We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly Recommended”
Review of Fatumaru Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fatumaru Lodge
Ranked #8 of 47 Hotels in Port Vila
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 23, 2012

My partner and I and our 8 month old baby stayed in the family apartment for 7 nights. The apartment was spacious, clean and comfortable; the view from the deck amazing! Baby loved having his dinner outside looking out to the ocean.

Staff were super friendly and helped us with our rental car booking - most places had no cars available - but they managed to find a company that had one for us which we were most grateful.

The grounds were well kept, and the swimming pool lovely and clean. I am quite certain that the lodge was fully booked during our stay, but you would never have guessed as it was quiet and relaxing, and we had a lot of privacy.

Use of paddle boards and kayaks were great also.

The only thing I would say that it was more of a 15 - 20 min walk to town, but that could be because the footpaths are terrible in places and we had to push a pram.

I would recommend this place to anyone wanting a great place to stay, central to Port Vila, but far enough away from the hustle and bustle.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank matlibkeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pascal0164, Owner at Fatumaru Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2012

Dear Guests, thank you for your good comments.

Yes you are right the road pass-ways are terrible in Port Vila especially with a push chair!!
Vanuatu is a tax free country, now you can see some of the drawbacks!!
You are right to go the the market on the other side of town it is more 15 20 minutes..

Hope to see you in Vanuatu again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (414)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

259 - 265 of 414 reviews

Reviewed April 23, 2012

My partner and I enjoyed our stay at Fatumaru. The staff are lovely, easy going and friendly. It is a quick bus ride to the city centre and there are so many buses going by you don't even have to wait. The rooms are serviced daily, however it pays to rinse before use. Our room had little ants (or something of the like), but I think there may be no escaping these no matter where you stay. You get used to them. Also we had trouble with the TV Channels. There were meant to be 5 channels, but for the 7 days we stayed we only had 2. Lovely pool. Overall, its a lovely place to chill out at the end of your day out.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vinnie30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rae E, Manager at Fatumaru Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2017

Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2012

Fatumaru Lodge features wonderful self-contained accommodation directly on the bay, with the chance to walk out of your lodge and almost straight into the water. The staff were helpful and friendly. As a couple that likes to cook, the range of cooking facilities and utensils were good quality and made cooking at 'home' easy... and the recommendations from the staff on the best places to find good-quality local produce were extremely helpful. The staff assisted with our tour bookings, even to the point of negotiating on our behalf when a tour operator had set up an incorrect booking! Breakfasts were lovely and filling, and the lodge's location - only 10-15 minutes walk from the centre of Port Vila - meant you felt like you were close enough to get things done without being trapped on a resort on in the thick of the busy part of town.

Room Tip: Downstairs rooms allow easy access to the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wayne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pascal0164, Owner at Fatumaru Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2012

Dear Guest, thank you for your very good comments.
We glad that you appreciated the "boutique style" designed for free independent travelers...
Hope to see you again in Vanuatu.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2012

Pros

Fatumaru lodge is in a great spot, the rooms are nice enough (for the price), staff are great.
Nice pool, beach front, the free kayaks are one of the best things about the place.

Cons
Cleaning could be much better, wifi internet did not work in room, cable TV was not working

If I went back to Vanuatu (which I would not) I would definitely stay at FL again.

Room Tip: The water front studios are nice, but the locals all play soccer and yahoo all night across the othe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SimonBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rae E, Manager at Fatumaru Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2017

Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2012

After the taxi took us down from the main road via the winding entry way to the reception, it was clear that this was the place to be. Greeted by smiling faces, and helpful staff who offered us coffee by the pool whilst our room was undergoing the final clean.

After coffee we had a tour of the accommodation and advised on all the amenities. Each room was named after an island of Vanuatu and decorated with information and photos of the related island. The room was huge, with french fold doors that opened up to a balcony with superb view of the water. Everything looked new, with a kitchenette, decent sized bathroom and and large bed. Wifi is provided on site free, however seems very slow.

You can swim in the pool or the ocean out the front of the lodge which has views back to Iririki Island.

Walking to and from town can be done, but does take about 10-20mins. In the humidity this can be very exhausting.

A shuttle can be arranged for transport to/from the airport at a cost of $1000 Vatu per person, and can be pre booked via reception.

The pillows are very soft, but two pillows sufficed for a good nights sleep.

This was a very relaxing place to spend the night in transit home. I would stay there again without hesitation.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank notjustemail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rae E, Manager at Fatumaru Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2017

Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2012

Couldn't ask for more. Got my exercise walking to and from the centre of town - which isn't really that far away but just enough to feel secluded.

The little ants were everywhere but don't bite or cause trouble. Staff more than friendly and very helpful.

Room Tip: All rooms are good - added bonus to bottom rooms is jetty and/or beach access direct from the verand...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NatK88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rae E, Manager at Fatumaru Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2017

Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2012

I stayed with my partner at Fatumaru for 2 nights and I have many good things to say. It fits perfectly into Vanuatu's relaxed, friendly environment. It has a lovely little pool and you can order drinks to have there, or alternatively wander down to the lagoon which is a few metres away down the hill. Near the lagoon is a hammock and canoes which you can take out at your leisure. The bed and pillows were comfortable and the aircon worked well. There are tea and coffee making facilities, a fridge, cooking facilities all in good working order. There is free wireless internet of medium speed. The staff were very friendly and helpful in making reservations for day trips. Tourist companies were all happy to come to the lodge to pick us up. The only negative things - there were lots of little ants who would even crawl on the table and over my laptop; loving nature this did not bother me, but did bother my partner somewhat. Secondly there was a family with 2 somewhat noisy kids, it's not ideal for honeymoons but neither is it meant to be a honeymoon spot. All in all, this is simply a wonderful place and I would stay there again, thank you!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank plarter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rae E, Manager at Fatumaru Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2017

Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Vila hotels
2.9 mi away
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
#12 of 47 in Port Vila
1,544 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Melanesian Port Vila
The Melanesian Port Vila
#26 of 47 in Port Vila
313 reviews
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
#14 of 47 in Port Vila
704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Moorings Hotel
Moorings Hotel
#29 of 47 in Port Vila
154 reviews
1.2 mi away
Grand Hotel And Casino
Grand Hotel And Casino
#19 of 47 in Port Vila
548 reviews
1.2 mi away
Iririki Island Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fatumaru Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fatumaru Lodge

Address: Walter Lini Hwy | PO Box 1359, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu
Phone Number:
Location: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Port Vila
#9 Romantic Hotel in Port Vila
#10 Family Hotel in Port Vila
Price Range: $103 - $199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Fatumaru Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waterfront boutique hotel offering spacious and comfortable self-contained apartments with a panoramic view on Port-Vila Bay. Decorated with Melanesian craft, each room is different. Swimming pool, Jaccuzzi, private beach and air conditioning. Close to town center. Ideal for families and couples. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Fatumaru Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fatumaru Hotel Port Vila
Fatumaru Lodge Vanuatu/Port Vila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing