We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will be back soon!”
Review of Conquistadors - CLOSED

Conquistadors
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Port Vila, Vanuatu
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Will be back soon!”
Reviewed May 7, 2014

We went to Conquistadors on Saturday night with friends. We bought 2 bottles of wine with us and paid a small corkage fee. Two of us had the reef and beef and the other two had the eye fillet. You then choose a sauce and two sides. Cooking our own meal was fun and meant that we got exactly what we wanted! We all thoroughly enjoyed our mains and then decided we had to try the dessert and we weren't disappointed. I shared the chocolate mousse with one friend and the others enjoyed the creme brulee and the cheesecake. We finished our evening off with a beautiful dessert wine each. Eric and his team are lovely, the staff were very attentive. We didn't stay long as we had early morning plans but next time I think we'll go for lunch to enjoy the beautiful view and maybe a swim before dining. I thoroughly recommend this for everyone but I would say it'd be a must do on my list if I was a tourist as Vanuatu's beef is incredible and the style of cooking here meant this place definitely did it best. I am looking forward to returning soon!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shibbyfee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    11
    0
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
Reviewed April 20, 2014

We dined at Conquistadors last week whilst in Vanuatu on holiday, there were 10 of us. We all used the stone grill to cook which was great fun. We thought the prices were good, the service was excellent, nothing was a problem. Thoroughly recommended.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sonya E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Vila, Vanuatu
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“An amazing experience”
Reviewed February 9, 2014

A new and amazing experience in a most beautiful setting, Stone grill at Conquistadors offers fantastic food, service and a truly amazing view especially at sunset. The meals arrive on a sizzling stone and will cook in front of you to your liking with great accompaniments and a comprehensive wine and drink list, meals range from steaks and seafood, veal and surf and turfs.
great value for money as we had a entree each and a main each with a bottle of wine and came out under $100 AUD, try doing that in Australia with the view and quality of food.Its open for lunch and dinner. highly recomend for a special meal.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mickyvila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Yum!”
Reviewed January 14, 2014

We stayed at the resort late last year but I felt it was worth mentioning the restaurant as our dining experience there alone was worth the trip. I've never had Marlin cooked to such savoury perfection (had it one time in Tonga but it was dry and tough, you need a chef who knows what they're doing or they overcook it). I myself am gluten intolerant and it was no trouble at all for them to arrange meals that addressed that. I've rarely been anywhere that is so focussed on pleasing the guest! Great food, great bar, easy experience.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank necrognomicon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Totally disappointing!”
Reviewed January 11, 2014

We popped up the hill from the place we were staying, nice surrounding but felt like we popped into someone backyard. They have a BBQ and small outside kitchen, very little on offer and we came for the fish and they had on the menu but had none available?! Food was average but cost was high. Really not impressed!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FoxseeLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evelyn T, Owner at Conquistadors, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Thank you for leaving feedback.

I was sorry to hear your visit to our restaurant was a disappointment. The poolside restaurant is part of an intimate, family-owned, 6 villa resort with visitors and guests welcome to use the pool in a relaxed and enjoyable atmosphere.

The kitchen does have ovens, grills and all of the standard kitchen equipment, as well as the BBQ. Part of the kitchen is currently being refurbished, so there will soon be more choices on the menu including stone grill options. Check our website at www.conquistadorsvanuatu.com for updates, or phone on 77 55394.

Only fresh, local produce is served in the restaurant. This is subject to supply so items are sometimes unavailable, but there are always a number of choices. Guests are also welcome to request variations on dishes, sides and sauces. For customers with special dietary needs, our chef is happy to design special dishes.

If you would like to get in touch we can offer you a complimentary main meal and glass of wine for your next visit.

Warm regards, Laena Trueman.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Conquistadors also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing