We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful resort, wonderful holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Terraces Boutique Apartments
Ranked #17 of 47 Hotels in Port Vila
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful resort, wonderful holiday”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Loved this place: it's private, tasteful, peaceful, beautiful views, helpful staff and a good restaurant. When we stay at resorts we tend to only return at night for a meal and sleep; hopefully it's not a sign of our age but we found ourselves having to get motivated to go out and do stuff rather than lounging around the gorgeous little terrace houses there with the view over the lagoon.

Room Tip: Well from memory we stayed in 308.. I
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tobias B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    33
    6
    3
    0
See reviews for
34
90
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Level 6 Contributor
223 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

This accommodation is some of the best I have ever stayed in and I've been lucky to stay in a lot of accommodation around the world. The layout is open, airy, spacious and beautifully decorated. We had the 2 bedroom Vila at the front which overlooked the lagoon. The private plunge pool and deck with sun lounges is just heaven. The bed and free standing bath is huge! It's tempting not to leave your Vila!

The location is great. We never had an issue getting a taxi to town (500) or a bus (150). We also hired a car one day and parked it overnight at The Terraces.

Wi-Fi did not work on my ipad in the Vila but it did work on my partner's laptop. My ipad did work at The Terraces reception and Mangoes restaurant so no big issue.

We had breakfast in the restaurant and room service for a lunch and a dinner. My only issue with room service is that there was no cover on our food so by the time dinner arrived from Mangoes, it was cold. Lunch arrived hot though, even without covers.

The owners are really lovely and accommodating. We were even able to check out late to enjoy the Vila right up to the time we had to catch our flight. That was really appreciated.

I am really nit picking here, but my only suggestion would be that the cleaning be of a higher standard in order to maintain such beautiful accommodation. Coasters would be handy to protect the furniture. Very small things for such a wonderful place.

Thank you The Terraces!

Room Tip: Vilas at the front and private with a lovely view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NicoleBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 19, 2013

The terrace apartments have all the ingredients for a luxurious and romantic holiday. Modern equipment ,furniture, extra king size bed, bath and shower. Well appointed, beautiful location with resting views from all rooms especially from the private plunge pool of a lagoon and beautiful canopy trees.
Management were so friendly obliging and helpful nothing was a trouble for them.
The restaurant food was a beautifully presented with an innovative selection.
Sarah and Ros made our holiday with their cheerfulness and information.
The location is not far from the Port and most landmarks.
If you wish total privacy romantic location don't look any further.

Room Tip: All the Terrace Apartments are private from each other however the lower level are very private from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sandra a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 16, 2013

We stayed here as a last minute change of plans as the accommodation we initially booked into was horrible. The accommodation was brilliant with fantastic views and everything we could have asked for. The staff were excellent and so helpful. We had a 2 storey fully self contained apartment with plunge pool adjoining a single storey 1 bed which our elderly mother stayed in so we all had our privacy but were still together. A bit of a hill climb to the main pool, but the view from there are probably one of the best on the island. The food was provided via "Mangoes" which is their adjoining resort and the breakfast was sensational. (would highly recommend trying their muesli). All in all a fantastic place to stay with really helpful staff and great food.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KathyC60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2013

We LOVED staying here while in Vanuatu, we were at a big resort for the first half of the trip and it was so lovely to arrive at the Terraces with their modern relaxed feel. It was the first place we didnt feel like the hotel was trying to over charge on everything! The gym is great and the 1 bedroom apartment has so much space. Its nice to have a plunge pool on the balcony and there is even a balcony upstairs to take in the view!
I would recommend this to anyone and it is definitely my favourite place Ive seen in Vanuatu, we spent a lot less while staying here because we could cook our meals etc if we didnt feel like a proper restaurant meal.
The owners were lovely and always friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: I think the 1 BR apartments are definitely worth spending a little more on as there is much more spa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Macy_love
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 4, 2013

I stayed here for a week at the end of August 2013. The place is amazing! The staff are all extremely helpful and lovely. We got to know and love them (especially Rebecca).
The room had its own private plunge pool and deck area complete with deck chairs and sun loungers. There was an infinity pool at the top of the terraces again complete with sun bed and deck chairs which overlook the lagoons below: breath taking!!
The people who own and run the place also own "mangos" next door and we also had free use of everything there too and often ate in the restaurant here!
Aimed at adults only it was the perfect relaxation place for R&R, and close enough to get out and explore too. Was easy to book in day trips too and get out and about :)

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vicki W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2013

The Terraces, run by Callum Rhodes and his wife, both Kiwi expats, are a lovely almost new set of apartments set high up on the hill overlooking the lagoon in Port Villa. The apartments are very well designed with excellent ventilation furniture and layout. The kitchen is a little lacking in utensils and such but I expect that will be sorted out over time. A little dip pool, set into the decking overlooks the view and would be wonderful in hot weather. We went in August. The main pool, roughly as big as a big backyard pool, is absolutely gorgeous with a stunning 180 deg view, beautiful design and layout and a pagola with sun bed placed at one end which makes for an idillic spot to relax. The staff are delightful. They provide free access to good tennis rackets and not so good balls (bring your own or buy them for $25/4 ball set). There is a little gym for the keen beans. The breakfast which is included is very good. The restaurant also serves lunch and dinner and is really quite good and, for Pt Villa, excellent. First prize though goes to the owners who make you feel like part of the family from the start and are a delight to deal with. Long may they prosper.

Room Tip: All apartments are equivalent for view. If the kids are going to be in and out of the pool ask to be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emered
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Vila hotels
2.0 mi away
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
#13 of 47 in Port Vila
1,485 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
#15 of 47 in Port Vila
666 reviews
12.6 mi away
The Havannah, Vanuatu
The Havannah, Vanuatu
#3 of 47 in Port Vila
552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Iririki Island Resort & Spa
2.7 mi away
Nasama Resort
Nasama Resort
#7 of 47 in Port Vila
488 reviews
3.1 mi away
Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Terraces Boutique Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Terraces Boutique Apartments

Property: The Terraces Boutique Apartments
Address: Rue De Wales, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu
Location: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Port Vila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Terraces Boutique Apartments 4.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featuring breathtaking views over one hundred year old tree top canopies and tropical sparkling waters, The Terraces is Port Vila’s finest boutique apartment styled resort.Elevated well above Erakor lagoon these 16 show stopping apartments offer generously proportioned one and two bedroom combinations. Each of these spacious apartments, which span two levels, is contemporarily and stylishly furnished and designed specifically to take full advantage of the natural light, cool breeze and views.Generous open plan living and dining areas with soaring ceilings flow out to your own generous personal space with its private pool and balcony complemented by the onsite floodlit tennis court, massage facilities, gym and the sparkling waters of the Resort Pool.Adjacent to The Terraces, the highly regarded Mangoes Restaurant offers superb dining and a full room service menu with charge back facilities. Resort FeaturesServiced DailyBreathtaking resort pool Stunning cliff top water viewsFull kitchenBose ipod docking systems, DVD playersPrivate poolAir conditioningGym and shower areaOnsite tours and massageResort open for families - 5 years plusLess than a 10 minute walk to the centre of town ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your The Terraces Boutique Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Terraces Boutique Apartments Vanuatu/Port Vila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing