We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central, yet still away from busy town”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Terraces Boutique Apartments
Ranked #17 of 47 Hotels in Port Vila
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 3, 2013

My partner and I stayed for 3 nights before heading out of town. If you're keen to be self-contained and left to your own devices, great place to choose. But, you are still close to town if you wanted to stroll to the shops. Each apartment has it's own plunge pool - fantastic for quick cool down!! And overlooks lush scenery and lagoon down below. The super-sized bed was super comfy and having both ceiling fans and aircon upstairs in the bedroom was great.

All the staff we came across were friendly and approachable. Breakfast was down the hill at Mangoes. One comment is that perhaps the menu in the Terraces Compendium and Mangoes folder should read the same as there was a little confusion here when we ordered breakfast (I believe they are both under the same ownership?..). As breakfast was included in our stay, the Terraces menu said one thing, but Mangoes option wasn't as extensive - this was easily sorted as we explained to wait staff what breakfast items were listed in the menu we had.

Unfortunately, the weather was not the greatest - was overcast and rained each day off and on - so we used the bathmat as our doormat, only as the tiles were quite slippery.

Overall, fantastic space in the apartment itself - clean, modern, great views from your own deck as well as the main swimming pool.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RaynaandCain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MangoesResort, General Manager at The Terraces Boutique Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post your experience of The Terraces on Tripadvisor. We love your heading "Central, yet still away from busy town" as that is how we aim to promote our special location. Just to let you know, that due to your feedback, The Terraces now has its own breakfast menu in Mangoes Restaurant to make it easier for future guests. We are glad that you had a great stay and fortunately, for our current guests the sun has come out!
Kind Regards
Callum Rhodes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (155)
There are newer reviews for The Terraces Boutique Apartments
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

133 - 139 of 155 reviews

Reviewed June 19, 2013

This is my sixth time in Port Vila for mixture of work and business. The Terraces have to be the best place to stay here. Spacious, modern and clean.....and above all, luxurious... Huge beds!!! The plunge pool is beautiful overlooking the lagoon and allows you to do a few swimming strokes (albeit at my speed). There is a full kitchen but room service from the superb Mangoes restaurant is available and charged back to the room.

I would echo the comments of other guests that all staff are great.... cleaners, restaurant....... but... it is the staff managing the complex who make it... helpful, gracious, efficient and effective... Nothing is too much trouble. I was given direct phone number of one of the staff in case a minor problem I had reported reoccurred during the night.

Spa services...massage...available in room although I didnt try

Room Tip: All the rooms are excellent!!!
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank culturallattice1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

We stayed at The Terraces for twelve days in June. We had a single bedroom two story apartment with its own plunge pool on the deck overlooking the lagoon. The apartment was first class. Downstairs in an open plan configuration with an entrance and dining area, a galley type kitchen, spacious living area leading on to the deck, and a downstairs toilet (powder room). The kitchen is well equipped and includes a microwave as well as conventional oven and cook top.

Upstairs is the large bedroom with a balcony, dressing room with generous storage and hanging space plus a huge bathroom that included a stand alone stone bath and a separate shower. This is luxury accommodation that surpasses what is shown on the web site. Everything you could want is provided. There is a small but well equipped gym, a tennis court and superb swimming pool.

We were met on arrival and shown to our apartment. There were a few minor problems initially to achieve a WiFi connection due to some confusion with the passwords but the owner came to the apartment and quickly got me on-line. The owner was very helpful all through our stay and the staff were delightful, helpful and friendly.

As my wife had limited mobility (a broken foot) we had breakfasts delivered to our room rather than walking thirty metres down the road to Mangoes restaurant. Delivery times were a bit haphazard on occasions and due to the distance from the kitchen food can't be delivered pipping hot but we didn't find this to be a problem. Mangoes restaurant lies between The Terraces and the Mangoes resort (all under the same ownership) it has a good standard of food with good service. Meals can be charged to your room and room service is offered. There are books and DVDs available from Mangoes reception.

It is a ten minute walk into Port Vila from the Terraces or a $6 (500 vatu) cab fare. We loved this place and hope that we can go back. If you don't have to be on the beach this is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pierrekiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2013

While our stay wasn't without its problems (power outages, confusion over our breakfast inclusions, things still under construction), whenever we had an issue, the owners and staff went out of their way to resolve issue as quickly and efficiently as possible. They even helped resolve problems before they happened, like confirming our transfer service to the airport was aware they had to pick us up (they weren't).

In terms of what was available, the beautiful apartment, the plunge pool, and the adults only environment all helped provide a very relaxing stay. A fully kit out kitchen helped us keep costs down by making our own meals. When we did treat ourselves to room service, it arrived promptly, and was delicious (though, if you aren't a fan of pork-products, I recommend double-checking your meal doesn't have bacon when you order. If you do like pork products, you're in for a lot of treats!).

We loved our time there, and will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sparhawk0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MangoesResort, General Manager at The Terraces Boutique Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at The Terraces Boutique Apartments.
Just to let you know that since February we have ironed out all minor opening problems and all work has been completed.
We look forward to welcoming you back to The Terraces.

Tropical Regards
Callum Rhodes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2013

After much research on hotels in Vanuatu, we booked Mangoes Resort because it was Adults only (kids stayed with grandma and pa!) and we were going during school holidays. We wanted to be close to town because we like to eat out and did not want to be confined to a resort a long way from town. Fortunately for us, we were offered an upgrade to Mangoes new apartments 'The Terraces'. These apartments are SO beautiful, modern, conveniently located, our own plunge pool over looking the bay - plus an amazing main pool that we never had to share with anyone! My partner and I would giggle to ourselves at times because we felt we were staying in a place that we would see in a brochure and say 'I wish we were there'....and we were there!! The Terraces are fresh, clean, comfortable and located only a 2 minute bus trip to town for 150VT each ($1.50AUD each) with buses or taxi readily available out the front of the hotel. Otherwise, town in only a 10 minute walk, which is a great chance to see the locals and have a chat. When we didn't feel like eating out, we were blessed with the very happy staff and the amazing food and Mangoes Restaurant, with a breakfast for champions and a seafood platter that we could not finish - the food is as good as any of the restaurants in town. We looked at a lot of the adult only hotels that were further out of town and I am sure they are good, but for us, the convenience of popping into town to grab a beer at The Anchor Inn was a must. I could not imagine being a 10 minute bus trip from town - I think it would become frustrating (for me anyway). The Terraces are high up on a hill over looking tree canopy and forest, I could not have asked for a more private, relaxing or friendly place to be. LOVE LOVE LOVED IT! Oh and the beds are to die for....far bigger than a king bed :)

Room Tip: Rooms 308 to 311 are nice because they are down the front and you only have forest in front of you...
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MusterSouthAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MangoesResort, General Manager at The Terraces Boutique Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2013

Thank you for your fabulous review of The Terraces Boutique Apartments, we are glad that you had a wonderful stay with us. The Terraces is a new apartment style property which is adjacent to Mangoes Resort. While you were staying at The Terraces we didn't have any children staying, however our child policy at the apartments is for ages 5 years plus.

Tropical Regards
Callum Rhodes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

We had a bath in the large bathtub-very romantic! Water falls from the ceiling to fill it! Bring your favourite music to play your iPod. Candles are very nice too. King sized bed this place has it all!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank R C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

The Terraces are in a great location - close to town with an amazing view over the lagoon. We stayed in the one bedroom villa with private plunge pool at the top of the property. Only a brief walk to the infinity pool which is the best I've ever seen.

The property is still undergoing work - more cosmetic than anything else, this doesn't detract from the stay. Some finishing touches still need to be completed in the villa but again, everything worked wonderfully. Wi-Fi was sketchy from the rooms themselves but seemed better on the patio.

All staff - management through to employees were wonderful, friendly and helpful. No request was ever a problem.

Eating at Mangoes was quick and easy, a short walk and you're in their restaurant - alternatively have your meals in your room. Their dinners were exceptionally good.

A great stay and would be happy to visit again.

Room Tip: If you're after a cooked breakfast, best to have in the restaurant, sometimes a little cool by t...
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anthony G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Vila hotels
2.0 mi away
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
#13 of 47 in Port Vila
1,504 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
#14 of 47 in Port Vila
681 reviews
12.6 mi away
The Havannah, Vanuatu
The Havannah, Vanuatu
#3 of 47 in Port Vila
559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Iririki Island Resort & Spa
2.7 mi away
Nasama Resort
Nasama Resort
#7 of 47 in Port Vila
496 reviews
3.1 mi away
Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Terraces Boutique Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Terraces Boutique Apartments

Address: Rue De Wales, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu
Location: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Port Vila
Price Range: $203 - $349 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Terraces Boutique Apartments 4.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featuring breathtaking views over one hundred year old tree top canopies and tropical sparkling waters, The Terraces is Port Vila’s finest boutique apartment styled resort.Elevated well above Erakor lagoon these 16 show stopping apartments offer generously proportioned one and two bedroom combinations. Each of these spacious apartments, which span two levels, is contemporarily and stylishly furnished and designed specifically to take full advantage of the natural light, cool breeze and views.Generous open plan living and dining areas with soaring ceilings flow out to your own generous personal space with its private pool and balcony complemented by the onsite floodlit tennis court, massage facilities, gym and the sparkling waters of the Resort Pool.Adjacent to The Terraces, the highly regarded Mangoes Restaurant offers superb dining and a full room service menu with charge back facilities. Resort FeaturesServiced DailyBreathtaking resort pool Stunning cliff top water viewsFull kitchenBose ipod docking systems, DVD playersPrivate poolAir conditioningGym and shower areaOnsite tours and massageResort open for families - 5 years plusLess than a 10 minute walk to the centre of town ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Terraces Boutique Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Terraces Boutique Apartments Vanuatu/Port Vila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing