We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Potholes in Paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Vale Vale Beachfront Villas
Ranked #1 of 20 Port Vila B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Potholes in Paradise”
Reviewed May 30, 2013

First the really important stuff - the villas are impeccably clean due to the attention of the staff; the rooms and plunge pool are cleaned daily and the beach outside your room is raked every day. The bed is wonderfully comfortable, the towels are good quality and there is ample storage in the villas so you can unpack everything and make it your little home. The double shower is clean, hot and has good water pressure. The breakfasts are fantastic and most mornings included a home-cooked item of local cuisine as well as a range of tropical fruit, yoghurts and baguettes, croissants or pastries. I miss them already !
The fact that there are ony around 10 villas is also a bonus as you are really given personal attention compared to larger resorts. The manager, Joy, would even ring us if she was going into town to see if we would like a lift. Transfers and transactions were managed efficiently. Being given the use of a mobile phone for the duration of the stay was also a useful extra.
Minor shortcoming were the fact that there is no microwave or banana lounges. For some reason also the kettle is not electric and takes a long time to boil on the gas stove. The lights in the villa also worked/didn't work/flashed on and off erratically. This didn't cause any major problems but made us think that the wiring was probably more to Vanuatu standards than western standards.
The only major problem was the location, which was both a blessing and a curse. It is very peaceful and scenic being so far out of Port Vila and taking the local buses to town just adds to the adventure. However, when it rains (and remember this is the tropics, so it rains heavily and often) the many huge potholes in the road become large ponds and are impassable on foot. Even in the days after the rain it takes a while for them to dry out. Some of the buses will still come through when the road is in this condition during the day but be careful not to get caught out at night as you may well get stuck getting back. This road is the only way in and out from Vale Vale (the beach in front of the villas only extends a few hundred metres and is inaccessible at high tide anyway). This means you can be a bit "trapped" which both limits your tourist activities and even means you can't go for a simple jog or walk. For me this left me feeling a bit stir crazy for a couple of days. Unless you are travelling in the middle of the dry season (June/July) I would recommend you hire a 4WD or SUV if you are going to stay here.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ruthie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan F, Public Relations Manager at Vale Vale Beachfront Villas, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Thank you for your great review and we are so pleased you enjoyed your holiday at our beautiful villas. We really appreciate your feedback and wanted to let you know that the roads have just been fixed and hopefully we won't get too much rain in the next few months to keep them in good condition! Also, we have ordered sun lounges and they are on their way at the moment. You are right about the kettle - we originally chose them for their look but they are not practical and we will be replacing them with electric kettles.

We hope to see you back with us some time in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    16
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
27
71
7
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Late in November my partner and I realised we had an opportunity to take a holiday over the new year break. We hit the web and as if by some magic we found flights to Vanuatu but then faced a daunting prospect of finding accommodation. We turned to Tripadvisor and emailled several options but availability seemed to be a problem with the dates of flights and rooms not in sync. Suddenly a mail came back from Vale Vale advising they had one spare Villa. We were faced with a dilemma as to whether to trust the few but glowing reviews.
Obviously we opted to take the booking and in short , this is the most fantastic beach accommodation anyone could ever wish for.
Joy and her team were outstanding, the villa was superb, the location fantastic and the experience overall brilliant.
This is NOT a holiday if you don't want peace, quiet, comfort and relaxation or a visit to the turtles and starfish just off the beach.
Don't hesitate - you won't regret it!

Room Tip: The perfect relaxation venue
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pricer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

What a wonderful place to rest.
All though we arrived at the property very easily in the morning ( our transport was forgotten but easily fixed with a smile) we were greated by the manager, Joy with a cool drink, towels and a lovely Vanuatu welcome.
This really is a beautiful property to stay and just (for us) rest, watch the water, snorkel and toast the sunsets.
The villas are very comfortable, the best bed I have ever slept in, has all mod cons and a magnificent position.
The trip to and from the supermarket was very easy by bus. Other than that we relaxed at the villa.
Next time we will explore the Island a little more.
Thanks to all the staff who made our Christmas stay most memorable.
We will retun one day soon.

Room Tip: All villas are positioned perfectly to enjoy the water views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rory M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 11, 2013

My partner and I stayed there last week and had an amazing time. Joy, the manager of the villas was very accommodating and made our stay really worthwhile. Nothing was ever too difficult for her to attend to in any way. The villa was full of ambience and location was fabulous. I would highly recommend their accommodation any time of the year. Thanks vale vale :)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ryanwhitcher R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brisbane
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2013

my husband and I stayed here in July for my birthday, sorry for the late report. ( a nice quick holiday without the kids) we absolutely loved it. It was so relaxing the villas were just gorgeous very nice decor and very modern and comfortable beds. If you want a room on the beach, this is on the beach, take a step of your back deck into the sand and about 5 or 6 steps to the sea. Located on a quite bay no other hotels around, down a bumpy road, but it doesn’t matter its so remote aits relaxing – you just don’t want to leave. We hired a car for 2 days and drove around the island and had lunch at Havannah resort it was lovely, but i can Vale vale villas and location are so much better right on the beach, havannah villas are situated back from the beach or hillside. Massages were also good at Vale Vale. Dorothy and Joy were lovely managers, which helped us with any requests or questions we had, very helpful. The best Food we found was at Havannah resort and Brewery in town ( across the road from the casino) my husband loved there Beef ribs – best he has ever had anywhere and i loved there bbq chicken pizza

Room Tip: if you want a relaxing holiday - this is it !!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank uniquetravelbrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
142 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2013

We have just got back from spending eight days at Vale Vale. We arrived at 1am in the morning so we overwhelmed by the view when we woke that morning. The sea is right at your door step!
It was like something from a postcard.
We were able to relax even with two kids in tow as they went from pool to ocean to pool to ocean.......
The villa was beautiful and well laid out. We cooked a few times but also took advantage of the local restaurants as well.
We went snorkelling and kayaking straight out in front of our villa and saw lots of fish and a turtle!
The road is very bumpy coming in - but we were laughing more about it than found it a hinderance. We did hire a car and found this gave us easy access to the rest of the island.
All the staff at ValeVale went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable. Joy was so helpful and made bookings for us (she also makes a good banana cake as well!). Stanley was also on hand to give advice and provide local knowledge.

We loved our time at Vale Vale. Thank you to Joy and her staff.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mpeg36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunshine coast
Level Contributor
43 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Spent 10 days at Vale Vale over Xmas and didn't want to leave....the villas are just perfect, especially the bed! We have never slept- in , so late in the mornings, just goes to show how comfy these beds are.
Sitting on the timber deck each morning watching the crystal clear waters lap the shore, waiting for breakfast to be delivered is just so relaxing. The breakfast was yummy and varied each day, and the girls are so pleasant and always smiling that you just have to start the day with a smile on your face! And for pure relaxation, have a masssage, i came out soo sleepy, just magical.!
The location is great, even though the road is bumpy it adds to the excitement of the trip to get to town or a short walk to the other resorts for dinner. You can do as much as you want or as little depending on how you feel for the day, we mostly rested by the wonderful plunge pool or swam or snorkelled in the warm clear waters, or took a walk around to the other beaches, meeting wonderful people from the local village along the way.
Joy was most welcoming, nothing was too much trouble for her or the staff. A BIG THANK YOU to everyone at Vale Vale for making our stay just perfect..... right from the time we made contact by email with Sue to Joy and the Villas,.....we will never stay at a large resort again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maySunshineCoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Vila hotels
1.8 mi away
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
#12 of 47 in Port Vila
1,450 reviews
13.9 mi away
The Havannah, Vanuatu
The Havannah, Vanuatu
#3 of 47 in Port Vila
539 reviews
3.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
#15 of 47 in Port Vila
653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Iririki Island Resort & Spa
0.9 mi away
Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu
0.6 mi away
Paradise Cove Resort
Paradise Cove Resort
#1 of 47 in Port Vila
541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vale Vale Beachfront Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vale Vale Beachfront Villas

Property: Vale Vale Beachfront Villas
Address: Vale Vale Beach, Pango St, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu
Location: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Port Vila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Vale Vale Beachfront Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed by Award winning architect Pierre de Toit, Vale Vale Beachfront Villas are designed to combine outdoor and living; each villa is a secluded haven that opens itself to large exterior living space, only five steps onto the sand beach and lapping water, amidst the canopy of sheltering trees.Perfect for a private and intimate getaway, Vale Vale Beachfront Villas encourage you to escape the outside world entirely: ◦Private plunge pool and landscaped courtyard ◦King size bed with quality linens & air conditioning ◦Fully equipped kitchen with fridge, freezer, oven, four burner stove ◦Flat screen TV, DVD player and i-pod dock ◦Daily maid service ◦Generous parking & private storage. And for those you need to stay connected, our accommodation also features: ◦Australian satellite television ◦ADSL wireless broadband Internet ◦Cell phone coverage & local or roaming service with GSM operations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Vale Vale Beachfront Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vale Vale Beachfront Villas Vanuatu/Port Vila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing