We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Family Holiday”
other travelers have booked this property
Fully fenced infinity swimming pool
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Fully fenced infinity swimming pool
Hammocks, what else do you need on holiday Entertainers Dream
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
51 reviews
Fully fenced infinity swimming pool
Hammocks, what else do you need on holiday
Entertainers Dream
Large dining/living areas
The perfect spot to wind down
Birds eye view of the house
Actual sunset
Relax
The perfect sunsets
relax
6m high ceiling
plenty of places to chill
large dining/living areas
master bedroom
Large breezeways
Master bedroom
Master bathroom
Monsoon shower
two person outdoor bath
swimming rockpools
Guest wing
Entrance Hallway
large 5th bedroom with 2 queen beds
large 5th bedroom with 2 queen beds
The perfect evening drink spot
Hammocks in the trees
perfect for dining
sheltered swimming
large grounds
Our snorkelling reefs are sensational
Large second bathroom
Set up for one of our wonderful weddings
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
5 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Port Vila, Efate

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 51 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Russell18...
Geelong, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Family Holiday”
Reviewed September 2, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Recently spent ten days at Reef House with extended family. Eight adults and four children under five.The house was well laid out and comfortably accommodated all of us.The grounds were large so the children had plenty of room to run around .The house girls were fantastic and could not have been more helpful.There are plenty of creepy crawlies and also no lack of mice.The house is quite isolated and therefore expensive to get around unless you hire a car which we did not as there was to many of us.The day before we left,which was a Saturday,we woke to find we were out of gas to the kitchen.As the girls don't work weekends we tried ringing the owner and the assistant manager with no result.In the end I sent an email to the owner and he responded by telling us he was in transit to Hong Kong and the assistant was not available on Saturdays so no gas for cooking.Did not think this was good enough.Should be able to contact somebody if there is a problem. Had to light fire on beach to cook our meals.
This aside we did enjoy our holiday but be aware the house is quite isolated.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 9, 2014
Hi There,

thanks for the review and choosing to stay at The Reef House. It certainly has large lawns and the like to spread out as a family.

We point out we are far from isolated. We are only 12-15 mins from the CBD of Port Vila, most holiday homes in Vanuatu are 20 to 25 mins from the CBD. We find that is one of the very reasons we are so popular.

We apologise for the gas running out at the house, it should not have happened. The gas company was two weeks late with the run. We have taken steps to ensure it doesn't happen again. A Saturday in Port Vila is quiet and by the time you emailed and we instantly responded, the gas company had already closed.

Thanks again for staying with us.

Glen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteveMarg...
American River, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Relax in Style”
Reviewed July 9, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

We had a once in a lifetime holiday with our entire family which included our four adult sons, two daughter-in-laws, a long time girlfriend and two very young grandchildren (under two). We were looking for somewhere to chill, spoil ourselves, regenerate and as a base for further exploring. The Reef House was ideal. There was plenty of room for the toddlers to run around, more than enough space to spread and chill out and privacy from neighbours.The house girls were really helpful and unobtrusive. We felt particularly spoilt by our surroundings. Glen (the owner) was always great to deal with and very, very helpful.
A couple of things to be aware of:
-take the phone number of the house with you when you top up credit on Digicel - you apparently need it!
-the three bedrooms located together have very thin walls so when one of our toddlers was unsettled for a few nights all the couples located in that area were sleepless. (Don't think there would be much privacy for romance there!).
-our first night we left the doors to the kitchen area open as we weren't particularly worried about security and an animal (probably a dog) raided the pantry and we lost all our bread, chips, biscuits and noodles.
-you really do need a car to be able to pop into town to stock up on groceries etc. We thought we would be able to hail a bus or taxi from out the front but it is a lot more isolated than we realised. Having said that, if you have a local bus driver's number who is not going to charge you an arm and a leg to get around, that would do.
-Don't leave your dive gear or anything valuable on the lawn - a very expensive pair of dive boots found an owner who obviously needed them more than us.
We had a fantastic time. Loved the pool and the snorkelling out the front and spent many hours chilling in the hammocks.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Loved the view, the style of the house.
Liked least: Getting there and back was expensive.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 20, 2014
Hi Guys,

thanks for the wonderful review and very glad you had a great time at The Reef House. We try hard to ensure you have a great stay in a slightly different property.

Im sorry to hear of the issue with the food in the kitchen. I have asked the staff and found out that the neighbours pet up the road has taken to occasionally sneaking down and you are not the only guest it has happened too recently. We have had a kind word to the neighbour to ensure it stays in his property.

Hope you went home relaxed and refreshed which is our goal.

Thanks again and hope to see you back in the further.

Tropical regards

Glen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SarahGBri...
Bristol
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Absolute paradise!”
Reviewed July 4, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

We visited the Reef House as a group of 8 (four couples) and had the most incredible holiday there. The house is stunning. It is so open plan and open to the outdoors that you really feel in amongst your environment (being joined by the odd friendly crab in the shower or pool! But there are no harmful animals or creepy crawlies in Vanuatu so it's not scary!). The place is very well laid out, with some very comfy day beds in the living area which are perfect for lounging around on, and a lovely big communal space.

It was such a treat being able to snorkel on the reef at the end of the garden!

Just a couple of bits of feedback - the garden area wasn't very well lit so didn't really encourage us to eat outside, which is a shame with such a lovely setting, right on the sea. There could probably have done with being a few more sun beds or day beds outside (the one day bed outside was fought over each day :-)). The hammock was amazing though - perhaps another one of the those if there's anywhere that it could be hung up! The floor can be quite slippery so I'd probably be a bit nervous with children as we did have a couple of slips. Towards the end of the holiday, despite trying to keep food shut away as much as possible, there were an enormous amount of flies in the house (literally hundreds) which was really quite annoying. I'm not sure there is much that can be done about this, but perhaps some fly sticker things around the place (although i do concede that they're not particularly pretty!).

Bring mozzie spray as a few of us did get quite bitten. although the wonderful maids were very sweet and lit coils all around the place for us every day. Having the two maids was absolutely fantastic - it felt very indulgent to have them there every weekday morning, cleaning up after us and doing our washing and ironing etc!

We didn't get a car, which we were glad about because not only is it extortionate to rent a car on the island, but the roads are in such a state that I'd be very nervous about damaging the underside of a rental car. We used Seth, who has a minibus and was recommended to us by the Reef House owner. He was fantastic and took us out almost every day - to dinner, on a couple of trips around the island etc. He was lovely and helpful and always told us a little bit about wherever we were passing - it really added to the experience. You do need either a Seth or a car though as it's not walkable into town.

There is wifi, although it's quite slow so not really set up for any heavy usage - a good thing when on holiday in my opinion!

This was one of the best, if not the best, holiday of my life. We feel very lucky to have spent 8 days at The Reef House.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The setting - right on the sea with a reef at the end of the garden
Liked least: The flies (and hornets) - a LOT of them
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 20, 2014
thank you for the wonderful review.

We do indeed have 3 more hammocks coming as it seems the two existing ones are not quite enough as we do get larger groups.

It is unusual to hear about your issue with the flies and hornets but we put it down to the change in seasons. Being on the beach we find that it is not usually a problem with the ocean breezes. We spray the property every 3 months and it has just been done again now.

We hope to see you back again and thanks for leaving the 5 star review.

Glen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kareninsa...
Stratford
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolute gem!”
Reviewed June 9, 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Well what a stay! from the moment you open the front door you are confronted with a view that you will never tire of. Then as you walk into the house you begin to realise just how lucky you are. Fabulous design means that even traveling with three families you never feel crowded. The kitchen had everything we could have wanted and the revolving pantry concept is fabulous.
Make sure you walk out past the small rocky beach and experience the snorkeling. It is very safe and really is an underwater wonderland. We had kids as young as 7 out snorkeling and never once felt nervous. There is also a great rock pool around to the right of the beach.
Make sure you visit Aqauana if you have kids, it is just off the main road and is a fabulous mini resort with safe swimming, play ground and fabulous staff that take the kids for you! Not to mention the lobster freshly caught out the front for $40 AUS. The food is great.
Teouma on the bay is an absolute must do , 5 star dining at reasonable prices and a stunning location. Get a driver from the restaurant for $10 and you are set for the day. Again they have staff to mind the kids.
This is if you even want to leave the Reef House. We stocked up at the local market and supermarket and were quite happy staying in with a few drinks watching the sunset.
A word of warning if you 't like bugs though, you will come across everything from crabs in the bathroom to mice in the toilet not to mention the spiders and mozzies however this is a small pay off for the open plan tropical living. We can't wait to come back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view.
Liked least: The bugs.
Traveling group: Large Group
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KClark201...
Port Vila, Vanuatu
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely Stunning!”
Reviewed April 8, 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

My husband and I hired the Reef House for 10 days while we got married in Vanuatu, our family and friends stayed there leading up to the wedding and were blown away by how gorgeous this home is, we stayed there after our wedding with more family and had a beautiful time. The house had everything we could possibly need from snorkelling equipment to books and dvds for when we wanted some quiet time. The snorkelling was amazing, 2 turtles were spotted one evening when we went out which was a big treat to those who had come to Vanuatu for the first time. We all thoroughly enjoyed our stay there, the staff who came in every day were a dream. We couldn't be more happier with our time spent there

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The bed's were amazing!!
Liked least: Nothing, it was an an absolute dream
Traveling group: Large Group
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Reviewed January 7, 2014 for a stay in December 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
IndyCanbe...
Canberra
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful eclectic tropical home.”
Reviewed November 4, 2013 for a stay in October 2013
1
person found this review helpful

I have recently returned from 4 weeks in Vanuatu, 3 of which were spent enjoying this beautiful eclectic tropical home. At first glance the Reef House takes your breath away and you wonder how it can "work" in Vanuatu, but it takes one stunning sunset and evening enjoying the serenity and atmosphere of the house and you understand how amazing the house is. We travelled with our extended family which included a 4 month old ,an 18month old and a 3 year old. There was plenty of space for everyone and we were always able to see the children no matter where they were. Jake may still be picking up the coral stones that our grandson loved to play with! Many days were spent in and out of the pool, beach and hammocks with no desire to go anywhere.The solid timber "long table" was the scene of many delicious family meals cooked in the well appointed kitchen with local fresh produce. The staff, Jake and Edna were terrific and interacted with us all without being imposing. Edna loved a cuddle with our baby grandson and we had many long chats with Jake about "the world the universe and everything".
My only rider to this review is if you aren't good with insects and creepy crawlies then maybe the Reef House isn't for you. If you dont mind sharing with a few bugs then I would recommend the Reef House and we all look forward to staying again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Atmosphere, location, the pool and staff
Liked least: Treading on a crab in the dark!
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing