more. There is no restaurant for lunch or dinner, but good restaurants and cafes are within walking distance or the 'bus' stops just at the top of the drive for a 3 min drive into town. It can be noisy at night, particularly with local dogs barking through the night, so don't forget to pack some ear plugs just in case. We would definitely go back to Fatumaru Lodge

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Battmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Fatumaru Lodge for 6 nights while on our Honeymoon in Vanuatu in late June. We stayed in one of the ground floor studio units right on the water.
The room was well set up, was clean and tidy, bed was comfy, the bifold doors opening out to the balcony and the water were fabulous!
Fatumaru is great for people who don't want to stay in one of the big flashy resorts and want something quieter and more relaxing. We made good use of the kayaks and stand up paddle boards and explored the bay.
A short walk or bus into central Port Vila but far enough away to be out of the hustle and bustle that is Port Vila.
The studio units were nice and quiet (we heard from other guests that the two bedroom units up the top were noisy as close to main road but the lower ones were fine - suggest if you need two bedrooms to ask for two studio units to be connected - this is possible!)
We spent a lot of time sitting on our balcony or in the hammocks watching the world go by - a beautiful view!
Only negative comment would be that our sheets were not changed during our stay and were quite sandy by the end due to being so close to the water.
All and all a good time was had and we were very happy we chose Fatumaru rather than one of the bigger resorts that we visited. Good value for money!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank RileyMarcy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

we stayed here on our last 3 nights of our holiday. it was just what we needed, nice, clean, relaxing, spacious, peaceful and the rooms are gorgeous. Beautiful interior decorating. We had a seaside room on the top floor and watched little fish from our balcony while we ate breakfast. The pool is clean and refreshing, while its great having a free book and dvd library for when it rained. We gave the paddle boards a go in the bay as its really calm and the perfect place to learn. The only downfall is the apparent noise amplification from the bathroom to the living room. (thats not so romantic haha). Other than that we loved it

Room Tip: seaside top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Octomoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
96 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stopped here for one night as we had to stop over in Port Vila on our way to Tanna Island.
Taxi from airport was easy and quick trip. 2 adjoining rooms Pentecost and Ambrym on the top floor. great view over the little beach. nice clean toilet/shower. Lovely big airy rooms with a little kitchenette with toaster etc if you'd like to do a bit of brekky before heading out. We just walked out the front and caught one of the local buses into main part of town for 100 vatu each. all too easy.

Room Tip: As for a room at the front overlooking the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank caroleum1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

After doing our research we picked Fatumaru Lodge for a number of reasons. It isn't a large resort full of people, or a loud area. Its away form the city but not too far, its walk able. Good sized rooms. Has a kitchenette - which was great for heating up leftover Chinese food from the night before. It has a pool, plus access to the sea. It's right on the sea - great views from the front cabins. It has wifi at no extra. The fact that its a bit quieter was what we were after. The kayaks were great to use, staff very friendly. We stayed on the top floor of the water's edge rooms, and I'd choose that again without hesitation. The 2 bedroom rooms were back a bit, lacking some privacy - they did not look so appealing. The downsides ..... very few, you need to eat out, although basic breakfasts we just had toast and boiled eggs most days. Chinese is close by, or a walk into town, or restaurants along the way.

Room Tip: Pick the upstairs rooms at the waters edge - we had "Pentecoast" and it was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ChrisN_NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

We spent a great week at Fatumaru Lodge, staying in the Pentecost room. It is important to note that this hotel is smaller and NOT a resort - but the facilities and staff are wonderful, and if you want some peace and quiet in a good location, you can't go wrong staying here.

The lodge is a 10 minute walk from town, easy to do, or a 150 Vatu bus ride. The apartments on the beach are very clean and tidy - well presented on arrival with flowers and a balcony to sit on and enjoy the view. The kitchenette was well equipped - microwave, fridge, hot plate, coffee plunger, cutlery and crockery etc - also a supply of tea/coffee and sugar which was helpful.
The bed was a little firm for my liking, but everything else was great, plenty of seating, storage space and a good sized bathroom and shower.
TV and DVD player - with plenty of DVDs to borrow from receiption.

The beach area and jetty were great plenty of sun loungers and hammocks - we used the kayaks on several occasions exploring the local bays and marvelling at the number of sea-urchins around (don't forget your reef shoes!) The pool area was also really nicely set up - not a huge pool, but good size for cooling off and some comfy seats to relax in. Also - a great 'library' of books which you can borrow/read/exchange from.
Free Wifi was a real bonus too.

The Lodge area was immaculate, lots of staff kept it really clean and tidy and the staff were unfailingly polite and helpful.

If going back to Port Vila I would stay here again without hesitation, as it was quiet, private and relaxed - just what we were looking for.

Be aware you can hear the Sunday/weekend church services from across the bay :)

Room Tip: Top floor rooms have a good view - and slightly less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BurntK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Vila hotels
2.9 mi away
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
#12 of 48 in Port Vila
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,414 reviews
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
#14 of 48 in Port Vila
4.5 of 5 bubbles 634 reviews
1.2 mi away
Iririki Island Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu
3.4 mi away
Nasama Resort
Nasama Resort
#7 of 48 in Port Vila
4.5 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hideaway Island Resort
Hideaway Island Resort
#13 of 48 in Port Vila
4.5 of 5 bubbles 608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fatumaru Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fatumaru Lodge

Property: Fatumaru Lodge
Address: Walter Lini Hwy | PO Box 1359, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu
Phone Number:
Location: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Port Vila
#9 Romantic Hotel in Port Vila
#10 Family Hotel in Port Vila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Fatumaru Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waterfront boutique hotel offering spacious and comfortable self-contained apartments with a panoramic view on Port-Vila Bay. Decorated with Melanesian craft each room is different. Swimming pool, Jaccuzzi, private beach and air conditioning. Close to town center. Ideal for family and couple. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your Fatumaru Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fatumaru Hotel Port Vila
Fatumaru Lodge Vanuatu/Port Vila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing