We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and quiet - outstanding food”
Review of Vila Chaumieres

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Vila Chaumieres
Ranked #30 of 47 Hotels in Port Vila
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Clean and quiet - outstanding food”
Reviewed August 19, 2010

We stayed in room 3 at Vila Chaumieres on 8th and 9th August 2010 on a stop over to Santo. We transferred to Vila Chaumieres from the airport using the pre-booked Melanesian Travel transfer service at the airport which cost 2,200 vatu (AUD30) each way for 2 people.

The cost for our two nights accommodation was 27,000 vatu (AUD340). The staff were very friendly and helpful. Our room was spacious and contained the basic essentials such as mosquito net, kettle, hairdryer, sofa, iron, ironing board, umbrella, small bar fridge and wall mounted air conditioner. The bed was large but too hard for me. It was quiet at night however apart from the roosters at 5am and the occasional barking dog which is unavoidable when you holiday in islands such as Vanuatu.

Vila Chaumieres is a relatively easy 40 minute walk into Port Vila. If you’re not up for the walk it takes 10 minutes on the very frequent public mini buses that pass by the front. Bus is a flat rate of 150 vatu (AUD1.90) per person each way.

The food at Vila Chaumieres is the highlight. Mains cost around AUD50 so it is not cheap however it is fantastic quality and therefore value in my opinion. The beef wellington, coconut prawns and the vanilla ice cream with warm banana, Grand Marnier and almonds were the stand out dishes for us. There is a limited range of wines and beers however the Jacobs Creek rose was nice as is the local beer (Tusker). VB and Steinlager were also available at around AUD9. By island standards the service in the restaurant is very quick.

If you are after somewhere reasonably priced for lunch with a good choice consider The Port opposite the Grand Hotel & Casino in Vila itself. The Thai fish burger was delicious and the pizzas are also good value too.

Whilst we were there we hired a 2-seater beach buggy from All Road Adventures for 8,500 vatu (AUD100) which included a 3 ½ hour guided tour around the island, a BBQ lunch and snorkelling. The company is operated by an Australian couple and we both had a great time despite the torrential rain at times. If it’s raining be prepared to get very wet and dirty. Helmets are provided and are mandatory.

I urge travellers intending to holiday on islands such as Vanuatu to remember that top end accommodation here is not the same as top end accommodation in Australia, NZ, USA or Europe. Don’t expect too much and remember that time isn’t always important to the locals!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TetleyJeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    50
    13
    1
    3
See reviews for
13
124
11
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2010

Vila Chaumieres in our opinion is a handy spot to stay for 1 night, it has a great little intimate restaurant, and the beef wellington dish there was excellent. For longer stays it wasn't well equiiped enough, the lagoon was not exactly enticing to swin in, there is no pool, 2 uncomfortable plastic curved moulded beach beds that sit on the gravel like strip of sand near the waters edge.
The bathroom ammenities were below standard for a place pitching itself as a boutique accommodation. It had a lovely shady garden and low key intimate feel, but we didn't find this being backed up with great service and quality accommodation befitting of a boutique establishment. No wifi available. Would reccomend for an atmospheric dinner, but would not stay there again. The manager was kind enough to let us cut our stay short by a few dyas which we were grateful for.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pinktori71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2010

We stayed at Chaumieres and had an amazing time.
Tracey was so helpful and even gave us a lift when we needed it! She is so down to earth and helpful-it makes a big difference compared to faceless hotel chains...

The food was second to none. I have travelled many places around Australia, UK & Europe and this restaurant produces food at a world class level. We ate there the first night and ended up dining there 3/4 nights in Port Vila! The Chef is amazing!!

The staff were also very friendly in arranging tours for us as well. They made phone calls and organised tours for us with no trouble at all.

Also, the location is quite close to the main part of town and the sunset over the lagoon is just beautiful. As darkness set and the buzz of the night came alive it was something to treasure forever!

Thank you so much for a great stay, we will come back next time we visit Vanuatu!!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Will5024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2010

I travelled with my husband, parents and siblings and stayed 5 nights at the gorgeous Vila Chaumieres. We booked out the entire place (3 vilas and 2 hotel rooms), which was fantastic for us as there was a 20 month year old boy in our group. Tracey (owner) organised 2 taxi's to meet us at the airport after very short notice from us, greeted us and ensured we felt welcome.

Throughout our stay they kindly met our dietary needs (gluten free, dairy free, mushroom free) with both morning breakfasts and the evening meals.

This place is highly recommended if you're not after a ritsy venue, but a clean and hospitable service. The waitresses are gorgeous local women and other workers at Vila Chaumieres are always willing to assist in any way.

Paddle boats and kayaks are available for use. This is a lovely way to cruise the river.

You must visit the restaurant!

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ClaireyB83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Level Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2010

We stayed at Vila Chaumieres for 1 night initially and liked the place so much that we decided to stay another 2 nights. Directly located on the lagoon, the place is absolutely lovely; the restaurant is by the water and at night, it is very romantic by the natural aquarium in the lagoon. This accomodation is a little treasure among the not so lovely Port Vila. The bedrooms are very spacious and quite. There are also canoes to use (free of charge) on the lagoon.
Tracy is a delightful host ; she is extremely helpful and goes beyond any limits to help you. We ended up stuck on Epi island for one night and Tracy offered to go to the airport for us and try to sort out our international flights the next night. It was like having a mother taking care of us away from home !
Highly recommended !

Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank julyp78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
1 review
Reviewed June 7, 2010

We stayed at Vila Chaumieres over the December break and had a wonderful time. The Coconut Crab we had at the restaurant was the highlight of all of the food we had in Vanuatu.
We flew in really late on the 26th of December, but were still warmly greeted by Tracy our hostess. She was great in terms of providing us advice on what to do and how to get there ... we also tried a bit of kayaking on the lagoon ... in was fun and Tracy made sure we were safe as possible by sending the gardener out to watch out for us when we were in the water as it was my first tiem kayaking.
All in all we loved staying here and would defn recommend it to our friends:)!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GopikaNieroshan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2010

"We welcome youuuu to Vana-aaaa-tuuuuuu!" I was singing this throughout my two week glorious stay at Vila Chaumieres. It doesn't have all the mod-cons, but it made up for good ol' fashion customer service and relaxation stays.

The food was brilliant, my vila was outstanding (I miss #3 *sad face*), but most of all Tracy (the manager), Blandine and Samson (the chefs), Leslie, Naomi, Mikale, Giovanni, Jolita, Mina, Gille, Jack and two wonderful friends Katerina (Tongonga) and Elise were what made my stay from ordinary to simply brilliant. I miss you all - SEVERELY!!!

I went on four tours all of which were recommended by Tracy. Memo to you all out there: never question the wisdom of this woman. She is an amazing resource and allowed a single travelling woman like me feel safe and secure during all the tours and outside personal excursions. If ever there was someone you wanted cloned across the hospitality industry; it's definitely Tracy!

The food was DELICIOUS! Highly recommend the Beef Bouchette! (In fact that's all I ate when I ate at the restaurant *tee hee* - Mikale tried to get me to try other things, I did eventually, I just swapped desserts *happy face*!). I enjoyed going to the markets and other eateries around Port Vila itself especially Chilli above the markets.

I have lots more to say, but it defeats the purpose of people finding out about these places - the hidden gems of the South Pacific. And believe me, please come stay here! You will NOT regret it!!!

P.S. Please get to know the staff. They are all sorts of wonderful in their own right. It made my stay in Vanuatu easier and more enjoyable finding out about their customs, stories and values of such a diverse, peaceful and joyous (voted Happiest Country in the World 2006) nation.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ezrina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Vila hotels
0.1 mi away
Tropicana Lagoon Apartments Resort
7.2 mi away
Benjor Beach Club
Benjor Beach Club
#26 of 47 in Port Vila
352 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Terraces Boutique Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
CoCo Beach Resort
CoCo Beach Resort
#20 of 47 in Port Vila
193 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sunset Bungalows Resort
Sunset Bungalows Resort
#9 of 47 in Port Vila
572 reviews
2.0 mi away
Fatumaru Lodge
Fatumaru Lodge
#8 of 47 in Port Vila
397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vila Chaumieres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vila Chaumieres

Property: Vila Chaumieres
Address: 2nd Lagoon, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu
Location: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Port Vila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Vila Chaumieres 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vila Chaumieres is a child-free Resort set in a lovely tropical garden on the banks of Erakor Lagoon. Renowned for its excellent restaurant, and situated just 4 km from the centre of Port Vila, it offers a peaceful retreat to the discerning traveller seeking an alternative to the large tourist resort, but still within easy reach of all facilities and holiday amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Vila Chaumieres reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vila Chaumieres Hotel Port Vila
Vila Chaumieres Port
Vila Chaumieres Vanuatu/Port Vila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing