We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect escape”
Review of Vila Chaumieres

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Vila Chaumieres
Ranked #30 of 47 Hotels in Port Vila
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
“Perfect escape”
Reviewed January 1, 2014

My wife and I went to Vanuatu for our honeymoon last month from the 7th -18th December and we could not have been happier. Vila Chaumieres is just far enough away from town that it is quiet and feels like you're own private area, but close enough that it still only costs 150 vatu by bus to get to town. We stayed for 11 nights in garden Bungalow #3 and thought it was perfect!

Ursula and Richard were very accommodating and were very pleasant to talk to and regularly recommended places for us to go that were just perfect. The resort itself was just beautiful with plants everywhere and the walk from the road down to the rooms just amazing. The room was spacious and just perfect for what we needed, and had air conditioning which was great because it was just so hot!

The staff at Vila Chaumieres were friendly and accommodating as there was always someone around when we needed them and the in room service was great too. We were so shocked by the complimentary breakfast because there was just so much food. There was a large fruit platter between the two of us as well as croissants and bread with butter and jam as well as juice, tea, and coffee.

The restaurant was set on the lagoon and is the perfect way to wake up and spend breakfast overlooking the water and ridiculous number of starfish that just look amazing.

The pool was terrific and we went spent so much time out there either in the pool and lazing around in the hammock. It felt as if it was our own private pool!

There was also kayaks available for use as well as reef shoes and snorkelling equipment supplied for us which we took full advantage of.

The perfect escape for our honeymoon but would recommend it to anyone!
We drove past the resorts closer to town and can honestly say that we were so happy to be that bit further out of town, it was just that much nicer.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glenn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    50
    13
    1
    3
See reviews for
13
124
11
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2013

My daughter & I stayed at Vila Chaumieres for ten days and would recommend it highly for those seeking a small boutique hotel. The owners, Ursula & Richard were great hosts and have the local knowledge and contacts to recommend the best tours and give other handy local hints. We enjoyed the tours they recommended which included the Melanesian Tours Efate eco tour and the Melanesian feast (with spectacular fire dancing) on Erakor Island.

The thatched rood restaurant was overlooking the lagoon - the pictures don't lie! The food was very good - it is an upmarket restaurant and we were budget travellers so only ate there for a main meal on Christmas Eve, which was excellent - seafood entrée, coconut crab ( a bit fiddly) and lobster (delicious) and tasty desserts. We mostly had the complementary breakfast of a fresh fruit platter, coffee and toast & croissants or pastries which was more than adequate to start the day.

The cabins are very comfortable and the main double bed had a very comfortable mattress, the sofa bed for my daughter less so, although she shared my bed on occasion.

The tropical gardens are beautiful and to sit at night over a cocktail watching the sunset over the lagoon is memorable. My daughter enjoyed kayaking on the lagoon & I enjoyed watching her while sipping a cocktail & reading a book.

Nothing was too much trouble for Ursula and Richard and the staff. You only had to ask. We hated leaving and are looking forward to our next trip.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
68 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2013 via mobile

My friend and I stayed for 8 nights at the end of October this year and, while it wasn't what we were expecting (mind you, Vanuatu itself was not what we were expecting), we had a fabulous time and the hosts, Richard and Ursula were lovely. The restaurant was great, a little expensive and just about Australian prices, but this was pretty much the norm for most other restaurants as well. We had the lobster, chicken curry, vegetarian curry, Tahitian fish salad and, my absolute fave, the beef Wellington. It was amazing. The desserts are also fabulous - can't say enough good things about the coconut ice cream. The restaurant itself is over the water at the lagoon's edge so is outdoors, ie DEET up before you arrive of an evening. There weren't too many mozzies about although that could just just been as we were bathing in insect spray.
I just read another review complaining about not getting fresh fruit for breakfast. Maybe something happened on that day as for our entire stay we had a great selection of really fresh fruit, bananas, grapefruit (Vanuatu has the best tasting pamplemousse - French for grapefruit - I've ever tasted) coconut, papaya, and raspberries, etc served up each morning with a basket of with either toasted bread, baguettes and croissants with a yummy jam served wIth good coffee and an orange juice (this tasted like a concentrate).
The room - a garden one near the pool - has everything you'd need, including a small fridge (with a welcome drink in there on arrival) coffee and tea making facilities, separate bathroom and air conditioner (half of a gecko spat out of ours the first time we turned it on but hey, it's the tropics and it worked afterwards. The second bed (a sofa bed) was not very comfortable but Ursula arranged for a regular mattress and that was much better.
It's really easy to get to port Vila which is about 3km away via the fantastic bus system (stand on the street and wait for a mini van/people mover with a "B" on the licence plate to go buy, signal them, ask to go the the centre and agree a price - approx 300 vatu each. You get to see a bit of the area, it's really cheap and quick and you don't have to worry about driving on the wrong side of the road).
All up, it was a great spot with only 6 rooms, so you're not surrounded by people but there's enough to not feel isolated. And free wifi only in the public areas.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank brolidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mitchells Island, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2013

We had two nights at the end of our holiday from Espiritu Santo. We stayed in the rooms above the kitchen & reception and it was extremely noisy to attempt to sleep in. we heard every pot bang and person pass underneath. The shower pressure was intermittent and temperature would range from warm to absolute cold. When we informed Richard he may wish to look into this he replied "I like cold showers" (Good to know but not helpful). The rooms themselves were very basic and could do with modernisation, however were clean.Our room looked over the gardens leading out to the pretty restaurant area, with views over the lagoon.
The restaurant was very nice for dinner - food was great and prompt service. They even had vegetarian options. However for breakfast (included in stay) this was poor service (waiting waiting) by a waitress who clearly had no interest in being there. The breakfast was toast or chocolate bread roll with fruit (not fresh) with a luke warm coffee or tea. Dinner to breakfast was poles apart. I did not have lunch.
Richard and Ursula were pleasant, but I just felt they were not really "into their guests". I complimented Richard on the dinner on our first evening, who really didn't notice and hardly acknowledged a guest compliment. A little off putting. Twice I went to Ursula for something who twice passed this off to Richard to deal with later.
There is no beach to swim at - the site photos show the neighbours access. There is a decking out to the lagoon that you can take out Kayaks. However this water isn't especially inviting to swim in - currents noted.
It would best be suited to short, budget stay - close to Port Villa. Not really a relaxing resort.

Room Tip: For good sleep quality - don't choose the over kitchen/ reception rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Niki S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed November 19, 2013

What a great place to recharge your batteries. Richard and Ursula were very helpful with which tours to go on and we weren't disappointed. The beef and cocont crab in the restaurant were delicious. Feeding the fish while waiting for dinner is fun as well. Our Lagoon View room was great and we could sit on our verandah and drink coffee, relax and enjoy the view. The gardens are gorgeous and the staff are very friendly. I would recommend staying here. It's only a few kms from Port Vila and riding the B bus is a great experience and only costs 150 vatu

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nzsharron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
494 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2013

What a wonderful place for a gel-out holiday. After 9 weeks touring around Europe (He) decided to take me to Vanuatu for my birthday and we chose Vila Chaumieres as the one. The resort consists of bungalows set in beautiful gardens. The owners Ursula and Richard were really nice and very hospitable, nothing was too much trouble for them. The staff were equally attentive - Elece in the front and also Alick who was the restaurant host. Food was exceptional as was the wine list. We were fairly late getting down to breakfast every morning but no worries - the tropical breakfast with fruit and croissants/toast were great and included in the price. We hope of course to return, but in the meantime will recommend to friends and relatives. The coconut crab is the signature of Samson the chef - fantastic - huge - a definite share.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank slwityk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2013

We booked for a meal- what a beautiful place- nice romantic, we had table 4, best table for overlooking the water. The meal was amazing- I have never had such a choice as a vegetarian and the presentation- vegetable coconut curry in the coconut! My husband enjoyed his steak too, presentation and taste of the food the best we had on our trip- even the little touches, warm bread and butter, cold water. The only comment would be th e clash of noise from the romantic music to the noise filtering down from the next resort of what sounded like a local dancing night. It is a bit of of a way out of the centre of town so my tip would be to catch one of the local buses down negotiate your fare first we paid 500 vats for two and then we negotiated for him to come back and pick us up at a set time too at the same rate as there is not a lot of traffic around the area.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank den003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Vila hotels
0.1 mi away
Tropicana Lagoon Apartments Resort
7.2 mi away
Benjor Beach Club
Benjor Beach Club
#26 of 47 in Port Vila
352 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Terraces Boutique Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
CoCo Beach Resort
CoCo Beach Resort
#20 of 47 in Port Vila
193 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sunset Bungalows Resort
Sunset Bungalows Resort
#9 of 47 in Port Vila
572 reviews
2.0 mi away
Fatumaru Lodge
Fatumaru Lodge
#8 of 47 in Port Vila
397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vila Chaumieres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vila Chaumieres

Property: Vila Chaumieres
Address: 2nd Lagoon, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu
Location: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Port Vila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Vila Chaumieres 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vila Chaumieres is a child-free Resort set in a lovely tropical garden on the banks of Erakor Lagoon. Renowned for its excellent restaurant, and situated just 4 km from the centre of Port Vila, it offers a peaceful retreat to the discerning traveller seeking an alternative to the large tourist resort, but still within easy reach of all facilities and holiday amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Vila Chaumieres reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vila Chaumieres Hotel Port Vila
Vila Chaumieres Port
Vila Chaumieres Vanuatu/Port Vila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing