We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful peaceful place with fantastic view and...”
other travelers have booked this property
Fully fenced infinity swimming pool
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Fully fenced infinity swimming pool
Hammocks, what else do you need on holiday Entertainers Dream
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
50 reviews
Fully fenced infinity swimming pool
Hammocks, what else do you need on holiday
Entertainers Dream
Large dining/living areas
The perfect spot to wind down
Birds eye view of the house
Actual sunset
Relax
The perfect sunsets
relax
6m high ceiling
plenty of places to chill
large dining/living areas
master bedroom
Large breezeways
Master bedroom
Master bathroom
Monsoon shower
two person outdoor bath
swimming rockpools
Guest wing
Entrance Hallway
large 5th bedroom with 2 queen beds
large 5th bedroom with 2 queen beds
The perfect evening drink spot
Hammocks in the trees
perfect for dining
sheltered swimming
large grounds
Our snorkelling reefs are sensational
Large second bathroom
Set up for one of our wonderful weddings
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
5 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Port Vila, Efate

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 50 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Elizabeth...
Auckland Central, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful peaceful place with fantastic view and excellent staff”
Reviewed June 13, 2015 for a stay in May 2015
2
people found this review helpful

The open plan style of the house made for a wonderful community feel but there were also plenty of areas to quietly read or relax away from others. The house was cool and comfortable, the kitchen was well stocked - importantly with a great coffee machine - and magical Wendy cleaned and tidied up after a large group with no fuss. The luxury of coming back from a day out to find everything clean and tidy, with our dirty clothes washed and folded and waiting for us was something I could very quickly get used too! I can't remember when I have had such a relaxing holiday. The nearby restaurant was great with excellent food and I highly recommend the Mmmmmm cocktail which went very well with the fresh and tasty meals.
It was a little disconcerting to have a little hermit crab join me for my shower but it made for a great memory once I realised he was less interested in me than I was in him.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Tranquillity
Liked least: The road to the house but it wasn't very long and considering there was a cyclone not long ago - a 4x4 fixed the problem
Traveling group: Large Group
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 24, 2015
Thats so much for the review and Wendy say Hello! We find that our amazing staff add that little bit of extra luxury to your stay, washing done, beds made, dishes done, after all when you are holiday you want to relax. Thanks again for staying at The Reef House and we do hope to see you back again soon. Glen and the team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne B
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Venue for a great holiday”
Reviewed June 10, 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

As a group we visited the Reef House for our first time this May/June. The house is fantastic - it really made the holiday. For a group of friends it proved to be the perfect venue. Relaxing, and enjoying our "time out" was made easy. The staff also were fabulous. Highly recommend it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The layout of the house was ideal
Liked least: the roads
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary B
Auckland Central, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A party in Paradise”
Reviewed June 4, 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

I took a group of friends and family to celebrate my birthday. Glen, the owner, made the Reef House available. If you are looking for a top class holiday home either for entertaining friends or simply a family break in beautiful Vanuatu, then the Reef House is the place to choose. Top facilities, great housekeeping staff and a perfect location. Indoor and outdoor dining all in the one place, and when you get lazy a top restaurant is just a couple minutes down the road. A special find was the local prawn farm just along the road, made for the finest barbeque you could imagine. I will definitely be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It is designed for your total enjoyment
Liked least: Leaving
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DonandZen...
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“You really will not find better in Port Vila !”
Reviewed February 22, 2015 for a stay in January 2015

Where do I start, way too many great things about this property !

There was 8 of us...my wife and I, our 3 kids 16, 14 & 9, and 3 grandparents. We stayed for 8 nights at The Reef House.

The Reef House is not far from town, but with our crew, we hired 2 cars. (Tell the car hire co. that you will be on dirt roads). The kids loved travelling around in the back of the ute.

On arrival at the house, we were greeted by one of the Managers, who showed us around and how everything worked. There was a house maid who stayed on site the whole time, but you don't really notice and a grounds person who was in most days. All the staff were soooo nice and helpful, ie the washing machine was being fixed one day, we came home and all our washing for 8 people was done by hand !!!

Beds were comfy, all the rooms had roof fans, there are spare fans in storeroom and all beds had mosquito nets to sleep under...which were essential. Bathrooms are huge, indoor and out door, and even with 8 of us, there was never a queue ! Kitchen was well appointed, everything worked, bbq was great. We all loved the pool, rock pools and the outdoor tub !

Ok, one negative, we took grandparents, one of whom was 81 and really needed a hand rail on the 6 stairs between top level and bottom level, but that's it ! (She coped and grandkids helped !)

This place is just fabulous, well worth the effort, it's quiet and peaceful. WE WILL STAY HERE AGAIN !!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vicki C
Auckland
2 reviews
“Sunsets, Tranquility & More…….”
Reviewed December 17, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

We have an amazing stay at the Reefhouse. Glen and his staff were very accommodating, provided us with all the information we needed plus more. The staff were friendly and was great to have them come each day as with a family of 5 we were always on the go. The locality of the house was down a long road 10mins out of town so nice and private, no noise, and the house had everything that we needed if we didn't want to leave. Plenty of space to stock up on food, great system having the rotating pantry where you could use what you didn't have however replenish with leftover food etc that couldn't be taken back. We arrived with a suitcase full of snacks so only needed to stock up on fresh products from the supermarket. The pool was awesome being fresh water and the use of the kayak was also a bonus. Definitely recommend to anybody wanting to stay with a large family or two families, plenty of snorkelling gear to keep everyone entertained. Nothing to fault, was an amazing holiday!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view each morning as we opened the doors
Liked least: Big spiders, big ants and regular visits inside from the crabs!
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LisaLou_0...
Mount View, New South Wales, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Our second time back, fantastic”
Reviewed October 26, 2014 for a stay in October 2014
2
people found this review helpful

This was our second time back to the Reef House and we immediately noticed all the little upgrades around the place, like a kayak which was great fun and a lot bigger range of snorkel gear. A huge flat screen TV and the free WIFI was about 5 times faster.

There was also a lot more lighting in the grounds so the outdoor living was even more pleasant than before.

It certainly does deserve its reputation as the best luxury holiday home in the South Pacific and we will definitely be going back again in the near future.

While there we bought some supplies for the local kindy. The local organiser runs a kayak eco tour and lives about 1km from The Reef House so she took us to the kindy, it was a great experience, very humbling.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The amazing location and gorgeous property
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russell18...
Geelong, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Family Holiday”
Reviewed September 2, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Recently spent ten days at Reef House with extended family. Eight adults and four children under five.The house was well laid out and comfortably accommodated all of us.The grounds were large so the children had plenty of room to run around .The house girls were fantastic and could not have been more helpful.There are plenty of creepy crawlies and also no lack of mice.The house is quite isolated and therefore expensive to get around unless you hire a car which we did not as there was to many of us.The day before we left,which was a Saturday,we woke to find we were out of gas to the kitchen.As the girls don't work weekends we tried ringing the owner and the assistant manager with no result.In the end I sent an email to the owner and he responded by telling us he was in transit to Hong Kong and the assistant was not available on Saturdays so no gas for cooking.Did not think this was good enough.Should be able to contact somebody if there is a problem. Had to light fire on beach to cook our meals.
This aside we did enjoy our holiday but be aware the house is quite isolated.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 9, 2014
Hi There,

thanks for the review and choosing to stay at The Reef House. It certainly has large lawns and the like to spread out as a family.

We point out we are far from isolated. We are only 12-15 mins from the CBD of Port Vila, most holiday homes in Vanuatu are 20 to 25 mins from the CBD. We find that is one of the very reasons we are so popular.

We apologise for the gas running out at the house, it should not have happened. The gas company was two weeks late with the run. We have taken steps to ensure it doesn't happen again. A Saturday in Port Vila is quiet and by the time you emailed and we instantly responded, the gas company had already closed.

Thanks again for staying with us.

Glen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing