We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent location & service for a family” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Vanuatu Beachfront Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Vanuatu Beachfront Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
88 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Excellent location & service for a family”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2014

I have travelled extensively and my view is that the Vanuatu Beachfront Apartment is exceptional for family holidays because of its service and location. The owner, Damien was very accommodating in answering questions via email as part of my booking process. Although I booked our holiday almost one year ago, I had a very reassuring email from Damien before I left Australia to confirm we will be met at the airport. Useful suggestions for itineraries were readily available and we booked our local tours and activities through Damien. There is a soft sandy beach right in front of the apartments, swimming pool, snorkelling gear, kayaks, paddle boards and wi-fi. The apartment is a short walking distance to the Beach Bar and Hideaway Island. We took a leisurely 30 minutes walk to the Mele Cascades. A bus trip for our family into Port Vila is 900 Vatu. Vanuatu beachfront apartments is highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LinusNg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damien I, Owner at Vanuatu Beachfront Apartments, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to leave a review, from our discussions it is obvious you have travelled extensively, and that is terrific. Michelle and myself believe travel is the best education for everyone. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and got great use of the beach and the free water sports. Our location close to everything is a common thread in all our reviews and we are very satisfied we chose the location to build the apartments. Thanks you for your recommendation and have a safe return home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    7
    0
    2
    0
See reviews for
64
31
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2014

We recently stayed here for 6 nights with our 2 children. Our apartment was spacious and clean and had everything we needed. The complex is quiet and relaxed in a quiet location. There is food avilable at the bar, which are generally frozen type meals but if you want to self cater you have the facilities to do so. The supermarket is a 10 minute drive although Damian will stop on the way from collecting you at the airport so its a good time to stock up on essentials.
Location is good for the cascades, summit etc and also Hideaway Island. The beach bar is walking distance and has a nice Friday night vibe when the fire show is on but order food early as it takes ages to arrive! The town is a 15 minute bus ride away and costs 300 vatu each way.
The beach is nice and I enjoyed watching the locals fishing and the kids playing soccer on the weekend. However one thing that put us off is the local dogs that can appear, not good when your children are petrified of them!
You can also use the paddleboards and kayaks too, so plenty to do.
All in all we had a relaxing week, unfortunately the weather was mixed but the huge range of TV channels and the kids play area saved the day! Thanks to Bole who took us to Mele village to have a look around which he will do if you ask him. Take some lollies for the kids!

Room Tip: Room 2 is the best if you have kids as its right next to the play area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sarah s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damien I, Owner at Vanuatu Beachfront Apartments, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and that your children got to have fun in our kids club. It was unfortunate that you had some mixed weather as this is not expected for this time of year, but we are glad in the in house media system created some indoor entertainment during those periods. We hope you got some time to relax and enjoyed the birthday cake. I trust you had a safe enjoyable return home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
172 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2014

We had a lovely 3 night stay after being on Erakor Island. We loved the location (close to Mele cascades and Hideaway Island), the owners were very friendly and the food was delicious (we had every meal, bar one night where we went to the beach bar down the road). It was well-worth the money at under NZ$150 a night. We would definitely return here when we go back to Vanuatu.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kylie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damien I, Owner at Vanuatu Beachfront Apartments, responded to this review, July 12, 2014
Thanks for leaving us a review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and very happy that you enjoyed all the meals from our cafe. Although all our apartments are self contained many guests take advantage of our meals from time to time. We hope you had a safe and enjoyable flight home and would be nice to see you back here soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2014

We stayed here for a week, and had a brilliant time. The location of the apartments was perfect for us - we walked to the waterfalls with the kids, and it was only a 2 minute walk to the Hideaway island ferry, where we snorkelled and dived. Just before the ferry is the beach bar, which we visited to catch the fire show on friday night, and sunset circus on the sunday. Very easy with little ones. We shared the penthouse with another family for our first 4 nights, and were due to move down to a 2 bedroom apartment for the last 3 nights. After checking his reservations, Damien very kindly let us stay in the penthouse for our last 3 nights, as he had no one booked in there. We found Damien and Michelle so helpful in every way - booking us on day trips, and advising us of local attractions. They also put on a BBQ the night we arrived, as there were lots of new arrivals that night (including four families in our group). All these actions made our trip even easier, more memorable, and were really appreciated. The apartments are right on the beach, and look out to Hideaway Island, the ocean, and the serene coastline. So relaxing. It's also close to the city centre (although you feel a million miles away) if you want to go into town. There's always buses at the Hideaway ferry, so really easy to get anywhere. Our apartment was perfect - 4 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, a big balcony with a BBQ, and a full size kitchen with everything you need. Our friends were downstairs in one of the 2 bedroom apartments, which was also great. I would highly recommend Vanuatu Beachfront Apartments. Our kids also loved pikinini paradise playground, which had a climbing frame, slide, sandpit, separate large cubby full of games and toys, iguanas in an enclosure, and lovely staff. The grounds were immaculate. We definitely hope to come back one day.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank silly_ness_c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damien I, Owner at Vanuatu Beachfront Apartments, responded to this review, July 12, 2014
Thanks for taking time out to leave a review. It was a pleasure getting to know you and we are glad your group had an enjoyable stay here. As you mention, out position close to many attractions is a huge bonus and our safe sandy swimming beach is great right out the front. I am glad the children enjoyed our kids club and facilities, as parents ourselves, we understand the need for "mum and dad time out". Would be nice to see you back here in the future some time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
99 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2014

2 Families of 4A & 2C staying here for 3 nights requiring 2 apartments for a family get together as part of a 3 island Vanuatu visit. Also, our second trip to Vanuatu. We are glad we stayed here with the whole group having an excellent time.

The rooms were large and clean and provided (just) enough equipment to get by. Some items required a call to Damien to get them but no issue here really as Damien (or someone) was always available to help out.

In fact, Damien seemed to be prepared to go the extra step to make your stay as enjoyable as possible right from the beginning with a relatively late pick up from the airport and Damien having no issue in taking a stop off at the local supermarket to pick up a few supplies.

This is a smaller resort so it is relatively intimate which is great as you can really build up a rapport with the staff and other guests. The resort was very well looked after with a volleyball court and nice swimming pool area with a bar. The cocktails from the bar were different to what you might expect based on your order but still extremely tasty and enjoyable. The volleyball court got a good workout.

We tried a number of the snacks available and all were very tasty and hit the mark. We also had a BBQ pack which we cooked up on the very clean and well equipped BBQ and the beef was outstanding. Definitely give it a go if you enjoy being a “tong-master”.

The beach out front is easily accessible and very small kid friendly with virtually no waves or current.

The good…

• Clean comfortable accommodation
• Extensive movie library and it is free
• Excellent customer service from Damien, Michelle and all the staff
• Nice pool and bar area great for an afternoon sundowner
• Volleyball court
• Small kid friendly beach
• Good location in relation to some of the must see things to do on Efate
• Free wi-fi

Minor things to be aware of and it should be noted beyond the control of VBA…

• No coral/minimal fish when snorkeling on the beach directly from VBA (Hideaway Island is a short walk away, literally at low tide, but there is a fee to enter)

• Ni-van habit of burning in the late afternoon/evening meant that, with no breeze around whilst we were there, having a window open at night led to waking up in the middle of the night with a smelly/smoky room

• Some of the Ni-Van seemed to enjoy singing/playing music/radio (not sure which) at some really odd hours of the night extremely early morning

With this in mind, would we stay here again? Yes, without a doubt and we would stay longer too.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Essexboy999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damien I, Owner at Vanuatu Beachfront Apartments, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Thanks for taking your time to write such a comprehensive review. Reviews like this definitely help future travellers select suitable accommodation with confidence. We are glad that everyone in your party had a great holiday and it was great to meet you and get to know your family. I am glad you mentioned you were happy with the service from the staff. We work very hard with our staff so they get a better understanding of the needs and wants of overseas travellers, and we are very proud of the job they do. I hope you had an enjoyable trip home and your return to work was not too stressful. Would be great to see you back here in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
auckland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2014

We stayed at the Vanuatu Beachfront Apartments with our 2 kids aged 17 months and 4 yr in June for 10 days. I wondered if it could live up to the hype of the other reviews but it exceeded our expectations. We had a wonderful holiday and can't wait to go back.
The place is brilliantly set up for families. We stayed in a two bedroom unit which was perfect. The full kitchen was great for cooking and had everything we needed, we also used the BBQ area a lot to cook the delicious Vanuatu beef and pork. The rest of the apartment was spacious and well set up and Damian and Michelle also provided us with a portacot and highchair and other kid friendly stuff like plastic plates. The kids loved the playground, the Pikanini Paradise, the pool and the gardens. The beach couldn't be better - sandy, clean, beautifully clear and warm water and very easy swimming with only very gentle waves.
Michelle and Damian were lovely and very helpful. They were friendly and interested but not overwhelming. They really looked after us including a couple of very unexpected and generous treats. The rest of the team - Juliette, Jackie, Rota, Mary and Paulie (sorry for any incorrect spellings) were so lovely and very welcoming - it was hard saying good bye after just 10 days.
The gardens are well maintained and very pleasant - one morning Paulie brought us bananas picked on site for our breakfast.
The cafe and bar were lovely - we didn't use them that often but the cocktails were delicious and we really enjoyed the spicy chicken wings and the fish and chips.
The apartments are the only accommodation on the beach - so if you're looking for nightlife this isn't the place for you. We loved the peace and quiet (no traffic noise at all - one night there was music from a local bar - all done by 9 I would think - and the local church one night, finished early as well) and the fact we often had the entire palm-fringed beach to ourselves.
The Beach Bar is probably 100m stroll along the beach if you feel like a change of scene but the food and service is much better at the apartments. Hideaway Island is also is also just a couple of minutes ferry ride away. Tanna Coffee is a pleasant 20 - 30 min stroll along the beach and the coffee and cake is definitely worth the walk. Buses to town are easy to catch and cost about Aus$3 per adult (no charge for small kids).
If you are looking for a laid back, relaxed, simple holiday with everything you need to hand come here. We loved Vanuatu, we loved the apartments. Michelle and Damian have thought really carefully about what makes for a great break away and have provided it. Although the place is well set up for young families it is not over-run by kids and would be well suited to anyone craving a small intimate self-catering place to stay. Thanks to everyone there for a wonderful break away and introduction to gorgeous Vanuatu.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 1 - away from the pool - perfect for families with small children as you didn'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jjww
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damien I, Owner at Vanuatu Beachfront Apartments, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to leave such a comprehensive review. It was an absolute pleasure meeting your entire family and we are glad that you had such an enjoyable and positive holiday. I know that the kids club and our baby sitting girls gave you a well earned break on many occasions. The staff here, as well as Michelle and myself do as much as we can to make sure everyone has the best holiday they can, and we do our best to tailor our services to everyone's different needs. We would love to see you back here soon and maybe you can earmark a date in 2015 to come back and catch up.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangarei, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2014

The owners Damien and Michelle are wonderful hosts who really make you feel at home. Both the owners and their staff help you to feel welcome and provide great service and advice.
The location is amazing. You have a beautiful sandy beach right on your doorstep in a nice protected type bay. It's a short paddle across on kayaks to explore the coral at hideaway island. You are a short walk from the beach bar which has an amazing fire show every Friday, a great circus show on Sundays and really good + cheap pizza on Tuesdays. You are not too far from Mele Village where the locals are extremely friendly and they have small shops for basics and kava bars. The Mele cascades are close by and are just beautiful (you really need at least half a day to enjoy it).
There is free use of kayaks, paddle boards and snorkel gear which was great fun during the day. At night you can relax whilst watching free movies from their extensive library. They also provide free wifi which was really appreciated.
They have a jet ski you can hire at a very reasonable price which was a blast (so loved it).
Their apartments are of a high standard. The resort has everything you need for a relaxing holiday. Our room was well serviced and the staff keep the whole complex very tidy. The size of the resort gives you a more intimate and personal type experience.
I really enjoyed the morning coffee with cake and the cheap cocktails :)
Staying at such a lovely location with such wonderful people (both staff and other holiday makers) really made my holiday and I wish I could have stayed their longer.
I would highly recommend this place to couples and families due to it's great location, good facilities and wonderful staff. Although I went for a couple's getaway I couldn't help but notice that it had fantastic children's facilities and that the couples with children seemed very happy with the place.
Thanks so much for the great memories :) I look forward to coming back with family and friends :)

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nutalie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damien I, Owner at Vanuatu Beachfront Apartments, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Really appreciate you taking the time to write such a comprehensive review. It was great to see you two relaxing and getting and enjoying the bay, Our coffees and cakes are always popular with guests, especially in the morning. We are glad you enjoyed the kayaks and stand up paddle boards. We are always looking for extra activities for guests and will soon be taking delivery of some children's kayaks for even more fun on the water. We would love to see you back here one day in the future. I hope you had an enjoyable flight home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Vila hotels
5.9 mi away
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
#12 of 48 in Port Vila
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,414 reviews
8.3 mi away
The Havannah, Vanuatu
The Havannah, Vanuatu
#3 of 48 in Port Vila
5.0 of 5 bubbles 523 reviews
4.5 mi away
Iririki Island Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Nasama Resort
Nasama Resort
#7 of 48 in Port Vila
4.5 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
6.1 mi away
Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu
0.4 mi away
Hideaway Island Resort
Hideaway Island Resort
#13 of 48 in Port Vila
4.5 of 5 bubbles 608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vanuatu Beachfront Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vanuatu Beachfront Apartments

Property: Vanuatu Beachfront Apartments
Address: Lot 6 Mele Cove, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu
Phone Number:
Location: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 31 Specialty Lodging in Port Vila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Vanuatu Beachfront Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
6 self-contained apartments built into a beach-front resort complex with onsite pool/bar and cafe. Kids club onsite with volleyball court and daily activities including water sports and jet ski hire. Port Vila, Vanuatu ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Vanuatu Beachfront Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vanuatu Beachfront Apartments Port Vila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing