We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth a look”
Review of Siviri Cave

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Siviri Cave
Ranked #49 of 57 things to do in Port Vila
Attraction details
Brisbane, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Well worth a look”
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Certainly worth a drive down into the village to take a look at the caves with the local guide. if you want to see the good bit of the cave this involves a trip with the guide on a kayak.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1
    8
    11
    7
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Small cave”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We just had a look at the first cave, without going on a kayak. There is nothing particularly exciting inside. It was more interesting to go a bit further along the road and see how people leave in a village.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrey241
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“you are paying to see a cave”
Reviewed September 6, 2013

I cannot speak for the kayaking experience, just visiting the cave.

Despite that, there is little to see. Whether the history behind the formation is interesting to you may largely depend on whether you have a guide to explain it by your side. That is, 'if' - visiting requires a token payment, but this is something that you may or may not have to organize yourself. The site is behind a gate visible some fifty meters from a village on the far side of Efate.

As for the cave - it is a cave: damp, dark, and somewhat cavernous in nature. On the positive side, it is relatively unlikely, due to the size of the cave and depth of the water, that you will fall within, or be attacked by vicious bats. That is certainly what I would call a 'bonus' in a place of this sort.

If you flatter yourself with your navigational skills and are prepared to, at your own expense, see some more obscure attractions in Vanuatu, you will enjoy going to the cave.

Probably.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank ground-view
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Not set up terribly well”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

There isn't a sign post for this cave on the main road. You just have to drive through Siviri village then you get to it by the beach.
There was no-one there when got there so we just went in the cave, it's quite big and dark with water at the back. Then a van turned up with a couple of tourists and a young man (Chris) from the village. After they had gone Chris helped my husband and one boy to go in the kayak to look in the cave. We didn't have a torch but Chris had one. Definitely take your own torches as one is not enough.
They got a bit lost as there is no way to find your way around. Chris can take you one at a time if you can be bothered. It was muddy in the caves and there were some swallows in one but you can't really see them.
The cave wouldn't be worth seeing without having a go at the kayaking but for 500 vv just to go in the cave and another 500 to use the kayak, it wasn't really worth the $40 NZ that it cost. The teenager liked it more than the adult!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Fiona T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“A little disappointing”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

We did a round island trip and stopped at the cave, it was a little disappointing.

I am sure that if you kayaked intot he cave it would be more interesting, however this was not available when we were there.

Otherwise you just walk into the cave and stand on the water's edge in darkness!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank pingsandmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Siviri Cave also viewed

 
Efate, Vanuatu
 

Been to Siviri Cave? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing