We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Fatumaru Lodge
Nearby Hotels
$63
$61
Agoda.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Nasama Resort(Port Vila)(Great Value!)
$163
$114
Travelocity
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Melanesian Port Vila(Port Vila)(Great Value!)
$89
$82
Expedia.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Traveller's Budget Motel(Port Vila)(Great Value!)
$65
$63
Priceline
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$230
$225
Expedia.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Terraces Boutique Apartments(Port Vila)(Great Value!)
$203
$195
Travelocity
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu(Port Vila)(Great Value!)
$161
$154
Agoda.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Moorings Hotel(Port Vila)(Great Value!)
$86
$83
Priceline
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
CoCo Beach Resort(Port Vila)(Great Value!)
$97
Travelocity
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$71
$59
Expedia.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Reviews (428)
Filter reviews
428 results
Traveler rating
246
150
18
10
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
246
150
18
10
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsclose to townpaddle boards and kayaksself contained unitwithin easy walking distancequiet locationbus ridelovely poolwater frontbbq areaa wonderful place to stayfree kayaksdoor stepfantastic locationtanna coffeebedroom apartmentcooking facilitiesthoroughly enjoyed our stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
247 - 252 of 428 reviews
Reviewed February 15, 2013

We were looking for somewhere for the family to stay that was cheaper than the big resorts but still offered a sense of luxury. We found Fatumaru through Trip Advisor and loved our stay. We had a 2 bedroom family unit and it gave us all the space we needed. Air conditioning was greatly appreciated and loved the big bathroom. The small number of guest rooms overall meant we never felt crowded out by others and often had the pool to ourselves. Having the basic cooking facilities was a big plus, the harbour views were awesome and we were able to walk into town easily. Best of all was the daily service of the apartment (the kids were always excited to see how their pyjamas had been folded that day!) and the wonderful staff at reception -Liz and Emily - they helped with booking all our tours and were on hand to double check when changes had to be made or our pick ups were late. We made the most of the hammocks, kayaks and swam off the private pier. The beach and coral there wasn't the best - but the kids enjoyed feeding the fish off the pier and we even spotted a moray eel one evening. I would absolutely recommend this stay if you are looking for quality accommodation, great facilities and incredibly helpful staff. Thanks to you all - we hope to be able to come back.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jenny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pascal0164, Owner at Fatumaru Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2013

Dear Jenny

thank you for your great review. Our 2 bedroom apartments are very appropriate for family as to reach to the children room YOU NEED to go through the parents rooms!. But not good for two couple for example.
I am glad to see that our staff have been very helpful to you and make your holiday very pleasant.

We hope to see you again in a near future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

We wanted somewhere in Port Vila that had charm and a boutique-feel, was close enough to walk to the centre of town, and had all the mod-cons we desired. We found all of this and much much more at Fatumaru.
BOOKING: Handled through emails swiftly and efficiently. They were able to reserve us a specific room (I have family ties to Pentecost so wanted to stay in the Pentecost Room). I paid half the accommodation price as a deposit via bank transfer to Fatumaru's account in Aus (they have various worldwide accounts to make the process cheap and hassle-free).
ARRIVAL/DEPARTURE: We had booked an airport transfer through Fatumaru. It was easy and efficient, and the journey from the airport is just 5-10 minutes by van. Cost is 1000 Vatu per person, per trip, not the cheapest transport around, but for th convenience, it was worth it. They picked us up for our early morning departure flight right on time at 04.30 - I was very pleased not to have to experience 'Island Time'!
There is a 24 hour security guard and a locked gate (keycode entry so guests can come and go as they please). These little touchs added to the luxury feel.
LOCATION: On Lini Highway, about a 20 minute walk (mainly downhill) into the centre of town. Or pick up one of the hundreds of buses ('B') or taxis ('T') that go down the road. Buses and taxis are all just minivans that seat 6-10-people. They often stopped for us and asked if we wanted a lift! Buses in Vila don't have set routes, you just get in and ask to go wherever you like. Sometimes therefore if there is a few people going to different locations, the route can be a little circuitous. It costs 150 vt per person for anywhere in the main town. Most bus drivers spoke English, but to ask in Bislama, 'We want to go to...' it is 'Mi fella i wantem go long...'.
ROOM: The room was wonderful. A self-contained unit with an en-suite bathroom, living/sleeping room, kitchenette and great balcony with a sunny view across the bay. The bathroom walls don't connect to the ceiling (leaving a sound-gap) - but this is fine if you are staying with close relatives! Kitchen was well equipped and we opted to make our own breakfast (daily continental brekkie is available by the pool at 1200vt per person/per day). There was a microwave, fridge-freezer, 2 ring ceramic hotplate, kettle, toaster and well-stocked crockery and utensils. Yes there are sugar ants. Lots of them. But as long as you keep food stored correctly, it was fine. You can't avoid ants! The room has FREE WIFI. And good AIR CON. and the HOT SHOWER never ran out of hot water. And a BIG TV with DVD player. (you can hire DVDs from a good selection at reception for 50 vt).
AMENITIES: There is all you could want in terms of simple amenities at Fatumaru. A lovely pool (lit psychadelic colours at night!), with a guest BBQ and bar beside the pool. Also a great idea of a huge well-stocked bookcase beside the pool... More hotels should do this! Sun loungers, hammocks under coconut palms, a private beach, private jetty and kayaks to borrow for free. The site is kept immaculate and we really appreciated that the place was always kept so spotless!
FOOD: No restaurant on site, but it is just a 5 minute walk up hill to the Harbour View Chinese, which was very nice. Breakfast as previously mentioned, by the pool. The Pool Bar is unmanned, you just ask at reception and they bring you drinks - and charge to your room.
COST: We paid 18,000 Vatu (approx 180 AUD) per night for the room. We came away feeling this was excelent value! Unfortunately I wasn't aware of the 'Tourism Levy' of 100vt per night that got tacked on after we had checked out, which was a minor annoyance. Perhaps include it in the itemised bill!?
SERVICE: Always with a smile. THANK YOU to Emily and everyone else for making our stay so special. We will DEFINITELY be back.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Abs140
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rae E, Manager at Fatumaru Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2017

Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

We have stayed in Vila many times, and this was our best experience ever! Thank you for such a beautiful experience. The fares are clean, individual and private. They are well equipped with air conditioning, basic cooking facilities, fans, a good bathroom and in the beachfront fares, a great view of port vila harbour. The fares are located away from the touristy area of Vila, and as such in our opinion are quiet and pleasant. This may not suit everyone, as there is a creek that flows into the top area of the harbour, which makes the harbour water not always brilliantly clear, but the location far outweighs this. The ability to take a kayak out ( albeit a little but leaky) adds to the overall experience. The pool is lovely too. We chose to get our own breakfast from the fantastic local fruits available at the market, but the option is there to order a breakfast poolside if you wish to. Quiet fridge too ( which I think is vital!). If you chose to career for yourself at home, the facilities easily cater for this.
The staff ( headed by Emily) were great! If you want to avoid the tourist push of Port Vila - you could do no better than this. We will be back!

Room Tip: The top fares a little more private, but it is marginal as you don't really notice anyone else anyway!
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank kerryandalToowoomba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rae E, Manager at Fatumaru Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2017

Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

We had a fantastic stay here over the New year period. We were welcomed by the lovely Liz who helped us with anything we needed. The rooms were beautiful and well maintained, the staff are all very friendly and helpful. They have a beautiful pool and a personal jetty with the water being right at you door step. They have hammicks and Kayaks for your use as well. Town was a short walk away with much to view on the way of the local culture. This place is very relaxing with some great views and close enough to the city to walk or short bus ride but far enough away to just sit back and enjoy the beautiful Pacific Island.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LivingIT86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rae E, Manager at Fatumaru Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2017

Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

The room we stayed in was fantastic and comfortable, we found it very comfortable and a fantastic standard. Our room was cleaned daily and we were always very impressed with the care taken by the staff. The standard of the room was great and we found everything we needed to be in good working order. Including aircon, fans and cooking facilities.
DVDs, towels and brouchures were avaliable from reception at no extra cost.
The grounds of the lodge were beautifully maintained with a clean pool, lovely gardens and a beautiful little beach front. The resort was peaceful and relaxing with our room opening up on to the beach we could often only hear the waves lapping at our balcony.
The staff were more helpful than anywhere I have ever been! The local knowledge and advice helped us to enjoy every minute of our holiday and nothing was ever trouble for them. Our tours, dinner resevations and airport transfers were all booked through the reception at no extra cost and the staff always made sure that things ran smoothly for us.
The lodge was walking distance from town and it was always easy to walk up to the street and catch a bus within minutes.
With a security guard and locked front gates at night we felt safe at all times and found that our things were always safe in our room as long as we shut the doors when we went out.
Everyone we saw at the lodge was friendly and smiling, ready to welcome you with a friendly greeting, would definitly recommend this lodge to anyone wanting a relaxing place to stay that is close to town and has everything needed for an enjoyable stay!

Room Tip: The beach front rooms are great for stepping out into the water for a quick cool off, not to mention a great view every morning
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Clare E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rae E, Manager at Fatumaru Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2017

Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews