We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Town Chic”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Terraces Boutique Apartments
Ranked #17 of 47 Hotels in Port Vila
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
121 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Town Chic”
Reviewed August 9, 2014

We stayed here for 5 nights and if you are looking for a place to stay (not on the beach) but in walking distance (10 minutes) to the main (and only) street in Port Vila this is the place. We had a one bedroom apartment and it was huge, very modern, clean with outside deck views over the Erakor Lagoon. The living area is downstairs and the bedroom up a steepish set of stairs so bear this in mind if climbing stairs is difficult for you. Free wireless internet too. The weather wasn't all that warm when we visited in July so we didn't make use of the outdoor private pool (not totally private though) but it did add amenity to the apartments. Callum met us when we arrived and was always pleasant and efficient. We didn't use any of the full kitchen facilities but rather ate at Mangoes next door (we had a very good breakfast here each morning) or walked into town. There is a tennis court and gym for active visitors as well.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carolynt23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    33
    6
    3
    0
See reviews for
32
86
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Uralla
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2014

We have just returned from Port Vila after staying for 7 nights as a family of 5. The apartments are pure luxury and so functional for a family with a kitchen and private plunge pool. The views taken in every morning were sensational. We all thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and highly recommend it for other families. To know you had beautiful surroundings at the end of each day after sightseeing was truly magnificent. Thank you to all the staff that made our fanily holiday an absolute joy.

Room Tip: ask for the apartments at the front and make sure you get the plunge pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Corinne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2014

Would just like to thank our hosts for a wonderful relaxing week spent at the terraces. You could not ask for anything more, Beautiful spacious high end well equipped apartments. The bathrooms are to die for, with an,amazing bath and shower. Each room has its own private deck and plunge pool looking out on stunning views. The staff could not do enough for us nothing was a problem., The meals were excellent from breakfast lunches and dinners.lots of variety.
Very quiet great location. we will be back.

Room Tip: all great very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank theMorts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
108 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2014

We stayed at the terraces in July this year, as a family of 4 (2 teenage children) and can't speak highly enough of it.
The apartments were immaculately presented, and incredibly spacious. There was a large well equipped kitchen, and huge lounge space which led out to a private deck with beautiful views over the lagoon from every room.The private plunge pools on each deck looked lovely, but were a little cold to get into in july. Would be great in summer.The kids had their own room and bathroom with separate sitting area and TV, so plenty of room to spread out . The huge master bedroom upstairs had its own separate deck with lovely views, and attached en suite with the most fabulous bath!
The bed was enormous, and probably the most comfortable we have ever experienced in years of traveling.
The included breakfasts in the morning were fabulous, with a great choice of delicious cold and hot breakfasts to choose from . They were served in mangoes restaurant next door where we also ate dinner a couple of times as the food was excellent.
The kids used the tennis court a couple of times, and also the gym.
Callum, the owner was really helpful, and could book any local tours etc for you.
Overall, a fantastic, quiet, relaxing place to stay. We would definitely return!

Room Tip: All rooms looked equally good . All had great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KeriAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
53 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2014

I have stayed at a number of places in Port Vila and this is my favourite. There are only twelve or so units but it benefits from Mangos resort next door which is managed by the same New Zealand team. The apartments themselves are beautifully furnished. Huge, comfortable beds… Bali style bathroom and full kitchen although food from nearby Mangos is available on a charge back basis. The view is quite stunning. Small gym, tennis court and lovely infinity pool.

It’s a short walk into town but taxis are easily available or buses go past the resort frequently.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank culturallattice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Papakura, New Zealand
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2014

Even though the weather wasn't the greatest (was raining and town was flooded so we couldn't use the road on arrival!!) our apartment made up for it. We asked for ice to be in our freezer on arrival (for our drinks of course!) and there was a huge bag in our freezer. awesome!
Very tasteful decor, amazing bath (water came out of the roof!), massive shower, bigger than Texas sized bed with balcony and views, huge couch, great little kitchen and 6 seater dining table - private deck pool was the icing on the cake although it was freezing and we only got the sun in the morning, it was such a massive treat to walk two steps out the door into your own pool! Also a big infinity shared pool with an amazing view.
Well worth the $$ spent as wasn't the cheapest in Port Vila but looking around town, I am VERY glad we chose The Terraces, although Mangoes looked like great accomodation as well.
The food that came from Mangoes was top quality and breakfast was included so we'd either wander down to Mangoes in the morning (like a 1 minute walk downhill) or the restaurant would deliver - also room service all day - also such a treat!
Only down fall was information, there were DVDs & books available to take back to your room at reception at Mangoes (found this out a few days in - was good as it was still raining!) Map to town a bit vague but once we got going all good and not far, but not close enough to go anywhere else for dinner...everything seemed far away & I missed been close to a nice beach.
Not sure if I'd rush back to Vanuatu but if I did, I would certainly stay at The Terraces again - go on - treat yourself to a romantic getaway!

Room Tip: pay the extra for a plunge pool - well worth it if you love the water
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank littlemshappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2014 via mobile

Before I booked I called the hotel directly and asked if they had a plungs pool with the studios. they said yes. They didnt when I arrived and couldnt upgrade to being sold out. I arranged a shuttle from the airport to the hotel. We were alomoat the last passengers to leave the airport, because the deliver to so many hotels. A taxi would have been a better and cheaper option. I was dropped off and there were no staff at the hotel. I walked to the pool, chcked out the gym, and the tennis court and then went back to reception to find a cleaner who finally called someone. It turns out the hotel is managd by the Mangoes Hotel next door. I had to wait 20 mins to get checked in to a room that is nicey furnished but poorly soud proofed. I had two couples next to me. The first blasted rap music, and the second , a husband speaking louldy to his wife told her to keep shut about whatever she broke. nd I heard this over the TV. Upon arrival I wsa given a map to walk to town. The directions are terrible. There are nl street names, just lines and dots on a piece of paper. It took me over 2 hours to fid town, nd after an hour o walking back, i had to get a bus. The wifi is next to non existent. And despite they're info book there are no routers in the units. I had to buy a local wifi connection. Also no food is served here. You have to go next door to Mangoes, where by comparison everything is great. Dont book at Terraces, if you want this area go to Mangoes, but if you want to go to town, dont walk. I'm young enough to dealwith being lost, but I was exhausted by the end of wht should have been 20 mins, according to them them.

Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
10 Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Vila hotels
2.0 mi away
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
#12 of 47 in Port Vila
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,442 reviews
12.6 mi away
The Havannah, Vanuatu
The Havannah, Vanuatu
#3 of 47 in Port Vila
5.0 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
#15 of 47 in Port Vila
4.5 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Iririki Island Resort & Spa
3.1 mi away
Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu
2.7 mi away
Nasama Resort
Nasama Resort
#7 of 47 in Port Vila
4.5 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Terraces Boutique Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Terraces Boutique Apartments

Property: The Terraces Boutique Apartments
Address: Rue De Wales, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu
Location: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Port Vila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Terraces Boutique Apartments 4.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featuring breathtaking views over one hundred year old tree top canopies and tropical sparkling waters, The Terraces is Port Vila’s finest boutique apartment styled resort.Elevated well above Erakor lagoon these 16 show stopping apartments offer generously proportioned one and two bedroom combinations. Each of these spacious apartments, which span two levels, is contemporarily and stylishly furnished and designed specifically to take full advantage of the natural light, cool breeze and views.Generous open plan living and dining areas with soaring ceilings flow out to your own generous personal space with its private pool and balcony complemented by the onsite floodlit tennis court, massage facilities, gym and the sparkling waters of the Resort Pool.Adjacent to The Terraces, the highly regarded Mangoes Restaurant offers superb dining and a full room service menu with charge back facilities. Resort FeaturesServiced DailyBreathtaking resort pool Stunning cliff top water viewsFull kitchenBose ipod docking systems, DVD playersPrivate poolAir conditioningGym and shower areaOnsite tours and massageResort open for families - 5 years plusLess than a 10 minute walk to the centre of town ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your The Terraces Boutique Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Terraces Boutique Apartments Vanuatu/Port Vila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing