We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic, tasty and great pricing”
Review of Golden Port

Golden Port
Ranked #62 of 89 Restaurants in Port Vila
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Authentic, tasty and great pricing”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Went in the afternoon on a Sunday after my flight, so wasn't busy, waitress was friendly and helpful, so was the Chinese boy who took our order. Ordered a fried rice, chilli beef, beef and vegetables and the yummiest deep fried peppered squid. They also provide complimentary chinese tea. Food came out fast was very tasty and was reasonable pricing around 4200vt for 2 hungry guys. The view during the day is beautiful, looking out into the habour with the gorgeous blue sea shining back at you. Would recommend this restaurant if you like Chinese food. I've tried sweet and sour pork and lemon chicken also, just a note, the sauce comes seperatly which I found weird but thats how they serve it. Give it a go!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ofania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    16
    8
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Port Vila, Vanuatu
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Cheap & Cheery”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Have had several group shared dinners here because the banquet style is cost effective for a large group. Food is ok and there is a good selection (except if you are vegetarian!) and a reasonable sized portion. The staff are very friendly but are not overly knowledgeable about the menu or drinks. Lovely outlook over Port Vila harbour, which is better viewed over lunch rather than dinner. Fairly close to town and is walking distance from many hotels etc. Don’t usually need to make a reservation as it is a very large restaurant and being fairly new is only just building up its clientele so often there are only a few customers.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 66Travel-to-Learn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
33 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“The service is the problem........................”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Not so much the food. The service was all over the place, food was bought out too soon, we like to finish our entree's before the mains are served.
In regards to jell78, these people are not in China any longer, therefore they should adapt to the Western way of serving.
I'm not sure if we will try it again, but if we do, we have learnt a valueable lesson, and a tip for future diners, just order entrees first, if you don't wish to be overwhelmed.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Princessbrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
135 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Great fresh food”
Reviewed March 6, 2013

We were impressed with the authenticity of the new Golden Port Chinese restaurant (where Le Rendezvous used to be). Overly luxurious damask tablecloths, chair covers and linen, heavy furniture like you would see in China… but great service, harbour views and food with appropriate pricing. We found very fresh food with great spice balance in each dish. They bring each dish out in the order that is cooked unless requested otherwise (you will get quickly cooked dishes first like you would in China, so you are not sitting with an empty plate for long). Seafood such as crab/lobster is 2580vt per kg so my 1.5kg chili mud crab was about $36 AUD. I had half of it for breakfast the next day! We also really enjoyed their Mapo Tofu with szechuan pepper for 1080vt. They will soon be offering budget accommodation too at about 7000vt per night.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PeaceAndLight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Help is here”
Reviewed March 2, 2013

In comment to the previous expert. In case you didn't know asian restaurants. Food comes out as it's cooked in no order whatsoever. Asians do not have entrees and mains. The concept of bringing a course out and waiting for the patrons to finish, before bringing out the next is foreign to them. And just for the record, the world doesn't revolve around us white people anymore honey

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jell78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Golden Port? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing