We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hands down best french in Vila”

Restaurant le Jardin des Saveurs
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $31
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Description: The quality table of the French Chef,Francis MOUROUX, will seduce you with its specialties by offering fresh local products : Lobster, Flyerfox, Snails of Santo Island, Local Pigeon,River prawns, with a french delicate Touch ...
Mornington, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Hands down best french in Vila”
Reviewed March 23, 2014

We visit Vanuatu once or twice a year & had done for quote some time.
A lot of restaurants have been & gone but without doubt this is the BEST french restaurant on the island.
Everything is great here! The seafood & deserts are amazing!
Highly recommend to EVERYONE

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SurferMatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

352 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    237
    64
    28
    15
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
brisbane
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Good food spoilt by attitude.”
Reviewed March 23, 2014

From the moment we walked in, we felt we were a resource to make money.
There was no genuine welcome. We felt that they were trying to provide silver service but missed on many points. The attitude of the wait staff left much to be desired and the owner never moved from the front desk. For much of the time we were there, we were the only ones in the restaurant so a genuine "hello" would not have been out of place.
We were given a bread roll at the start but no knife with which to butter it. My wife ordered soup as an entree and was given a desert spoon to eat it and so on.
If you are going to have the haughtiness of a 5star restaurant, you should know your stuff.
My wife does not always have a wine with dinner and so when I ordered just a glass of wine and I asked if the particular French wine would be ok, I was told the I should buy a bottle of another. When I said I did not require a bottle, all I got was "well this will be ok". See comment above.
As most places in Vanuatu take $AUD, when it came time to pay the bill, we put in AUD cash. The waitress then came back, no apologies and said "we don't take Aussie dollars here". It would have been good to have been aware of it at the start as we then had to pay by card which incurred a 3.5% surcharge.
Overall the food was good but dining out is about the experience as much as the food and overall we left the establishment feeling flat.
We won't be back and would certainly would not recommend to anyone else.
What a shame. For so little detail, it could have been so different.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rodgs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deepseadreamer, Gérant at Restaurant le Jardin des Saveurs, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Tanks for your review and for having visiting us.
We are not pretending 5 starts restaurant as we are in VANUATU and of course we are not providing silver service…
I’m very surprised that my head waitress didn't give you a GENUINE welcome as she’s always doing it a specially for our first customer and all over…
My wife broke her toe that night and we apologised that she could not move from her desk.
Regarding our French wine by the glass, you should understand that a bottle off imported wine that you've selected is not evaluable only by glass in our country . We are not at ‘ La tour d’Argent ‘ in Paris.
Anyway, just look out our most rewiev about us and sorry about not providing your standing when you think THAT YOU ARE IN VANUATU….
Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoney Creek, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice surprise!”
Reviewed March 9, 2014

This place was recommended to us by an expat, and they were correct! By far some of the best food, experiences, and services we have ever had the pleasure of having! The atmosphere is romantic, bringing memories of old movies to the foreground (think Casablanca). It was open, breezy, and the food was second to none! The staff were extremely attentive and courteous, as was the madame of the house.

Thanks for a great night!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeanette D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
1 review
“A wonderful experience”
Reviewed March 8, 2014

This is one of the best restaurants we have visited for a long time. Food and service were delightful. We so enjoyed our experience we ate their four nights in a row. Each night reached the same high standard as on the previous one. Plenty of choice on the menu so no chance of us being bored. Service was terrific both in attention to detail and also in timeliness. A MUST VISIT if you are in Vanuatu. It is right next door to Warwick Le Lagoon so if you are staying there, it is only a short walk to this fabulous restaurant,

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Neil D D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanuatu
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Non better!”
Reviewed February 24, 2014 via mobile

This restaurant is the best in Port Vila without a doubt. As a long term resident of Vanuatu I found it near impossible to find a pleasant dining experience for more than one visit. The second visit to restaurants would inevitably bring disappointment.
This restaurant has it all, pleasant & courteous owner/operators, professional & happy staff and lastly, excellent menu selection with quality of food to match.
Cannot speak highly enough of le Jardin des Saveurs. The have won me over as a regular booking.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Alform
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant le Jardin des Saveurs also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing