We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely little place right on the water”
Review of Fatumaru Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fatumaru Lodge
Ranked #8 of 47 Hotels in Port Vila
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Lovely little place right on the water”
Reviewed September 21, 2012

We stayed here with our family of three and had a lovely holiday.

The pool was lovely and, being such a small hotel, we were the only ones in it for the whole time we were there. It is not particularly child friendly (eg no shallow areas) and it can get quite sunny there for a few hours in the middle of the day.

The local staff were very friendly and helpful. The French speaking owners/managers were also very friendly to us (but, as with most non-locals, they were not particularly respectful of the local staff).

Being right on the water is lovely. The beach area is fairly small and we didn't swim there but some of the other guests seemed to enjoy swimming there. We look at kayak out a couple of times which was nice.

While the hotel is only a 25min walk to town, it is not a particularly easy walk. The sidewalks are quite dodgy and it can be hard to cross the road in busy times. The walk takes you through a non-touristed part of town and, while it did not feel dangerous to us, we were not keen to do the walk at night. People will tell you to take a local bus to and from town but we found that it was difficult to get a bus that the locals are using - an empty bus will often stop for you but they do charge you more because you're the only ones.

We had a two bedroom apartment. Unforunately the two bedroom apartments are not on the waterfront (while our view was not a nice it was probably a good thing for young children). The two bedroom apartment is more of a one bedroom apartment with a bed in the main room. It has a bedroom at the back with two single beds. The main room has a television, a queen sized bed and the kitchen. The dining table is on the large deck outside. There is no lounge room as such. The problem with the dining area being outside is that you can be at the mercy of mosquitoes in the evening and it can get a bit hot and you're outside of the reach of the air conditioner.

The kitchen was adequate for a holiday apartment. It had most things we needed for simple meals but you can't do anything too complicated. We picked up food from the local Carrefour (next to the local markets). The product range is quite limited and anything imported is expensive (ie about 2-3 times the same price you would pay for the exact same product in Australia) but the local food is reasonably priced. The local beef is amazingly good and the local fruit and vegies from the market are excellent (and so cheap!).

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LondonMel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

401 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    227
    144
    17
    10
    3
See reviews for
114
185
21
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012

We were here in early Sept. Unfortunately discovered this place too late to secure a booking for the whole week but we enjoyed 4 lovely days here. In my opinion the best situation in or around Port Vila. It is right on the beach (not possible unless you stay at a resort (further out of town)), easy walking distance into Port Vila and the markets etc, a beach on the doorstep (complete with coconut palms and hammocks), plus lovely people and a lovely pool. There were kayaks and paddle boards to use and a little wharf to run and jump off in the morning (ideal wake up). Being self catering ideal for the more independent/active type of holiday maker with so many wonderful local eating places on the doorstep (Baywatch, Chantilly’s) it presents a much more flexible option whilst offering much of what a resort would. We stayed at Chantilly’s some nights prior and whilst nice also it does not have the direct beach access which is actually quite hard to find around Port Vila. The people were lovely – very thoughtful and the room, whilst rustic, was charming and well appointed. Was serviced each day (even had umbrellas) and absolute beach front. The highlight of our stay!

Room Tip: the oceanfront studios are the best - walk out the front door and straight onto the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ali c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Staying at the Lodge was marked by good taste - no plastic anywhere, everything is 'echt' - the real thing - from furniture (all wood) to the china in the kitchenette, where the knives were sharp and the saucepans good quality.
Transport to town is quick and cheap, and one of our best experiences was shopping at the big fruit and veg market, lovely fresh produce grown by local women. Home-made fruit salad for breakfast on our own private terrace overlooking the sea...
A list of good - not necessarily expensive - restaurants is provided - a real bonus, as the owner is French. He said that his wife was responsible for the decor: friends invited 'home' for dinner (takeaways from the Chinese up the road, recommended!) envied us, though they were staying in a more up-market hotel.
A lovely Buddha sits in the middle of the garden.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MichalSuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Perfectly comfortable lodge in a handy location with quiet view of the Fatumaru lagoon. We had an upstairs room and would recommend this. Just a little more private. Kayaks were great and staff very helpful with any request. A little better hot water system would have given this 5 stars instead of 4. Still, defintely value for money.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TimAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2012

This was our first hotel in Vanuatu and we found it comfortable, clean and friendly. It was run by locals, but I'm not fully sure of its ownership. It did feel like it was locally owned. We chose it based on its proximity to the airport as we were flying to another island in two days.

The rooms are decorated nicely with a large accordion door on to the deck. We barely had it closed! They look well maintained and clean.

Staff were friendly and helpful when we needed them, but we didn't need much.

They have kayaks to take out on the bay and paddle wherever you want. We used it a few times.

Only down side is that the "beach" (though, more of a beach than some places had) wasn't the best and we wouldn't recommend swimming if you have sensitive skin or just plain like your swimming hole without sewage (which we saw floating by one day). But they do have a pool for swimming needs.

The good:
- Clean, comfortable rooms
- Friendly staff
- Close to airport
- Can walk to town (aboutn 15 mins which is a short walk for us)
- Far enough from town to be quiet
- KYAKS!

The bad:
- Beach water not clean
- Toilet took a few times to flush
- Mosquito net fit the bed awkwardly (so we used our own)

Room Tip: Rooms on the water front offer a bit more privacy from other hotel guests.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lizsterine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2012

We visited Fatumaru Lodge for the first week in June 2012. The staff were attentive and friendly from the moment we checked in. Emily (the lovely lady who was at the Reception for most of
our stay) was very helpful throughout our time at the lodge and helped us book a number of tours at a fair price.

The room was clean and was serviced daily, we had chosen a Sea front lodge so the view from our balcony was great.

We made use of the free Kayaks that are at the lodge and there are plenty of other things to do if you take a short walk into the town centre. It is about a 15 minute walk to the centre and the path can be quite uneven so do make sure you take a torch if you are out after dark.

We would certainly stay here again!

Also..if you are visiting Port Vila be sure to visit the 'Seaview Nakamal' bar to sample some of the local drink 'Kava'.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nicolajane24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level 6 Contributor
184 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We stayed here for three nights in their Port Vila Room. Loved having the full width doors to open in the morning. Free use of kayaks and paddleboards was very good. The staff were always very friendly, and very happy to sort out any excursion requests we had. Breakfast by the pool featuring fruit picked from their own trees, local coffee and excellent freshly baked bread was very welcome. Within easy walking distance of the town centre. Excellent few days

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gaiteiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Vila hotels
2.9 mi away
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
#12 of 47 in Port Vila
1,465 reviews
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
#15 of 47 in Port Vila
662 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Terraces Boutique Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Iririki Island Resort & Spa
3.4 mi away
Nasama Resort
Nasama Resort
#7 of 47 in Port Vila
478 reviews
3.6 mi away
Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fatumaru Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fatumaru Lodge

Property: Fatumaru Lodge
Address: Walter Lini Hwy | PO Box 1359, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu
Phone Number:
Location: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Port Vila
#9 Romantic Hotel in Port Vila
#10 Family Hotel in Port Vila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Fatumaru Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waterfront boutique hotel offering spacious and comfortable self-contained apartments with a panoramic view on Port-Vila Bay. Decorated with Melanesian craft each room is different. Swimming pool, Jaccuzzi, private beach and air conditioning. Close to town center. Ideal for family and couple. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Fatumaru Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fatumaru Hotel Port Vila
Fatumaru Lodge Vanuatu/Port Vila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing